Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more

Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply

[Q] Which prepaid plan can I use with my Motorola Photon 4G in the US?

OP Chris300HP

4th December 2012, 11:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Buenos Aires
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Hi,
I'm planning a trip to Los Angeles, USA in the near future. I bought an unlocked Motorola Photon 4G on Ebay, and currently use it in Argentina. It is in my understanding that USA domestic GSM towers are blocked. I currently have it running Gingerbread 2.3.5. It is also in my understanding that Sprint offers only plans under a contract (Correct me if i'm wrong). What options do i have to use my phone under a prepaid plan with voice, sms and data during my trip?
5th December 2012, 03:46 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
your phone can only be activated on sprint or its affiliate (without grey area ESN flashing). there are a number of sprint MVNOs that offer "bring your own sprint device" as long as the ESN is clean. Without a clean ESN, you are SOL.

http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...ing-it-Listing
The Following User Says Thank You to findthedr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th December 2012, 04:50 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Not entirely true. You should be able to put the kddi radio on 2.3.5 and use any GSM carrier you choose.

...I believe. Let me go read...

Ok here is an important question. Does your phone say unlocked at the top when you first turn it on?
Last edited by atroph; 5th December 2012 at 04:56 AM.
5th December 2012, 11:02 AM   |  #4  
maxon_yalta's Avatar
Member
Flag Sevastopol
Thanks Meter: 25
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
You can't unlock bootloader on stock 2.3.5 Photon firmware, so you are not able to flash KDDI radio and wont get GSM service in the US.
5th December 2012, 01:41 PM   |  #5  
heywired's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Tomah
Thanks Meter: 3
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxon_yalta

You can't unlock bootloader on stock 2.3.5 Photon firmware, so you are not able to flash KDDI radio and wont get GSM service in the US.



From what I've read you are able to unlock the bootloader on 2.3.5, As long as you didnt update it from 2.3.4 to 2.3.5 with RSD Lite. BUT (if my memory serves me correct) you have to "rollback" or re-flash it with 2.3.4.

SO technically you cant if you still have 2.3.5 on your phone, so in order to unlock the bootloader you just have to re-flash 2.3.4 back on it.

Hope that helps/Makes sense
5th December 2012, 04:14 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Flag Buenos Aires
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
I already called Sprint and i have a clean esn number. They told me that they offer prepaid services with Virgin Mobile and Boost Mobile but you have to buy a phone from them, so i can't use my Motorola Photon with them. I don't want to mess around with my phone to unlock USA GSM bands. The first reply offered me a solution, to go with a virtual operator under the Sprint Network such as Eco Mobile that allows me to bring my Sprint phone.

Sent from my MB855 using xda app-developers app
5th December 2012, 08:21 PM   |  #7  
InsanePostman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Racine
Thanks Meter: 58
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
As far as I know unless you're on factory 2.3.5 or 2.3.4 and are able to unlock your bootloader, the photon is only able to use international GSM networks. You need to unlock your bootloader and install the KDDI radio to use US GSM networks.
11th December 2012, 03:35 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Check out ting. They have native coverage on Sprint for Voice, SMS, and Data. They also have a roaming agreement with Verizon for voice. If you tell them jasonshinton@yahoo.com referred you we both get a $25 credit.
The Following User Says Thank You to JHINTON1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th December 2012, 11:47 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Midlothian
Thanks Meter: 6
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Platinumtel
I bought my Photon off of Craigslist new and activated it on Platinumtel for $40.
The phone needs to have clean ESN and not be on Sprint account.
The later is the hard part, the ESN can be clean but the phone can still be on an account and not be active.
I went through 3 phones from Cowboom to find the last part out, which is why I found a new never activated one.
If the phone is on your account and you still have an account with Sprint you have to call to make sure they take the phone off of Sprint.
I pay about $3.33 a month for PlatinumTel and use Google voice and GrooveIP on wifi.
cheap deal

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes