Thread Deleted Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Dash Radio Increase Hack to Increase Bandwidth

3rd April 2009, 08:31 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Bristol, CT
Thanks Meter: 5
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
I've been reading around, and have seen that some people have been able to increase the radio power on their phones leading to increased bandwidth... Has anyone successfully done this? If so, how can I do this?
3rd April 2009, 10:50 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
wow...i didn't even know that was possible...i always thought that was controlled by the network...as in the towers or something. then again where there's a will..there's a way
3rd April 2009, 10:57 PM   |  #3  
stylez's Avatar
Retired Moderator & Assistant Forum Admin
Flag XDA Server Likes: The Art of War Hates: Cowards
Thanks Meter: 507
 
9,835 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
I'm not sure about hacking a Radio? I know that there are different Radio's available that allow different reception\battery life\GPS fix, there are a few radio's out for the Dash\Excalibur but not as much choice as many other models mainly due to fact not as many official builds or people porting them from other models.
4th April 2009, 06:36 AM   |  #4  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 6
 
288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by miker2431

I've been reading around, and have seen that some people have been able to increase the radio power on their phones leading to increased bandwidth... Has anyone successfully done this? If so, how can I do this?

I have also heard about this !.! several times on 2 forums (I cannot remember witch ones)

I thought this would be really cool hack did lots of research BUT NEVER found a how to guide.
there is people saying this is possible but there is no guide.....
4th April 2009, 07:46 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Never bad to have a strounger Radio on Dash Excalibur
30th August 2009, 07:13 AM   |  #6  
Banned
Flag salem, oregon
Thanks Meter: 0
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by miker2431

I've been reading around, and have seen that some people have been able to increase the radio power on their phones leading to increased bandwidth... Has anyone successfully done this? If so, how can I do this?

I hate reviving dead threads... but a quick explanation which might spur interest. This would be plausible for any American phone that isnt running the T-mobile network. Radio signal runs off the towers, when a cellular company increase cellular tower power they release a patch OTA (most times) or on the web page changing the current radio software to the updated radio software. Sooo I know that tmo has nothing new i checked with a tmo rep today but at&t might be an option worth looking at.
30th August 2009, 02:04 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Cloppenburg
Thanks Meter: 3
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Radio Hacking to get better bandwith
Quote:
Originally Posted by stylez

I'm not sure about hacking a Radio? I know that there are different Radio's available that allow different reception\battery life\GPS fix, there are a few radio's out for the Dash\Excalibur but not as much choice as many other models mainly due to fact not as many official builds or people porting them from other models.

Hi stylez,

you´ve spoken about some wm 6.5 roms, wich habe different battery life and reception. Could you tell me a rom, with has a better battery-lifetime than the last 3vo-rom (wich is absolutely perfect but has a battery-lifetime of less than one day. )

Thanks

kowalskie

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes