Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,576 Members 43,762 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD][4.2.1/4.2][JOP40D/JOP40C] Tethering/Wifi Hotspot for the Nexus 7 3G

Tip us?
 
stridger
Old
(Last edited by stridger; 3rd December 2012 at 03:37 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 104
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default [MOD][4.2.1/4.2][JOP40D/JOP40C] Tethering/Wifi Hotspot for the Nexus 7 3G

PLEASE USE WITH CAUTION AND ONLY IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. I WILL NOT BE RESPONSIBLE FOR BRICKED DEVICES.

You may have noticed that the Nexus 7 3G does not have the tethering options enabled by default.

I couldn't live with that (that was partially the point why I got the 3G version), so have patched the framework to enable those options. Partial credits go to PaulOBrien@MoDaCo who has fixed the apktool for Android 4.2 .

To get it to work just flash the ZIP below. It will only work on the JOP40D and JOP40C releases, and obviously only if you have a 3G device. Please do not try it on the WiFi-only Nexus 7 .

Please note that it doesn't do a backup of the original framework-res.apk, so you can either make one yourself, or you can reflash the factory system image if you want to go back to stock later.

4.2.1 (JOP40D):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/oti37qsc26...her-JOP40D.zip

4.2 (JOP40C):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/9tswcvz50o...her-JOP40C.zip
The Following 48 Users Say Thank You to stridger For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kenkiller
Old
#2  
kenkiller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 444
Posts: 2,974
Join Date: Nov 2009
Just to check, it works for you?
 
flashyphotos
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 75
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Derby UK - Las Vegas US - Christchurch NZ
Brilliant - Gold Star to that man..

Works perfectly. Now what about Voice Calls
Press Photographer Covering UK & US
www.pressshoot.co.uk
 
yeahmon
Old
#4  
yeahmon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 251
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sarasota, FL
tag for later
I intend to live forever, or die trying.
 
phonic
Old
#5  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 411
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahmon View Post
tag for later
You know you can just hit the "subscribe" button at the top, right? You don't need to post something completely irrelevant in the thread just to mark it.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to phonic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
stridger
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 104
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashyphotos View Post
Now what about Voice Calls
Unfortunately voice calls seem to be blocked at radio level. If you try to do voice dial, it craps out with a CME ERROR 4 (Operation not supported). So unfortunately it looks like it will need to be a radio hack, which is beyond me (and I don't want to risk bricking the device )

Radio log is below in case it helps someone.

Code:
D/AT      (  129): AT< +XCSQ: 11, 23
D/GSM     (  762): isTwoDigitShortCode
D/GSM     (  762): dialing w/ mmi 'null'...
D/GSM     (  762): [GSMConn] acquireWakeLock
D/RILJ    (  762): [0364]> SET_MUTE false
D/RILJ    (  762): [0365]> DIAL
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: DIAL
D/AT      (  129): AT> ATD+XXXXXXXXXX;
D/RILJ    (  762): [0364]< SET_MUTE 
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0365]< DIAL 
D/GSM     (  762): [GsmDCT] handleMessage msg={ what=270343 when=-122ms obj=android.os.AsyncResult@41621518 }
D/GSM     (  762): [GsmDCT] onVoiceCallStarted
D/RILJ    (  762): [0366]> GET_CURRENT_CALLS
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: GET_CURRENT_CALLS
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CLCC
D/AT      (  129): AT< OK
D/RILJ    (  762): [0366]< GET_CURRENT_CALLS  
D/RILJ    (  762): [0367]> SET_MUTE false
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/RILJ    (  762): [0368]> SET_MUTE false
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0367]< SET_MUTE 
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0368]< SET_MUTE 
D/PHONE   (  762): VM: PhoneSubInfo.getVoiceMailNUmber: 
D/GSM     (  762): Pending MO dropped before poll fg state:DIALING
D/RILJ    (  762): [0369]> LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CEER
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CEER: "No report available"
D/AT      (  129): AT< OK
D/RILJ    (  762): [0369]< LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE error: com.android.internal.telephony.CommandException: GENERIC_FAILURE
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to stridger For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
phonic
Old
#7  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 411
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by stridger View Post
Unfortunately voice calls seem to be blocked at radio level. If you try to do voice dial, it craps out with a CME ERROR 4 (Operation not supported). So unfortunately it looks like it will need to be a radio hack, which is beyond me (and I don't want to risk bricking the device )

Radio log is below in case it helps someone.

Code:
D/AT      (  129): AT< +XCSQ: 11, 23
D/GSM     (  762): isTwoDigitShortCode
D/GSM     (  762): dialing w/ mmi 'null'...
D/GSM     (  762): [GSMConn] acquireWakeLock
D/RILJ    (  762): [0364]> SET_MUTE false
D/RILJ    (  762): [0365]> DIAL
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: DIAL
D/AT      (  129): AT> ATD+XXXXXXXXXX;
D/RILJ    (  762): [0364]< SET_MUTE 
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0365]< DIAL 
D/GSM     (  762): [GsmDCT] handleMessage msg={ what=270343 when=-122ms obj=android.os.AsyncResult@41621518 }
D/GSM     (  762): [GsmDCT] onVoiceCallStarted
D/RILJ    (  762): [0366]> GET_CURRENT_CALLS
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: GET_CURRENT_CALLS
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CLCC
D/AT      (  129): AT< OK
D/RILJ    (  762): [0366]< GET_CURRENT_CALLS  
D/RILJ    (  762): [0367]> SET_MUTE false
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/RILJ    (  762): [0368]> SET_MUTE false
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0367]< SET_MUTE 
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: SET_MUTE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CMUT=0
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CME ERROR: 4
D/RILJ    (  762): [0368]< SET_MUTE 
D/PHONE   (  762): VM: PhoneSubInfo.getVoiceMailNUmber: 
D/GSM     (  762): Pending MO dropped before poll fg state:DIALING
D/RILJ    (  762): [0369]> LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE
D/RIL     (  129): onRequest: LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE
D/AT      (  129): AT> AT+CEER
D/AT      (  129): AT< +CEER: "No report available"
D/AT      (  129): AT< OK
D/RILJ    (  762): [0369]< LAST_CALL_FAIL_CAUSE error: com.android.internal.telephony.CommandException: GENERIC_FAILURE
Yup, I think that might be the nail in the coffin.

I don't know anything about radio hardware, but I imagine it's cheaper to use data only components versus ones that support data and voice. If that's true, I'm not surprised that Assus decided to use the cheaper components. Whether this can be fixed with a different radio firmware or hardware hack is up to someone smarter than I, but it looks like we're stuck with data only.

---------- Post added at 09:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:00 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by stridger View Post
...Partial credits go to PaulOBrien@MoDaCo who has fixed the apktool for Android 4.2 .
Can you please provide the link (or more info) on the fix for apktool? I can't find it and want to decompile my framework. Thanks!

---------- Post added at 09:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:34 AM ----------

Nevermind found it the github commit. Built apktool and decompiled framework.

Ok, I enabled voice calling, but can't find the option to enable tethering...
 
H4CK_H0PP3R
Old
#8  
H4CK_H0PP3R's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 331
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: R00T3D MUMB4I
Quote:
Originally Posted by phonic View Post
Yup, I think that might be the nail in the coffin.

I don't know anything about radio hardware, but I imagine it's cheaper to use data only components versus ones that support data and voice. If that's true, I'm not surprised that Assus decided to use the cheaper components. Whether this can be fixed with a different radio firmware or hardware hack is up to someone smarter than I, but it looks like we're stuck with data only.

---------- Post added at 09:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:00 AM ----------



Can you please provide the link (or more info) on the fix for apktool? I can't find it and want to decompile my framework. Thanks!

---------- Post added at 09:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:34 AM ----------

Nevermind found it the github commit. Built apktool and decompiled framework.

Ok, I enabled voice calling, but can't find the option to enable tethering...
How did you enabled voice calling ? Is it possible?
 
phonic
Old
#9  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 411
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4CK_H0PP3R View Post
How did you enabled voice calling ? Is it possible?
Yes and no. You can enable the FUNCTION of voice calling in the framework (it's in values/bools.xml). All this does is allow the dialer to come up. However, so far, no one has been able to actually get voice calls to work through it.

---------- Post added at 11:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:16 AM ----------

Is there a reason why customized versions of framework.apk are half the size of the original?
 
NORCALkID
Old
#10  
NORCALkID's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 244
Posts: 821
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by phonic View Post
Yes and no. You can enable the FUNCTION of voice calling in the framework (it's in values/bools.xml). All this does is allow the dialer to come up. However, so far, no one has been able to actually get voice calls to work through it.

----------
lqqu at 11:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:16 AM ----------


Is there a reason why customized versions of framework.apk are half the size of the original?
What do you mean by customized?... there's a difference between an odexed apk and deodexed apk and that will change the size of it.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes