5,597,647 Members 33,204 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

FIXED - Strange boot loop issue on factory reset but not on CM10

Tip us?
 
timmymagic07
Old
(Last edited by timmymagic07; 10th September 2012 at 05:04 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default FIXED - Strange boot loop issue on factory reset but not on CM10

[FIXED]

Got some help on the forum;

downloaded asus firmware, unpacked blob, fastboot flash staging blob; fastboot reboot

Prime is now back to fully operational!

Many thanks to @kkdm

[/FIXED]


Hello,

I have looked around the various threads (including the 'how to unbrick your prime' one) but have not seen this issue mentioned.

I have a strange issue where if I factory reset (i.e. to Asus) the device will simply keep looping at the ASUS EEE logo, with device is unlocked in the top left hand corner. If however I install CM10 or another MOD, it seems to work as normal and boot into the homescren.

Having read around, there was an issue with an Asus update where it appeared to do something similar to this, is it perhaps that I am on that version and thus am getting the same error? Would a simple download and copy of the latest ASUS ROM fix that? I am unsure on how to do this exactly, but have read this was an issue, but I find it unlikely as everything was fine before I unlocked etc.

Is it perhaps the bootloader has become corrupt in some way with the ICS/JB difference? This is just a guess on my limit knowledge...

The reason for putting back the ASUS stock ROM is selling the device, having upgraded to the Infinity, and do not particularly want to send it with CM10 on.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
 
flumpster
Old
(Last edited by flumpster; 7th September 2012 at 01:36 PM.)
#2  
flumpster's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2487
Posts: 2,592
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhondda Valleys

 
DONATE TO ME
What do you mean factory reset back to asus ?

You cannot just hit factory reset and it will go back to stock rom as you have overwritten it with cm10, or do you mean you have tried to install the stock version of the rom?

DO NOT use the official software from the Asus site, this can brick it.

There is a stock rom somewhere in the development section. You need to flash that to the tablet and you will be good to go.

edit... this is what you want .. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1708613
 
timmymagic07
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
It turns out there is no ROM on the internal storage anymore (I must have selected the format option on my last attempt at installing Androwookie), as a result I cannot access the sdcard by plugging the thing into my PC.

Is there a way of installing this via the micro SD card slot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by flumpster View Post
What do you mean factory reset back to asus ?

You cannot just hit factory reset and it will go back to stock rom as you have overwritten it with cm10, or do you mean you have tried to install the stock version of the rom?

DO NOT use the official software from the Asus site, this can brick it.

There is a stock rom somewhere in the development section. You need to flash that to the tablet and you will be good to go.

edit... this is what you want .. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1708613
 
timmymagic07
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Hello,

Just to clarify, I can get into recovery without issue, it just won't boot after factory reset and now hangs at ASUS logo.

Is there a way around this at all? :--(
 
timmymagic07
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Hello,

Latest problem is having ASUS Transformer Prime ADB Interface listed in Device Manager, but not being able to use the adb shell.

I get either 'device not found' or occasionally something about /system/sh not being found, in either case this is obviously not good.

I can still get into TWRP 2.1.3 though, surely there must be a way round this?
 
timmymagic07
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Now fixed, see first post
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more