Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,406 Members 41,894 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROOT] <Generic topic about verified root exploit>

Tip us?
 
jcase
Old
(Last edited by jcase; 19th September 2012 at 03:13 AM.)
#1  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 6762
Posts: 3,562
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [ROOT] <Generic topic about verified root exploit>

Sparkym3 released an automated tool for this, please see here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...34&postcount=1

Please DO NOT donate to nor credit me me for this matter, this was not my find, we just tried an existing exploit on the device.

Dear bloggers, source this when copying:
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/09...-how-to-do-it/

Amazon failed to fix the bug sparkym3 (http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=4411543) found in ICS, whoops.

http://downloads.noshufou.netdna-cdn...arm-signed.zip
unzip the zip, get su from /system/bin/ and Superuser.apk from /system/app/ and put them in your current directory

adb shell
rm -r /data/local/tmp
ln -s /data/ /data/local/tmp
exit

adb reboot

adb shell
echo 'ro.kernel.qemu=1' > /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb shell mount -o remount,rw /system
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell
chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
rm /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb install Superuser.apk
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
My Bitcoin address : 1Newifz6yETTmbziCsZZstmHHPH6ejNr75
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jayper
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default SWEET!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase View Post
Please DO NOT donate to nor credit me me for this matter, this was not my find, we just tried an existing exploit on the device.

Dear bloggers, source this when copying:
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/09...-how-to-do-it/

Amazon failed to fix the bug sparkym3 (http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=4411543) found in ICS, whoops.

http://downloads.noshufou.netdna-cdn...arm-signed.zip
unzip the zip, get su from /system/bin/ and Superuser.apk from /system/app/ and put them in your current directory

adb shell
rm /data/local/tmp
ln -s /data/ /data/local/tmp
exit

adb reboot

adb shell
echo 'ro.kernel.qemu=1' > /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb shell mount -o remount,rw /system
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell
chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
rm /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb install Superuser.apk
This is really exciting news! Been hoping for some good news on this front! Just got my new Fire over the weekend. Looking forward to getting the play store working.

Was there a way with the old fires to block Amazon's automatic updates?
 
ThaPirato
Old
#3  
ThaPirato's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 122
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: In your head :D
As always thanks for your work man!!
 
jcase
Old
#4  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor - OP
Thanks Meter 6762
Posts: 3,562
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sequim WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThaPirato View Post
As always thanks for your work man!!
Not my work, thank sparkym3. We just went testing older exploits before releasing a new one, and this worked.
I'm taking a break of an undetermined length. Please don't contact me about exploits

Something important? jcase@cunninglogic.com
Like Android security topics? Join our G+ community -> https://plus.google.com/communities/...07618051049043
My Bitcoin address : 1Newifz6yETTmbziCsZZstmHHPH6ejNr75
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jcase For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ncvikingx97
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 723
Join Date: Jan 2012
Jcase , you love these kindles don't you. Thanks for helping us out

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

Galaxy Nexus running some form of AOSP

Nexus 7: AOSP/Rasbean jelly

Kindle Fire: AOSP/Rasbean jelly for kindle BETA

iPhone 4 mint 16 gig- might sell, make me an offer

Hey Kindle Fire owners, want a good rom, click here
 
stu5797
Old
#6  
stu5797's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 180
Posts: 1,152
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
how do i get my kindle to be recognized when i type "adb shell" in the command line? I enabled adb in the security settings
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Please PM me if you have a One PLUS invite!
Will love you forever... Lol
 
Zagzagel
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stu5797 View Post
how do i get my kindle to be recognized when i type "adb shell" in the command line? I enabled adb in the security settings
If you have the SDK installed and you get "error: device not found" you need to do the following steps. This worked for me.

Navigate to the [your user name]/.android folder. It is under C:\Users

Edit the adb_usb.ini file, adding the following line of code at the end:

01949

Close and save that file.

Now find the folder where your SDK is installed, and open the usb_driver folder. In that folder, find the file android_winusb.inf and add the following code to both the [Google.NTx86] and [Google.NTamd64] sections:

;Kindle Fire
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_1949&PID_0006
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_1949&PID_0006&MI_01

Reboot and then run adb shell again. It should recognize your device.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Zagzagel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pbailey212
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 263
Posts: 763
Join Date: Apr 2011
Jcase is the android locksmith. Just about every device I have seen he has atleast helped unlock. Now if a working recovery can get made, I can see my self getting one of these puppies down the road.

sent from my Nokia 5110 using t9
 
padest.com
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 84
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase View Post
Please DO NOT donate to nor credit me me for this matter, this was not my find, we just tried an existing exploit on the device.

Dear bloggers, source this when copying:
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/09...-how-to-do-it/

Amazon failed to fix the bug sparkym3 (http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=4411543) found in ICS, whoops.

http://downloads.noshufou.netdna-cdn...arm-signed.zip
unzip the zip, get su from /system/bin/ and Superuser.apk from /system/app/ and put them in your current directory

adb shell
rm /data/local/tmp
ln -s /data/ /data/local/tmp
exit

adb reboot

adb shell
echo 'ro.kernel.qemu=1' > /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb shell mount -o remount,rw /system
adb push su /system/xbin/su
adb shell
chown 0.0 /system/xbin/su
chmod 06755 /system/xbin/su
rm /data/local.prop
exit

adb reboot

adb install Superuser.apk
Thanks for your sharing!
Thanks Cameron Summerson!
 
androitri
Old
(Last edited by androitri; 18th September 2012 at 08:44 AM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 115
Join Date: Aug 2011
Awesome work guys, especially for jcase and sparkym3...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes