Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HACK] Flash on Any Website in IE10 Metro Browser [WIN 8 & WIN RT]

OP Marvin_S

29th October 2012, 01:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 240
 
881 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
Dear all,

As we all know Windows RT/8's IE Metro browser has limited flash support based on a whitelist. However a lot of sites are not (yet) whitelisted and hence do not work as desired. So I did some digging in the whitelist mechanism and found a way to hack it.

Be sure to follow the following steps in respective order:
  • Open Desktop IE10 type ALT --> Tools --> Compatibility View settings. Now UNCHECK the last checkmark which says: "Download updated compatibility list from Microsoft". If you have done this, you will be able to locally change the whitelist without getting overridden.
    WARNING: If this checkbox is checked IE will override your custom whitelist back to default on each rebout, so be sure to uncheck it..

  • The whitelist is named "iecompatdata.xml" and is located in this path (copy + paste in File Explorer or IE10)
    Code:
    %HOMEPATH%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\IECompatData\
    (Alternatively open File Explorer and search in C:\ for "iecompatdata")

    As suggested by danchar4, you can open and edit this file directly with Notepad by pressing WIN + R and type:
    Code:
    notepad "%HOMEPATH%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\IECompatData\iecompatdata.xml"
    All whitelisted flash enabled websites are located in this file inbetween the following tags:
    Code:
    <Flash>
            [...]
            <domain>zumiez.com</domain>
            <domain>zynga.com</domain>
    </Flash>
  • To add a website to the whitelist, all you do is add your desired website inside these tags as follows:
    Code:
    <domain>YOURDESIREDDOMAIN.COM</domain>
    Add as many websites as you desire...
  • Now we are almost done, one last task is to delete browsing histroy. Open IE10 Metro and click WIN+I (to open settings) --> Internet Options —> Delete browsing history

And you are all set and done. Flash is now enabled in IE10 Metro for the websites you have added to the whitelist!


Of course as with any hack, attempt only at your own risk. I am not responsible in case faulty behaviour occurs... That said, it should be fine


Kind regards,

Marvin
Last edited by Marvin_S; 8th November 2012 at 10:35 AM.
The Following 19 Users Say Thank You to Marvin_S For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th October 2012, 02:17 PM   |  #2  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 240
 
881 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
Trouble shooting + faq
TROUBLE SHOOTING + FAQ
Quote:

I tried to do these steps but it does not work on www.website.com...

If the flash content is embedded as an iframe, be sure to also add the domain of the source of the flash content. E.g. be sure to also add the website where the iframe links to to the whitelisted sources, this is what will eventually determine whether flash will be activated or not for this website.

Quote:

Does this method work for www.website.com?

If 'website.com' uses a standard flash plugin (e.g. if you can view the flash content on a normal desktop with just the standard adobe flash player plugin) it will work with this method. All this method does is activating the built in flash plugin for any website you have added to the whitelist.

Quote:

I can not find the file "iecompatdata.xml"

If you can't find this file be sure to enable "show hidden files", this folder will show up now. Alternatively you can find it by searching C:\ for the query "iecompatdata", the file will now show up.

Quote:

I have added www.website.com to the whitelist, but it does not work!

Be sure to delete your browsing history and refresh the page. If it does not work now, please be sure to check if you have added the website correctly (e.g. within <domain> tags).

Quote:

After I have rebooted my computer, I have lost my custom whitelist!

Make sure you have UNCHECKED the last checkmark in "Compatibility View settings" which says: "Download updated compatibility list from Microsoft". If you have done this, you will be able to locally change the whitelist without IE overriding it automatically.
Last edited by Marvin_S; 6th November 2012 at 07:41 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Marvin_S For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th October 2012, 06:43 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin_S

After more thorough testing, I found that a domain with a wildcard will not work i.e.

Code:
<domain>*.com</domain>
Does not allow flash to work on all .com sites... so this solution is out of the window, unless somebody knows if a wildcard in this list is supplied differently. I could not find anything in the documentation regarding the use of wildcards in this list, so most likely its not supported.

Alternatively, we could create some kind of "community" maintained whitelist, where anybody can just add any website and we will then point IE10 to download a whitelist from this community maintained source (instead of from Microsoft).

Thanks so much for this work. I remember u from ur past work on wp7/7.5 on here. Thanks again. I almost called MS lite to return my surface because of this stupidity. Are they like apple or what? Trying to decide what u can do and what u can't is a v.stupid idea and whoever decided this at MS should be fired. If I wanted a prison garden, I'd buy an iPad.

---------- Post added at 12:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:34 PM ----------

Now if I can find an easy way to block the ads ill be really happy. These ads are so invading. I didn't realize how much firefox with adblock was until I had to us IE for the last 3 days. quite annoying as it makes content loading so slow.
29th October 2012, 06:54 PM   |  #4  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 240
 
881 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by xirsteon

Thanks so much for this work. I remember u from ur past work on wp7/7.5 on here. Thanks again. I almost called MS lite to return my surface because of this stupidity. Are they like apple or what? Trying to decide what u can do and what u can't is a v.stupid idea and whoever decided this at MS should be fired. If I wanted a prison garden, I'd buy an iPad.

---------- Post added at 12:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:34 PM ----------

Now if I can find an easy way to block the ads ill be really happy. These ads are so invading. I didn't realize how much firefox with adblock was until I had to us IE for the last 3 days. quite annoying as it makes content loading so slow.

Your welcome. Glad it was helpful, yes I have been less active due to obligations at the univerisity. If we find a better solution we will let you know.

Some kind of adblocker is also integrated in Internet Explorer. Go to Manage add-ons and then to Tracking Protection. Now download a couple of adblock lists. It is not as good as chrome/ff, but it gets the job done for the most part!

And take some time to get used to your new machine, its a beautiful device and only yet people are starting to explore it and develop for it. It will for sure be a highly demanded device and will most likely reach a lot of developer/hacker interest.
29th October 2012, 06:56 PM   |  #5  
Digital Man's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 63
 
313 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by xirsteon

Are they like apple or what? Trying to decide what u can do and what u can't is a v.stupid idea and whoever decided this at MS should be fired. If I wanted a prison garden, I'd buy an iPad

The restriction against other browsers is equally disturbing.

See here: http://news.cnet.com/8301-1001_3-574...-mozilla-says/

Even Google, who loves to push their own brand name through Chrome, saw the wisdom of allowing the customer freedom.

Lets not forget what, in large part, created Android's success - people jumped ship from Apple because they saw Android as an OS that allowed the consumer as much or as little customization as you want - you want it simple - they present a good out of box experience - you want something more, you can make changes.

We don't need two walled gardens.
Last edited by Digital Man; 29th October 2012 at 06:59 PM.
29th October 2012, 11:59 PM   |  #6  
Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2,782
 
5,868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Eh, that's just the restriction against third-party desktop apps. Mozilla even acknowledges that they could build a Windows Store app, and in fact they're apparently doing that (http://news.cnet.com/8301-30685_3-57...dows-8s-metro/)... just for some reason they're doing it only for x86. Since Store apps, even for RT, are allowed to use native C/C++ and the compiler supports building them for ARM, I'm really not sure why they don't just recompile it for RT. Yeah, their JavaScript JIT would need to be changed, but they already have a JIT for ARM don't they? That's equally relevant for Firefox on RT in the Desktop or in "Metro" anyhow, so it would be a stupid thing to complain about. In any case, they could just fall back to interpreted JS.
30th October 2012, 02:16 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Question Installed Chrome Browser
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodDayToDie

Eh, that's just the restriction against third-party desktop apps. Mozilla even acknowledges that they could build a Windows Store app, and in fact they're apparently doing that (http://news.cnet.com/8301-30685_3-57...dows-8s-metro/)... just for some reason they're doing it only for x86. Since Store apps, even for RT, are allowed to use native C/C++ and the compiler supports building them for ARM, I'm really not sure why they don't just recompile it for RT. Yeah, their JavaScript JIT would need to be changed, but they already have a JIT for ARM don't they? That's equally relevant for Firefox on RT in the Desktop or in "Metro" anyhow, so it would be a stupid thing to complain about. In any case, they could just fall back to interpreted JS.

I am not sure if this adds anything to the discussion. I don't own a Windows RT machine, but I was in Office Depot the other day looking at their devices. They had a Samsung ATIV Smart PC on display. So, I messed around with if for a while. I had read that other browsers were forbidden on the RT. I thought, I wonder if Google Chrome will run? So I installed it off the internet and it worked.

My question is this: Is it just the MS RT the locks itself down? Why did the Samsung allow me to D/L and install Chrome?
30th October 2012, 04:44 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Launceston
Thanks Meter: 258
 
458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehries

My question is this: Is it just the MS RT the locks itself down? Why did the Samsung allow me to D/L and install Chrome?

the software restrictions should be the same, the other limitation is that you can't just download x86 software and install it on the RT because x86 doesn't run on ARM processors, are you absolutely certain you were on an ATIV tab running Windows RT or just a samsung tablet running Windows 8 with an x86 processor? If it was already possible to install chrome on Windows RT it'd be all over the internet.
30th October 2012, 11:40 AM   |  #9  
adiliyo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 232
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehries

I am not sure if this adds anything to the discussion. I don't own a Windows RT machine, but I was in Office Depot the other day looking at their devices. They had a Samsung ATIV Smart PC on display. So, I messed around with if for a while. I had read that other browsers were forbidden on the RT. I thought, I wonder if Google Chrome will run? So I installed it off the internet and it worked.

My question is this: Is it just the MS RT the locks itself down? Why did the Samsung allow me to D/L and install Chrome?

it's the samsung smart PC running on x86 hardware? (clovertrail or i5) if it is, then it's running full windows 8 and you can install any legacy apps (like chrome/ff) to your hearts content.

not to go off topic too much, but as to the earlier comment about freedom and choice being the reason android gained so much marketshare so fast. it has more to do with the combination of cheap handsets and carrier penetration, at a time when the iphone was locked to one network in the US and blackberry was slowly falling out of the consumer mindshare. yes, people like us who frequent xda might have moved to it because of the openness of the platform, but the mainstream market really doesn't care about that.
30th October 2012, 03:22 PM   |  #10  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 240
 
881 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
Guys, we are wandering too far off topic. I appreciate the discussion, but please let it be (somehow) related to ways of enabling flash on IE10 on Win RT and 8. The limitations of Windows RT are better to be discussed in appropriate threads

Did anybody do an experiment with this compatibility list? Or tried to deactivate it in its entire? A systems admin or IT pro might no some more details on this?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes