Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[TOOLKIT][GUI][MULTI-PLATFORM] Ultimate Backup Tool v2.0 - Full backup without root

OP Gigadroid

28th August 2012, 05:36 PM   |  #41  
underface's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
in my motorola razr (ver from europe) doesn't work restore - i made backup (options 1) but when I choose restore and type password twice that shows popup with information "restore succesful" but application and data dont restore ;/
where i made mistake?
28th August 2012, 05:59 PM   |  #42  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TedTheBellhop

that's what I told, you can't see any output. just copy the batch-source (hxxp://pastebin.com/pCHm38Ry - link from first post) into a new bat file (e.g. UBT.bat) and put a pause before the cls.

That's just a cheap workaround but you can see the messages - use this: hxxp://pastebin.com/Xrwy7Ct3

BTW: it's ridiculous that I am not allowed to post a link to pastebin because I don't have 10 posts... does xda want me to spam 9 posts now?

Source here:

Code:
@echo off
REM All kudos goes to Gigadroid - I just put a pause before cls ;)
title Ultimate Backup Tool
goto menu
:menu
pause
cls
echo				    Ultimate Backup tool
echo				        by Gigadroid
echo				     xda-developers.com
echo.
echo Notices:
echo Make sure that USB Debugging is enabled!
echo This will not back up SMS messages!
echo Set a desktop backup password under Developer Options. It seems it would fail otherwise!
echo The backup will be saved in C:\backup\backup.ab
echo.
echo What would you like to do?
echo.
echo 1. Backup all without system apps
echo 2. Backup all with system apps (unsafe)
echo 3. Backup app and device data (not the APKs themselves)
echo 4. Backup apps
echo 5. Backup device shared storage / SD card contents
echo 6. Restore
echo 7. Quit
echo.
:choice
set /P C=Choose a option:
if "%C%"=="7" goto quit
if "%C%"=="6" goto restore
if "%C%"=="5" goto sd
if "%C%"=="4" goto apps
if "%C%"=="3" goto appsdevice
if "%C%"=="2" goto system
if "%C%"=="1" goto all
goto choice
:all
echo Look at your phone.
echo Wait until you see a message saying 'Backup complete' or your phone returns to the home screen.
adb backup -apk -shared -all -nosystem -f C:\backup\backup.ab
goto menu
:system
echo Look at your phone.
echo Wait until you see a message saying 'Backup complete' or your phone returns to the home screen.
adb backup -apk -shared -all -system -f C:\backup\backup.ab
goto menu
:appsdevice
echo Look at your phone.
echo Wait until you see a message saying 'Backup complete' or your phone returns to the home screen.
adb backup -all -f C:\backup\backup.ab
goto menu
:apps
echo Look at your phone.
echo Wait until you see a message saying 'Backup complete' or your phone returns to the home screen.
adb backup -apk -noshared - nosystem -f C:\backup\backup.ab
goto menu
:sd
echo Look at your phone.
echo Wait until you see a message saying 'Backup complete' or your phone returns to the home screen.
adb backup -noapk -shared -nosystem -f C:\backup\backup.ab
goto menu
:restore
echo Look at your phone and type your password.
adb restore C:\backup\backup.ab
goto menu
:quit
exit
:end

i channged the script and now i got the error massage :" adb: unable to connect for backup"
what do i need more to do ?
28th August 2012, 06:09 PM   |  #43  
underface's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
my firewall shows this information
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	zagorzenie.JPG
Views:	347
Size:	27.4 KB
ID:	1288129  
28th August 2012, 06:56 PM   |  #44  
Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Thumbs up Just what I was looking for
'Option 2' is the most tempting one, I suppose if I use 'Option 1' am going to loose all those text messages anyways but not sure why I would still loose all those SMSs if 'Option '2 is being used. Option 2 is marked as unsafe, is there any known problem on it, atleast on the GNex on which you did most of your testing. Am currently on non-rooted 4.1 Yakju build, I suppose Option 2 should be safe enough for just unlocking the bootloader and rooting the device with the same Yakju build, wondering if it would work if I tried the Takju build (with just the wallet app being added). Would like to know if someone has tried this and hit a wall , if not am going to give it a shot anyways and thanks again for making something this useful

--Vj
Last edited by myvijay; 28th August 2012 at 07:05 PM. Reason: -Typo
28th August 2012, 08:00 PM   |  #45  
Junior Member
Flag Zelów
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Option 4 not work with HTC Sensation XE, it created only 1KB file (i tested it even running ubt with admin rights).

Some attempts ends with phone restart, but after manual restart, option 3 finished successful.
28th August 2012, 08:06 PM   |  #46  
Gigadroid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Osnabrück
Thanks Meter: 410
 
254 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TedTheBellhop

First, thanks for the script!

Since this is a batch file using the old cmd.exe it does not support UNC paths. Starting the executable from a network-path results into redirecting the work dir to the default windows directory.
Too bad you can't even see any output streams (Standard Out, Standard Error) because the batch goes back to menu and clears the screen. At least it would be a good idea to redirect all output to a logfile (>> backup.log or just errors 2> errors.log) so you can read messages like

Code:
adb: unable to connect for backup


I will include it in the next Version.
I will release it tomorow.


Quote:
Originally Posted by n0j0e

Started UBT.exe as admin on my Win7 x64 and before make a backup i must create a backup directory on c:!
Without it doesn't works.

Tip. When i fire my command in a cmd window like:

Code:
adb backup -apk -noshared -all -nosystem -f backup23082012.ab
..its create the backup file where adb.exe is.

Is there a tool around here to unpack the *.ab?

Oh, and on my device it works without a desktop password.

My PC has created a backup directory by itself.
Here is a tool to unpack .ab files: github.com/nelenkov/android-backup-extractor

Quote:
Originally Posted by underface

in my motorola razr (ver from europe) doesn't work restore - i made backup (options 1) but when I choose restore and type password twice that shows popup with information "restore succesful" but application and data dont restore ;/
where i made mistake?

Maybe you have moved your backup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by underface

my firewall shows this information

I can assure you that the file is not a virus. Some bad people use to EXE conveted Batch files to bypass virus scanners.
Use a more famous virus scanner and you will get no warning.
Quote:
Originally Posted by myvijay

'Option 2' is the most tempting one, I suppose if I use 'Option 1' am going to loose all those text messages anyways but not sure why I would still loose all those SMSs if 'Option '2 is being used. Option 2 is marked as unsafe, is there any known problem on it, atleast on the GNex on which you did most of your testing. Am currently on non-rooted 4.1 Yakju build, I suppose Option 2 should be safe enough for just unlocking the bootloader and rooting the device with the same Yakju build, wondering if it would work if I tried the Takju build (with just the wallet app being added). Would like to know if someone has tried this and hit a wall , if not am going to give it a shot anyways and thanks again for making something this useful

--Vj

It's marked AS unsafe, because i don't know what happens when someone made a backup from a 4.0 ROM and restored it in a 4.1 ROM.
Last edited by Gigadroid; 28th August 2012 at 08:33 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gigadroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th August 2012, 08:08 PM   |  #47  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Info 2 Version for Mac/Linux (bash)
Hi everyone

A simple version for Mac below. Thank you very much for providing the original.

pastebin.com/s8VtMqwk

I hope the link works, I can't post external links in here

Unfortunately I cannot get the adb commands to work on my device (samsung s3, miui 2.8.17).
I have set the development password but all I get are zero byte size backups.

I'll keep on trying

Thanks a bunch, xda is the best.

cheers
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to eyrienne For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th August 2012, 08:59 PM   |  #48  
Gigadroid's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Osnabrück
Thanks Meter: 410
 
254 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyrienne

Hi everyone

A simple version for Mac below. Thank you very much for providing the original.

pastebin.com/s8VtMqwk

I hope the link works, I can't post external links in here

Unfortunately I cannot get the adb commands to work on my device (samsung s3, miui 2.8.17).
I have set the development password but all I get are zero byte size backups.

I'll keep on trying

Thanks a bunch, xda is the best.

cheers

Thank you,
I will put it to my first post.
28th August 2012, 09:14 PM   |  #49  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
i made it . it's working. i just needed to install the HTC-SYNC program on the computer. and option 2 also working...
28th August 2012, 09:40 PM   |  #50  
underface's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigadroid


Maybe you have moved your backup?

No backup its on c:/backup

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
backup and restore, without root, without unlocked bootloader
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes