Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

T-mobile galaxy s iii foxfi hotspot doesnt work

OP flost0590

9th October 2012, 08:17 PM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 104
 
644 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerMM

I've had the same problem with FoxFi. Install SVTP and set the profile to Samsung ICS. Still $15, but only once and its the only hotspot app I've found that can get around Tmobile's blocks on my stock nonrooted T999.

I tried this and it says my device is not supported.
9th October 2012, 08:37 PM   |  #22  
BerMM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tacoma
Thanks Meter: 20
 
223 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Where are you getting this error? From Play Store, or the S3 when you run the app, or the S3 when you enable the hotspot, or from another device attempting to use the hotspot?

I'm using SVTP Lite at the moment and it works just fine during the 5 minute test period*. Pro is supposedly identical but without such limits. Maybe try uninstalling Pro and seeing if Lite works? If so, then I'd suggest emailing SVTP.

* (I'm waiting to upgrade until I really need it because of my Very limited budget)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightykc

I tried this and it says my device is not supported.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SVTP_S3.gif
Views:	70
Size:	19.6 KB
ID:	1388402  
Last edited by BerMM; 9th October 2012 at 08:42 PM.
9th October 2012, 08:41 PM   |  #23  
BerMM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tacoma
Thanks Meter: 20
 
223 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Does anyone know if the range of a S3 generated hotspot is similar to its range as a wifi client, or if it isn't, what the coverage radius might be in something like a conference room?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes