Post Reply

[ROOT]Kindle Fire HD 8.9

OP mdblaze

18th November 2012, 06:00 AM   |  #11  
Ravynmagi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
1,050 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Not working for me either. Seems like it can't detect my tablet (have ADB mode enabled). Did ya'll have to install some drivers? I Googled some Fire HD 7.0 ADB drivers, but those wouldn't install for me.

If someone can provide a bit more details, I'd appreciate it. Thanks.
18th November 2012, 06:27 AM   |  #12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravynmagi

Not working for me either. Seems like it can't detect my tablet (have ADB mode enabled). Did ya'll have to install some drivers? I Googled some Fire HD 7.0 ADB drivers, but those wouldn't install for me.

If someone can provide a bit more details, I'd appreciate it. Thanks.


These are the directions I used to install ADB drivers on my 8.9. Good Luck

https://developer.amazon.com/sdk/fire/connect-adb.html
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to somdave2005 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th November 2012, 07:42 AM   |  #13  
Ravynmagi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
1,050 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by somdave2005

These are the directions I used to install ADB drivers on my 8.9. Good Luck

https://developer.amazon.com/sdk/fire/connect-adb.html

If I run "adb devices" from the Android SDK, it shows the Kindle Fire.
However if I run "adb devices" from the batch file link above, it never finds it.

---------- Post added at 11:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:41 PM ----------

Well I had to install the Android SDK. Then copy the Platform-Tools folder into this script's "\stuff" folder.

Now ADB finds my Kindle Fire HD.

I tried option 1, it seemed to complete fine, but no Super User in apps. So I tried option 2, again no Super User. Which method are people using with success?
18th November 2012, 07:51 AM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravynmagi

If I run "adb devices" from the Android SDK, it shows the Kindle Fire.
However if I run "adb devices" from the batch file link above, it never finds it.

---------- Post added at 11:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:41 PM ----------

Well I had to install the Android SDK. Then copy the Platform-Tools folder into this script's "\stuff" folder.

Now ADB finds my Kindle Fire HD.

I tried option 1, it seemed to complete fine, but no Super User in apps. So I tried option 2, again no Super User. Which method are people using with success?

Option 2, I followed along with the video. Entering every command even if they didn't appear to work.

---------- Post added at 12:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:50 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by somdave2005

It worked! Thanks OP!

Anything we can do about apps that don't work? ie google maps, tasks apps, google currents, etc?

Are you guys using a different launcher now, like ADW launcher or NovaLauncher?

I tried both Go Launcher HD and Apex Launcher. I like Apex better so far.
The Following User Says Thank You to jmoak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th November 2012, 07:58 AM   |  #15  
Ravynmagi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
1,050 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoak

Option 2, I followed along with the video. Entering every command even if they didn't appear to work.

---------- Post added at 12:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:50 AM ----------



I tried both Go Launcher HD and Apex Launcher. I like Apex better so far.

Are you getting permission denied errors with the first two commands?
18th November 2012, 08:13 AM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravynmagi

Are you getting permission denied errors with the first two commands?

I believe so but I do not fully remember. I do know I was getting errors but just kept pushing on. It even mentions you will get errors in the video. I do remember getting errors on the last two commands thinking something was wrong but he also gets the same error in the video.

Start watching the video at about the 7 minute mark. That is when he roots a tablet.
18th November 2012, 08:59 AM   |  #17  
Ravynmagi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 199
 
1,050 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoak

I believe so but I do not fully remember. I do know I was getting errors but just kept pushing on. It even mentions you will get errors in the video. I do remember getting errors on the last two commands thinking something was wrong but he also gets the same error in the video.

Start watching the video at about the 7 minute mark. That is when he roots a tablet.

I decided to just a factory restore and start over.

Unfortunately it's still not working. No Super User, no root access. No idea why this isn't working for me.

---------- Post added at 12:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:25 AM ----------

Have no clue what I was doing wrong or what went wrong the half a dozen previous tries. But now Super SU is installed and root access is confirmed.

Got Google apps installed, but can't sign in with YouTube though. It crashes when trying to sign in.

Edit: Got the YouTube issue resolved as well. Was missing the GoogleLoginService.apk. It's all finally coming together nicely.
Last edited by Ravynmagi; 18th November 2012 at 09:21 AM.
19th November 2012, 01:25 AM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Is this surviving reboot? Also has anyone attempted to do a factory reset to see if it clears it? I've had this thing 3 days I really want Google Play on it so I can access my apps but don't really want to nuke the warranty just yet. :/
19th November 2012, 01:54 AM   |  #19  
onemeila's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Winchester
Thanks Meter: 242
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technogen

Is this surviving reboot? Also has anyone attempted to do a factory reset to see if it clears it? I've had this thing 3 days I really want Google Play on it so I can access my apps but don't really want to nuke the warranty just yet. :/

Yes it does work, but no a factory reset will not clear it. If you what to get rid of root you have to move superuser.apk from /system/app folder,to /data/app folder, install it in that location. Then delete the su binary from /system/xbin/. After all that the factory reset will restore to original.
19th November 2012, 05:57 AM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Somethings I ran into that may help other people.

If you do all the steps and still can't see the kindle in ADB run a driver update on the kindle, ADB showed up for me after that.

After the kindle rebooted it was not seeing the device as being back up after a 2 minute wait. I unpluged and reconnected the USB cable and this correct it.

The Following User Says Thank You to Technogen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in 7" Kindle Fire HD General by ThreadRank