FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

[31.07.2009] TMC now working without external Hardware!!!

3,410 posts
Thanks Meter: 897
 
By starbase64, Senior Member on 4th May 2009, 10:43 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

Tmc work on Touch HD with a little tool (attached here).

TMC developers thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=497977

beemers TMC thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=512630

Load and install the two attached cab files, then:
  1. start HyperGPS
  2. select a free Com Port for TMC
  3. go to menu > Test and search TMC with the arrows
  4. message RTTMC in receive windows means TMC available (Pic 4)
  5. if TMC found, close test windows with OK
  6. leave HyperGPS in the background and start iGO
  7. go to settings > TMC
  8. search a TMC broadcaster

What is new in Beta 8:
-Full GNS protocol support. Tested under iGO and Navigon
GNS needs TMC+GPS option to be selected althought if it is not, HyperGPS will send fake GPS sentences.
-Less CPU consumption and lower memory footprint
-Optimized test program: Now RSSI is correctly shown under Royaltek mode, unused buttons are hidden under GNS mode and all the behaviour has been polished.
-RDS and TMC indicator in test program.
-Log mode redesigned to make more useful and readable logs.
-Removed fake RDS message under Royaltek mode. Not necessary with correct timmings.
-Soved an issue with block ratio not always sent.


my iGO settings in system.ini:
[tmc]
saved_config_available="0"
saved_config_classname="NMEA_GPSTMC_ROYALTEK"
saved_config_portname="COM"
saved_config_port="9"
saved_last_tuning_mode="0"
auto_tuning="0"
saved_last_frequency="1047"

YouTube - TMC and iGO

Special thanks to beemerTPPC and all TMC developers.

with friendly greet

starbase64
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	6697
Size:	14.4 KB
ID:	182401   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	6921
Size:	21.0 KB
ID:	182402   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	6556
Size:	25.3 KB
ID:	182403   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	5836
Size:	18.1 KB
ID:	182404  
Attached Files
File Type: cab beemer_cert.cab - [Click for QR Code] (825 Bytes, 5027 views)
File Type: cab HyperGPS_WM6_B8.cab - [Click for QR Code] (137.1 KB, 2821 views)
Last edited by starbase64; 1st August 2009 at 09:20 AM.
 
 
4th May 2009, 10:54 AM |#2  
Roupette's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
You guys are incredible, and xda-dev is an amazing forum!!!!!!!

When, even iGO responsibles of the support section strictly answer that the HD isn't able to provide a TMC function with its radio receiver, you still believe that it's possible, give yourselves the means to make it happen, and success!!!!

BRAVO!!!

...'ll test this soon
Last edited by Roupette; 4th May 2009 at 01:11 PM.
4th May 2009, 11:49 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
it doesnt work on my hd....

tested all the com ports but no way.... it says it cannot open com port....

I have installed both the files, any help ???

Mau
4th May 2009, 12:02 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
TMC found in iGo, but no TMC-stations can be found in Sweden so far...
4th May 2009, 12:09 PM |#5  
Senior Member
London
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Does this work in the UK with iGO8? Reason why i ask that TMC is found in iGO8 but no TMC stations found. I have the headset plugged in and it's scanned all FM radio frequencies (testing.... no TMC signal found). The funny thing is, on the main screen where the TMC icon is, i have a yellow envelope. Clicking the car icon, then the car icon in a triangle, it takes me to a section called "Traffic Alerts" where 2 events are listed for roadworks. (1. A3211 westminster bridge - tower bridge & 2. A23 thorton - heath purley). So it must have picked up a signal at some point. Any help please ?
Last edited by Canaan; 4th May 2009 at 12:18 PM. Reason: more info added
4th May 2009, 12:13 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
starbase64,
thanks a lot. I just follow in last two weeks all efforts (thanks to flywhc and other team) to obtain TMC function avalaible on htc devices. In my case I have a touch HD. Now I just installed u sw, and config and TMC signal is OK. Now remain only to test on the road...

Thanks again. I hope to give u feedback asap.
4th May 2009, 12:15 PM |#7  
Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
It worked once and then it broke.
It says it cant load the driver so i uninstalled,re installed beemercert.cab and then tried to reinstall the app but now it say it can't as it doesn't have permission.
4th May 2009, 12:27 PM |#8  
borce_razor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag dev>null
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
WOW! This is so good. HTC dvices always have hidden options. The only bad thing is missing tmc services in my coutry, macedonia
4th May 2009, 12:49 PM |#9  
Lucas0511's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Griff1

It worked once and then it broke.
It says it cant load the driver so i uninstalled,re installed beemercert.cab and then tried to reinstall the app but now it say it can't as it doesn't have permission.

Same problem here, worked once, and then after softreset cannot open com port anymore.
4th May 2009, 12:52 PM |#10  
Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I know,gutted or what.

I'm just pondering a hard reset,would rather not but i really want this working.

EDIT: I might wait a while till my next Dutty rom,will probably be soon,lol.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes