Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

`Cannot load boot.img` on Mac

OP tossero

5th September 2012, 10:48 PM   |  #1  
tossero's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Hello ,

I am unable to flash the boot.img on my Mac no matter what I do. The error is ` cannot load boot.img `
My device is recognized in fastboot , the other commands are working fine ( for example fastboot erase cache )
This is what I did already :
-I did put the boot.img into the platform-tools folder where adb/fastboot is
-checked MD5/several boot.img`s
-checked spelling ( fastboot flash boot boot.img)
-using the original cable
-install/reinstall adb-fastboot
-tryed different usb port
-reflash recovery

Any ideas ?

Thank you in advance !
6th September 2012, 12:54 AM   |  #2  
hopscotchjunkie's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead
Thanks Meter: 327
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
It sounds like it's not recognising where the file you're trying to flash is located for some reason. Maybe try including the path to the file in the command; for example fastboot flash boot ./boot.img if it's in your current directory.
The Following User Says Thank You to hopscotchjunkie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th September 2012, 01:51 AM   |  #3  
tossero's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hopscotchjunkie

It sounds like it's not recognising where the file you're trying to flash is located for some reason. Maybe try including the path to the file in the command; for example fastboot flash boot ./boot.img if it's in your current directory.

Thank you but no luck.. I get the same error .
6th September 2012, 10:28 AM   |  #4  
gffmac's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newcastle upon Tyne
Thanks Meter: 126
 
499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tossero

Thank you but no luck.. I get the same error .

Open terminal drag fastboot onto the terminal window 'space' 'flash boot' 'space' drag on boot.img 'return'.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to gffmac For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th September 2012, 12:47 PM   |  #5  
tossero's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gffmac

Open terminal drag fastboot onto the terminal window 'space' 'flash boot' 'space' drag on boot.img 'return'.

Eh.. this is it!
Thank you !
The Following User Says Thank You to tossero For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th September 2012, 02:19 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tossero

Eh.. this is it!
Thank you !

Is it really that symple, no need to install any drivers? Can I simply drag fastboot folder into terminal and type "flash boot"drag the boot.img file from the folder into the terminal and press return... sounds almost to easy, can you confirm this works?
7th September 2012, 02:27 AM   |  #7  
tossero's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DivinDuck

Is it really that symple, no need to install any drivers? Can I simply drag fastboot folder into terminal and type "flash boot"drag the boot.img file from the folder into the terminal and press return... sounds almost to easy, can you confirm this works?

If you already have installed adb then you can simply follow the instructions from above .
If not, you will have to install adb from here http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html .
You may also take a look at this tutorial :http://www.99bits.com/2010/12/how-to-setup-adb-on-mac/

Cheers~
7th September 2012, 03:06 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tossero

If you already have installed adb then you can simply follow the instructions from above .
If not, you will have to install adb from here http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html .
You may also take a look at this tutorial :http://www.99bits.com/2010/12/how-to-setup-adb-on-mac/

Cheers~

ok I have android sdk installed but I have one more question if this works and I manage to flash boot.img can I type "fastboot erase cache" in terminal to erase the cache? and do I need to put the boot.img into the platform-tools folder or can I simply have it in a fastboot folder on my desktop?
7th September 2012, 03:20 AM   |  #9  
tossero's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DivinDuck

ok I have android sdk installed but I have one more question if this works and I manage to flash boot.img can I type "fastboot erase cache" in terminal to erase the cache? and do I need to put the boot.img into the platform-tools folder or can I simply have it in a fastboot folder on my desktop?

Read the tutorial , you will find all the answers there !
Yes, you can run ` fastboot erase cache ` from your terminal and yes ,put the boot.img into the platform-tools folder !



Cheers~
Last edited by tossero; 7th September 2012 at 03:24 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to tossero For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th September 2012, 03:15 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tossero

Read the tutorial , you will find all the answers there !
Yes, you can run ` fastboot erase cache ` from your terminal and yes ,put the boot.img into the platform-tools folder !



Cheers~

Really works... thank you tossero.

The Following User Says Thank You to DivinDuck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes