Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Tutorial]RSD Mode 3 "Brick" Fix

OP XxLordxX

18th January 2013, 06:05 PM   |  #1  
XxLordxX's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Why do you need to know that?
Thanks Meter: 1,122
 
2,933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:

I recently saw many people running into this problem and didn't find any tutorial explaining how to fix it, so I decided make a little tutorial on how to fix this bug. Please understand that it only works on RSD Mode 3! And was tested only twice on an Everest Xoom and a Stingray Xoom (thanks droidxrooting)!

Quote:

I'm not responsible if it Hard Brick your device! Everything you do is only your problem!

Quote:

Windows:

  1. Fully charge your Xoom
  2. Download LordAIOTool
  3. Extract it on C:/
  4. Download and install Motorola Drivers
  5. Download Motorola Stock ROM or any other ROM
  6. Extract the ROM and pick the boot.img file
  7. Copy the boot.img file to LAIOT Tools folder
  8. Now download any recovery (except Stock one) and copy it to LAIOT Tools folder as well
  9. Rename the recovery file to recovery.img
  10. Plug your Xoom to your PC
  11. Turn it on pressing vol- (If it worked the screen will stay stuck at Motorola logo with no text)
  12. Open a cmd
  13. Type:
    Code:
    cd C:/
    cd LAIOT
    cd Tools
    fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
    fastboot flash boot boot.img
    fastboot reboot
  14. Quickly press vol- (like after 2 seconds that Motorola logo appeared) and select Android Recovery
  15. Now on recovery factory reset your device and wipe system
  16. Flash a ROM
  17. You're done

Quote:

Linux:

  1. Fully charge your Xoom
  2. Download and install LordAIOTool
  3. Download any ROM or Motorola Stock ROM
  4. Extract from this ROM boot.img
  5. Download a Recovery
  6. Rename the recovery you just downloaded to recovery.img
  7. Copy both boot.img and recovery.img to ~/LAIOT/
  8. Turn on your Xoom while pressing vol- (if worked you will see a Motorola logo screen with no text)
  9. Plug your Xoom to your PC
  10. Open a terminal
  11. Type:
    Code:
    cd ~/LAIOT/
    fastboot flash boot boot.img
    fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
    fastboot reboot
  12. Quickly press vol- (like after 2 seconds that Motorola logo appeared) and select Android Recovery
  13. Now on recovery factory reset your device and wipe system
  14. Flash a ROM
  15. You're done

The Windows version was tested on a Stingray (droidxrooting did it with my help) and the Linux version was tested on a Everest (XxLordxX did it)

Hope it unbrick your Xoom if it enters in RSD mode 3! I hope to soon add this feature on either LAIOT or/and 7Heavens Projekt.

Feel free to donate a little money for me due to the work I had writing this and studying on how to do it. I have a button called "Donate me" under my avatar, feel free to click it and make me happy
Last edited by XxLordxX; 18th January 2013 at 08:50 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to XxLordxX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th January 2013, 06:46 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Re: [Tutorial]RSD Mode 3 "Brick" Fix
Thank you so much for your help. Yes I used Windows 8 and it worked like a charm. My only suggestion to improve this tutorial would be to link to the moto drivers and may be stock moto software.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium App
18th January 2013, 07:05 PM   |  #3  
XxLordxX's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Why do you need to know that?
Thanks Meter: 1,122
 
2,933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidxrooting

Thank you so much for your help. Yes I used Windows 8 and it worked like a charm. My only suggestion to improve this tutorial would be to link to the moto drivers and may be stock moto software.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium App

Cool I will do it
30th May 2013, 04:13 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Sign Almost works, need guidance.
Hello XxLordxX

The 'Windows' hyperlink works, partially. When I click it, a new tab opens and the LAIOT.zip download starts.

Now here is the problem. It (LAIOT.zip) Will download all the way, and then it stead of giving me the file in my downloads folder, (and btw, I use Chrome) it says: 'Failed - Network error'.

I am stuck in RSD mode 3. But I can get to Fastboot doing the following:Rebooting (Volume up + Power) and then immediately press and hold Volume down as it boots, then giving me Fastboot.

Please help me. ANY help. My Xoom is MZ604.
30th May 2013, 07:26 PM   |  #5  
XxLordxX's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Why do you need to know that?
Thanks Meter: 1,122
 
2,933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Hi Mr_IceSlice,
The LAIOT is downloaded just because it contains some files that would make easier to user continue with commands, as it already contains adb and fastboot in some specific folders and such . If you can use fastboot, just skip to the 12th part and follow from there (don't forget to put the boot.img and recovery.img in fastboot folder).
Good luck
~Lord
The Following User Says Thank You to XxLordxX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2013, 12:42 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Tutorial Thanks! It worked. Need help with another issue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxLordxX

Hi Mr_IceSlice,
The LAIOT is downloaded just because it contains some files that would make easier to user continue with commands, as it already contains adb and fastboot in some specific folders and such . If you can use fastboot, just skip to the 12th part and follow from there (don't forget to put the boot.img and recovery.img in fastboot folder).
Good luck
~Lord

Thank you XxLordxX for your quick response!

I got my friend to download LAIOT.zip for me, and then send to me, so I was able to un-brick and get off the 'RSD mode 3' screen.

So, if I may ask, could you please help me with anther issue. I deleted my 'logo.bin' file from my device and need instruction on how to copy a logo.bin file onto my Xoom. The logo.bin file I have, I got from the SDK_tools, as well as one I got off of Google.

For for info on my predicament go to http://rootzwiki.com/topic/40350-nee...db-on-my-xoom/

To see the tutorial I was following go to http://rootzwiki.com/topic/451-how-t...only-xoom-301/

And yes, I do now realize that the tutorial is for HC, and I am on ICS. I started rooting about two days or so, before the JB update came out, so my Xoom still has ICS on it.

So to sum this all up, I think I have rooted my Xoom, using solarnz guide ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1242241 ), but I cannot properly boot up and access my Android OS.

When I boot up, this is the screen I get https://mail-attachment.googleuserco...UtgLM&sadssc=1

But by pressing Volume down to scroll/toggle to Android recorvery and then press Volume up to select, it will look like this: https://mail-attachment.googleuserco...1gj-XJzHa-B_Nw

Then the screen goes black for a moment, then shows this: https://mail-attachment.googleuserco...6ufO2D7g6Q5_xs

So, I know that I can unbrick my Xoom, I just someone to tell me what to do. Thank you again XxLordxX for helping me out! It feels good to know that there are still people out there who are kind enough to lend a helping hand. I can't wait to hear from you.

--Sincerely, Mr_IceSlice
4th June 2013, 12:03 AM   |  #7  
XxLordxX's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Why do you need to know that?
Thanks Meter: 1,122
 
2,933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Sorry but I can't see the pictures . Cna you upload to another server so I can view and help you with you problem . Sorry for the long time the answer took to arrive, I was busy with classes and studies lol.

Sent from my MZ608 using xda app-developers app
~Lord
4th June 2013, 08:54 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Camera Images attached for you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxLordxX

Sorry but I can't see the pictures . Cna you upload to another server so I can view and help you with you problem . Sorry for the long time the answer took to arrive, I was busy with classes and studies lol.

Sent from my MZ608 using xda app-developers app
~Lord

Here are the same images that I have attached the imagee as .jpg files.

In chronological order their file names are:

IMG_20130428_125548_440.jpg

IMG_20130602_172917_415.jpg

IMG_20130602_172924_314.jpg

And thanks allot for helping! I had to laugh when you said "Sorry for the long time the answer took to arrive, I was busy with classes and studies lol." because compared to the other forums/sites I've been on, your responses are lightning quick.

Hope the files/images work for you!

--Mr_IceSlice

P.S.
My Xoom does not have a SDcard, but my Mom's Droid RAZR MAXX does have a SDcard that I can eject and use with my Xoom to flash things with CWM.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130428_125548_440.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	259.2 KB
ID:	2017216   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130602_172917_415.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	258.7 KB
ID:	2017217   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20130602_172924_314.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	259.4 KB
ID:	2017219  
Last edited by Mr_IceSlice; 5th June 2013 at 08:40 PM. Reason: Title was slightly mis-descriptive.
9th June 2013, 06:30 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Question Have you found any solutions yet?
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxLordxX

Sorry but I can't see the pictures . Cna you upload to another server so I can view and help you with you problem . Sorry for the long time the answer took to arrive, I was busy with classes and studies lol.

Sent from my MZ608 using xda app-developers app
~Lord

I haven't heard back from you. I was wondering if you have made any progress. Can you please give me an update?

Thanks a lot for your time and cooperation!

--Mr_IceSlice
10th June 2013, 12:19 AM   |  #10  
XxLordxX's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Why do you need to know that?
Thanks Meter: 1,122
 
2,933 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
@Mr_IceSlice Sorry, didn't have the time to look lol... I never saw that kind of error before, did you do something to your BL? It seems it was hacked or something like this . I will search a little and then try to give you an answer ^^

Sorry again,
~Lord

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
brick, fix, rsd, tutorial, xoom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes