LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

WM6.1 ActiveSync with 2 PCs error code 86000107

OP 4yunweb

12th December 2008, 02:06 AM   |  #131  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
I've just discovered a far more serious effect of this error.

Although the PCs can be "persuaded" to sync by the various methods above, the results will be "random". I just arrived a day late for an important meeting - the date had been pulled ahead, with my agreement, and my WM6.1 device had had the right date. I synched that to the main PC which then also had the right date. Then I synched to the laptop.

The laptop had the old date, but updated the WM6.1 to the OLD date. That in turn updated the desktop to the OLD date. DISASTER!

The short answer is that you CANNOT reliably synch a WM6.1 device to two different computers. It's fine with earlier versions (I've been doing it for years).

I'm pretty sure the error is in the Microsoft code somewhere, but until it's sorted, I have a major problem (or can't use the laptop, whichever).
Last edited by Keithj; 12th December 2008 at 02:14 AM.
12th December 2008, 02:13 AM   |  #132  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by HBEAR

An active sync troubleshooting guide for anyone who wants to jump start their thoughts.

http://www.pocketpcfaq.com/faqs/acti...shoot-as4x.htm

I have found the site useful in many ways, if it helps, great. If it doesn't solve your problems it's still an interesting read.

It's about three years out of date, though, and doesn't refer to the errors in here. Pity.

I've got a serious problem now, because I have a PDA, a desktop, and a laptop that are all synchronised but may or may not have a load of incorrect diary entries (see post above).

I'm going to have to check every pesky one, externally, to find out if they are correct. I can't remember which may or may not have changed over the past months. I didn't expect to have to remember and keep notes of all this stuff - what's the point of a PDA?

I may have wrong flight bookings and all sorts. Wonderful: thank you very much, Mr Microsoft.
19th December 2008, 09:00 PM   |  #133  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
This is a WM6.1 bug, and it looks like MS has fixed it but you have to get a patch from the manufacturer:

http://social.microsoft.com/forums/e...-5c8c812ec4d8/

Quote:

"This is a known issue and was fixed in AKU 1.2. The customer would need to contact the OEM to see if they are providing the fix. Action: Customer upgrades to Windows Mobile 6.1 Customer normally sync's with two PC's and when trying to sync with the second PC sync fails. Results: Error code 86000107 Sync fails Cause: The issue is talking about deleting more than 100 contacts. However, its not specific to the delete operation. As long as there are more than 100 changes in one data type to be synced to the desktop, you can hit this issue. Resolution: The fix is available to the OEM's (device manufactures) and the customer will need to contact them to see if they have an update available."

In my case it's due to calandar having more than 100 items (due to repeating appointments).
15th January 2009, 07:48 PM   |  #134  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
I wrote to HTC about this problem and this was the reply I got:

Quote:

Dear Sir, A new ROM upgrade for the Touch Diamond that includes an Upgraded AKU version is due for release very soon. Unfortunatley we do not have any Official time scales although we expect this to be before the end of January for the European Region. After checking your device Serial number I can see that your device originates from Asia, this may have been imported by your retailer. Because of this, you will only be able to apply ROM upgrades that are available on the Asia Section of the HTC Support site, we are also unable to confirm if the ROM updates for Asia will be released at the same time as the Europe Region. Please visit www.htc.com, click on Select County from the top right corner and then select HongKong - English All Rom updates will be available from the support section Best regards, Europe customer support team HTC Corp. Global Service Division

18th January 2009, 12:42 AM   |  #135  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
call your provider
Sorry, I posted here, and then realized that where I really wanted my post was in the "General" General section. To see the post, go to this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=405438
Thanks
Last edited by Bogy54; 18th January 2009 at 03:22 AM. Reason: to post where more people would see a common concern
31st January 2009, 01:29 PM   |  #136  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by towinguk

Hi all

I too have had the same problem with all my wm6.1 devises for the last few months but the following works every time, and after every rom change and I do a few


1 make on clean and up to date set of data on one pc (lets say pc1 in your office )

2 delete all partnerships in all active syncs installs

3 delete all date from you phone / ppc

4 set up new sync with pc1 and allow sync to occur

5 delete all date from pc2 ( so on pc2 no contact no calendar no tasks no anything )

6 create new partnership with pc2 allow to sync and all should work from now on well it dose for me every time



Let me know


Hi towinguk,

your procedure indeed worked fine also for me!
Thanks a lot!
I had only to rework manually some birthdays (yearly dates) - I deleted them manually and typed them back - OK!
1st February 2009, 06:23 AM   |  #137  
bravesparrow's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
One of many sites covering this problem
Found the following at http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/e...fa5201/#page:5

Looks like the best workaround after heaps of research over the past few hours:

...................................
Sergey Shevchenko - Posted on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 9:35:56 PM



Maaaan! I was suffering too much, and i've found god damn solution finally!



So: I have 2 PCs: XP (Primary), Vista (Secondary)

The problem appeared when i upgraded my QTEK9100 from WM5 to WM6.1.

I had to recheck my contacts and my calendar EVERYTIME when i moved from one PC to other!!! It made me stop syncing my Vista PC!



Now i solved it this way:



1) I prepared my Primary PC's PIM, verified that all actual and necessary contacts and calendar events on my Primary PC (XP). For further correct work i had to remove all duplicate recuring events - especially contact BirthDay's events, that were created automatically.



2) I synced my PPC on primary PC (XP).



3) I unchecked my contacts and calendar on secondary PC(Vista), and verified that there is no sync errors.



4) I DELETED all contacts and calendar events in outlook on Secondary PC(Vista) - nothing to loose, because all necessary information is on Primary PC(XP).



5) I checked contacts and calendar to sync on SecondaryPC (Vista). While syncing WMC copied all contacts and calendar events from PPC to SecondaryPC's PIM. There appeared few error messages on syncing calendar Birthday Events with link to these events. I was iteratively DELETING birthday events on PPC and on SecondaryPC's PIM that caused errors, until it was successfully synced on Secondary PC(Vista)



NOW IT FINALLY WORKS OK EVERYWHERE! Now I don't need to recheck calendar and contacts in WMC or ActiveSync, everytime i move my PPC from one sync-PC to another!



If you want to thank me - just make me rich! :)))

.................................................. ...........................


I will post my progress on this as i go.


David.

HTC TYTNII WM6.1 WWE Shipped. CE OS 5.2.19212 (Build 19212.1.0.3)
1st February 2009, 08:04 PM   |  #138  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ach2

I just did a quick search for error 86000107 and a few people solve the problem by doing this:

Uncheck all items in activsync then connect / sync.
Check and re-sync the items 1 at a time.

The problem appears to recur when tasks are selected for syncing. I haven't had this problem myself but have had something similar with syncing notes which I've resolved in a similar manner.

Hope this helps.

Cheers solved mine, was bugging the life out of me. It started after I loaded MortRing which kept crashing under WM 6.1
24th February 2009, 06:15 AM   |  #139  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2005
I finally fixed mine. All I did was delete all the contacts from my 2nd computer. I had over 2400 contacts. Then I just did a sync and it has been working. I did not delete any partnerships. Just a simple approach.
15th March 2009, 06:56 AM   |  #140  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
That works thank you.
i'm from china using BJ2.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravesparrow

Found the following at http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/e...fa5201/#page:5

Looks like the best workaround after heaps of research over the past few hours:

...................................
Sergey Shevchenko - Posted on Wednesday, 15 October 2008 9:35:56 PM



Maaaan! I was suffering too much, and i've found god damn solution finally!



So: I have 2 PCs: XP (Primary), Vista (Secondary)

The problem appeared when i upgraded my QTEK9100 from WM5 to WM6.1.

I had to recheck my contacts and my calendar EVERYTIME when i moved from one PC to other!!! It made me stop syncing my Vista PC!



Now i solved it this way:



1) I prepared my Primary PC's PIM, verified that all actual and necessary contacts and calendar events on my Primary PC (XP). For further correct work i had to remove all duplicate recuring events - especially contact BirthDay's events, that were created automatically.



2) I synced my PPC on primary PC (XP).



3) I unchecked my contacts and calendar on secondary PC(Vista), and verified that there is no sync errors.



4) I DELETED all contacts and calendar events in outlook on Secondary PC(Vista) - nothing to loose, because all necessary information is on Primary PC(XP).



5) I checked contacts and calendar to sync on SecondaryPC (Vista). While syncing WMC copied all contacts and calendar events from PPC to SecondaryPC's PIM. There appeared few error messages on syncing calendar Birthday Events with link to these events. I was iteratively DELETING birthday events on PPC and on SecondaryPC's PIM that caused errors, until it was successfully synced on Secondary PC(Vista)



NOW IT FINALLY WORKS OK EVERYWHERE! Now I don't need to recheck calendar and contacts in WMC or ActiveSync, everytime i move my PPC from one sync-PC to another!



If you want to thank me - just make me rich! :)))

.................................................. ...........................


I will post my progress on this as i go.


David.

HTC TYTNII WM6.1 WWE Shipped. CE OS 5.2.19212 (Build 19212.1.0.3)


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes