Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,216 Members 53,489 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

MHL problem white noise

Tip us?
 
ystasino
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 41
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default MHL problem white noise

Droid DNA, running Hatka ROM and stock kernel, purchased new PNY MHL adapter and purchased new 15ft HDMI cable to the TV, tried rebooting didn't help, HDMI cable shows on DNA and the phone is charging. Other than it being the cables, which I doubt I'm curious about whether you have any explanations or solutions. Thanks!



 
Luigi711
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 62
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Re: MHL problem white noise

I'll flash the ROM tomorrow and try it.
I'm gonna say its something in or not in the ROM.
When I was was running stock just rooted. I had no problems with it. Watch a full movie.
I haven't tried on my current either. So I'll try it on this one before I flash the other one

HtC DNA
XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to Luigi711 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MustafaHadaKing
Old
#3  
MustafaHadaKing's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,247
Posts: 868
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: MHL problem white noise

Yeah I would check if this works on stock and then compare. Also if you using hatka you have v to use lk kernel

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app

 
ystasino
Old
(Last edited by ystasino; 25th January 2013 at 09:50 PM.)
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 41
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustafaHadaKing View Post
Yeah I would check if this works on stock and then compare. Also if you using hatka you have v to use lk kernel

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app
I cannot get into the process of switching ROMs just to check MHL. It takes me hours to customize my phone after wiping everything. Is there anything you can think that would cause this in your ROM? I really like your ROM and battery usage and data connectivity, but do you think you could fix this?

Do you have a link to the kernel I have to use?

Thanks
 
MustafaHadaKing
Old
#5  
MustafaHadaKing's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,247
Posts: 868
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ystasino View Post
I cannot get into the process of switching ROMs just to check MHL. It takes me hours to customize my phone after wiping everything. Is there anything you can think that would cause this in your ROM? I really like your ROM and battery usage and data connectivity, but do you think you could fix this?

Do you have a link to the kernel I have to use?

Thanks
theres is nothing in my rom that i can think of that would cause this. this is the kernel http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2106178

 
Luigi711
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 62
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Re: MHL problem white noise

I tried it on my current ROM (life battery plus) works fine. I got called into work tonight, so I'll flash the other one tomorrow.

HtC DNA
XDA App
 
ystasino
Old
(Last edited by ystasino; 26th January 2013 at 07:14 AM.)
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 41
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: MHL problem white noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luigi711 View Post
I tried it on my current ROM (life battery plus) works fine. I got called into work tonight, so I'll flash the other one tomorrow.

HtC DNA
XDA App
Thanks, I'll be waiting on your results, this ROM has great connectivity and battery life and I hope I can keep it. Are you using the pny adapter?
 
MustafaHadaKing
Old
#8  
MustafaHadaKing's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,247
Posts: 868
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ystasino View Post
Thanks, I'll be waiting on your results, this ROM has great connectivity and battery life and I hope I can keep it. Are you using the pny adapter?
i think it was problem with root, fixed in newest build

 
Luigi711
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 62
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Re: MHL problem white noise

So I flashed the hatak 1.1.6 and the kernel . Works fine.
The cable I'm using doesn't have anything on it but MHL my cousin gave it to me. He got it while he was deployed.
I'd say either try another cable, or warrenty da DNA for a new one.

HtC DNA
XDA App
 
ystasino
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 41
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: MHL problem white noise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luigi711 View Post
So I flashed the hatak 1.1.6 and the kernel . Works fine.
The cable I'm using doesn't have anything on it but MHL my cousin gave it to me. He got it while he was deployed.
I'd say either try another cable, or warrenty da DNA for a new one.

HtC DNA
XDA App
What adapter did you use? What do you mean that the cable doesn't have anything on it, other than the MHL? Is it a powered adapter? I don't believe that you can run MHL to HDMI without an adapter and most people say it needs to be powered (though in my experience the PNY adapter works without power). Thanks a lot for your help.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more