5,605,766 Members 47,986 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE][Xperia 2011 Series] Gps bug fix for all Xperia 2011 phones !!!

Tip us?
 
Zero|Cool
Old
#21  
Zero|Cool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 207
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portugal
Well my trip only took 15 minutes but it did not go down a single time . In 20 seconds I had GPS lock so it was still pretty for a cold boot (and its rainy weather).
Although there is a minor issue, without the a-gps there is more lag between the map and your real position on the road.
Main Phone: Samsung GT-I9305@Stock+root 4.1.2
Secondary: SE WT19i @CM10 4.1.2
Nexus 7 32GB Wi-fi @Stock 4.3
 
SSyar
Old
#22  
SSyar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 235
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Karachi
well strange i never found any issue in my Xperia GPS..
My office & home are equipped with wifi so dont need any data account, and i get precise location on google latitude with A-GPS nd i m happy with it
K750 > K770 > G705 > XPERIA X10 > XPERIA neo > XPERIA S {Stock-JB-0.211, Black, Rooted, Locked BL}
 
maRRRco89
Old
#23  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 256
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero|Cool View Post
I have tried with the method on 1st post and got a boot loop

---------- Post added at 05:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:17 PM ----------

Ok so there's something wrong with your tuturial.
I have redone the process and when you paste the setting.db and it asks you to replace it, and you say yes, then the file disappears! But no fear, go back to your SD card, copy the file again and paste it again (this time it won't ask you to replace because no file is there!). Then go the permissions and change them accordingly.
Close program, reboot and it's done!
Sorry you got a boot loop .
Never my settings.db disappearead from the folder, before or after paste the edited one. Probably something due to a version of root explorer, or sd card, or something else, but i can say it's not the common way, usally replace the file and no problem at all.
However i will add your infos in first post to help someone can find this problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ldbrown01 View Post
Worked first time for me!
Happy to hear so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero|Cool View Post
Well my trip only took 15 minutes but it did not go down a single time . In 20 seconds I had GPS lock so it was still pretty for a cold boot (and its rainy weather).
Although there is a minor issue, without the a-gps there is more lag between the map and your real position on the road.
Happy to read now works so well.
I didn't experience any lag, i always used the gps in flight mode before the fix and the precision is pretty good.
Now i can get 3 meters of accuracy , so nice for a phone .
Remember that A-gps works only for first fix or when the signal is poor, is an help for the hardware chip, but only this chip detemines the position and the accuracy, so your lags can be releted to navigation app or something else.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SSyar View Post
well strange i never found any issue in my Xperia GPS..
My office & home are equipped with wifi so dont need any data account, and i get precise location on google latitude with A-GPS nd i m happy with it
Yes, but you don't use gps in the road, only in the office with wifi that excludes gps bug.
Try and will see drops every 5 minutes.
 
Zero|Cool
Old
#24  
Zero|Cool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 207
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by maRRRco89 View Post
Sorry you got a boot loop .
Never my settings.db disappearead from the folder, before or after paste the edited one. Probably something due to a version of root explorer, or sd card, or something else, but i can say it's not the common way, usally replace the file and no problem at all.
However i will add your infos in first post to help someone can find this problem.



Happy to hear so.



Happy to read now works so well.
I didn't experience any lag, i always used the gps in flight mode before the fix and the precision is pretty good.
Now i can get 3 meters of accuracy , so nice for a phone .
Remember that A-gps works only for first fix or when the signal is poor, is an help for the hardware chip, but only this chip detemines the position and the accuracy, so your lags can be releted to navigation app or something else.




Yes, but you don't use gps in the road, only in the office with wifi that excludes gps bug.
Try and will see drops every 5 minutes.
Im using Ndrive V11. I always saw it lagged behind whenever the Data connection was off (before the fix). So the lag remains. Bear in mind that a-gps also helps to get load cycles off the cpu so this could explain it partly.

But I believe that this situation is more frequent while driving around in the city, I took a longer drive today out of the city and it faired very well. Now I'm happy with it. I might even think about getting the Xperia Arc S in white

I also use Waze, but that remained the same because it really needs the data connection, otherwise no maps or points
Main Phone: Samsung GT-I9305@Stock+root 4.1.2
Secondary: SE WT19i @CM10 4.1.2
Nexus 7 32GB Wi-fi @Stock 4.3
 
maRRRco89
Old
#25  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 256
Join Date: Aug 2011
Try Sygic gps navigations and you won't see more lags
 
emailprashanthvg
Old
#26  
emailprashanthvg's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 32
Join Date: Nov 2011
I have done the steps which you have said!! I also have the backup of the original!! but after i did this locking on a single satelite takes really long!! more than 3mins!! Thts really not good any fix for that???
 
maRRRco89
Old
#27  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 256
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by emailprashanthvg View Post
I have done the steps which you have said!! I also have the backup of the original!! but after i did this locking on a single satelite takes really long!! more than 3mins!! Thts really not good any fix for that???
That's strange . I get the fix in 20 seconds, and also other guys.
There isn't a fix, because my guide don't affect gps fix like you say, but only a bit, few seconds no more.
At least the first cold fix can required 1 minutes, but you should be able to see already 6-7 satellites, ready to get lock.
However try this, reboot your phone, go in a place with open sky, turn on Gps and wait for a fix, this could take some minutes, don't worry, wait and you will get the satellites. Next time the fix will be faster, from 20 to 40 seconds.
 
gregbradley
Old
(Last edited by gregbradley; 2nd September 2012 at 04:56 PM.)
#28  
gregbradley's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3354
Posts: 7,837
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
The second (Or third) post says this is for GB. Any chance we couls look at improving this on ICS? Sometimes my NEO (Pureness rom, build 11, but it has done this on other ROMS as well) does not find any satallites for minutes. If close the app and restart it finds them in seconds, then when I goto mapmyride or other navigation app it loses fix straight away.

It seems very random when it will get a fix and keep it, or get a fix and drop it immediately or not even get a fix...

Any help will be appreciated


I checked the line in sqlite manager and found the "1" there.....I know I could change it and see if it works, but just need to check if I will do any harm if I change it to a "0"..


If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.

 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton


[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.
<<DO NOT MIRROR MY FILES>>


Follow me on twitter
 
BombayBoy
Old
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 388
Posts: 879
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mumbai
Wink FasterGPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley View Post
The second (Or third) post says this is for GB. Any chance we couls look at improving this on ICS? Sometimes my NEO (Pureness rom, build 11, but it has done this on other ROMS as well) does not find any satallites for minutes. If close the app and restart it finds them in seconds, then when I goto mapmyride or other navigation app it loses fix straight away.

It seems very random when it will get a fix and keep it, or get a fix and drop it immediately or not even get a fix...

Any help will be appreciated


I checked the line in sqlite manager and found the "1" there.....I know I could change it and see if it works, but just need to check if I will do any harm if I change it to a "0"..
hi,

why dont you check FasterGPS works without any fuss than most tricks out here...
Thanks XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to BombayBoy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sony_84
Old
(Last edited by sony_84; 12th December 2012 at 05:52 AM.)
#30  
sony_84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 132
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Malang
i use ics on xperia u .. i already change the database as you wrote ... my xperia u can succesfully boot up ... i haven't tried to check the GPS when my data is not actived .. coz i'm still working inside the room.. latere i'll give you know whether it's working on my xperia u or not.


Edit :
i confirm this is working in my xperia u ics .... thanks for your work .....

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes