Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Disable and oc?

OP nagle3092

29th November 2012, 07:59 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag 'Merica
Thanks Meter: 8
 
197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
OK so I know most games aren't multithreaded so with my N7 in route I was thinking about this. Has anyone disabled 2 cores and oced the live ones and the GPU more? Since most games wouldn't use them it could help cut down on heat and battery consumption providing the games aren't locking themselves to threads. So I was wondering if anyone could try it or if they have post the results.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
29th November 2012, 03:26 PM   |  #2  
EvanA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,297
 
981 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagle3092

OK so I know most games aren't multithreaded so with my N7 in route I was thinking about this. Has anyone disabled 2 cores and oced the live ones and the GPU more? Since most games wouldn't use them it could help cut down on heat and battery consumption providing the games aren't locking themselves to threads. So I was wondering if anyone could try it or if they have post the results.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2

Android should be automatically disabling cores when they are not being used. So if you were to overclock the CPU and then go into a game which doesn't use all the cores, the extra cores should be disabled. I am not 100% on this but this is how I understand it should work.
29th November 2012, 05:30 PM   |  #3  
erica_renee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 524
 
2,446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
The linux kernel that android runs on top of controls the cpu I do not think the apps have to be CPU CORE aware.. This is due to the memory and power management of Android and arm processors.. Yes i know its much deeper then this but basically the system handles this NOT THE APPS THEMSELVES.. If Apps has to be aware of the cpu/ cores to use them there would be so mach broken apps across devices.

If im wrong please explain.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes