Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,556 Members 42,195 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[BOOTLOADER] 2nd-Bootloader/Recovery unlock process for KFire 2 [TWRP 2.6.3.0]

Tip us?
 
mindmajick
Old
#251  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,912
Posts: 3,565
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [ROM/KERNEL] UNOFFICIAL CM10.1 + 3.0.50 Kernel for Kindle Fire 2 [01/15 1st relea

Quote:
Originally Posted by mammenj View Post
Was able to successfully install CM 10.1 using this method....but I am missing something.....how do I go to HOME, PREV.....there is no soft buttons? Is it a known issue

EDIT: I am missing Notification bar also?

EDIT 2: Resetting navigation from setting did not work...
Quote:
Originally Posted by spitit View Post
Same problem for me... dont know how to get soft buttons
Please, can anybody tell us a tip for that ?
Wipe everything and reinstall the Rom. This is NOT a common issue

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to mindmajick For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fmkilo
Old
#252  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 187
Posts: 288
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Mount Vernon, IA,USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mindmajick View Post
Wipe everything and reinstall the Rom. This is NOT a common issue

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk 2
I had this issue. I had to reinstall twrp and reflash the rom.
FMKilo @ forum.xda-developers
freenode irc #kf2-dev
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fmkilo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
khudson
Old
#253  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 122
Join Date: Jan 2008
Nice work, very easy once I decided to commit to doing this on my daughters device. Man it makes this thing so much better and faster. GREAT WORK!
 
mammenj
Old
#254  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 1,401
Join Date: Sep 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [ROM/KERNEL] UNOFFICIAL CM10.1 + 3.0.50 Kernel for Kindle Fire 2 [01/15 1st relea

Quote:
Originally Posted by mindmajick View Post
Wipe everything and reinstall the Rom. This is NOT a common issue

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk 2
Thanks, got it working by pushing the ROM and gapps through adb.
The biggest challenge was to get windows to recognize kf2.

One thing I noticed that was after using cmd command to run as administrator, I was able to run all adb commands successfully.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
 
mammenj
Old
#255  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 1,401
Join Date: Sep 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quick question, what is the difference between the cm10.1 distributed by powepoint45 and the one linked in this thread?
 
mindmajick
Old
(Last edited by mindmajick; 27th January 2013 at 03:26 PM.)
#256  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,912
Posts: 3,565
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [ROM/KERNEL] UNOFFICIAL CM10.1 + 3.0.50 Kernel for Kindle Fire 2 [01/15 1st relea

Quote:
Originally Posted by mammenj View Post
Quick question, what is the difference between the cm10.1 distributed by powepoint45 and the one linked in this thread?
I think if you read the first post in powerpoint45 thread... you will KNOW the difference.

Edit: I just double checked. Read post one, two AND three

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to mindmajick For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mammenj
Old
#257  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 1,401
Join Date: Sep 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mindmajick View Post
I think if you read the first post in powerpoint45 thread... you will KNOW the difference.

Edit: I just double checked. Read post one, two AND three

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk 2
Thank you Sir, I will definitely read those posts.
 
iytrix
Old
#258  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 227
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: San Jose
Quote:
Originally Posted by mammenj View Post
Thank you Sir, I will definitely read those posts.
lol. What Majick said is true, it's all in the thread. I do realize there are some finer points though that aren't in the thread, and as far as I know, no one directly mentioned, for a good reason, it's slightly useless information, but maybe you or others would like to know!
  • The ROM originally was tablet mode added to CM10.1, this meant that the settings for the CM10 notification bar still existed, yet they did nothing, and you couldn't customize the navbar as all.
  • He later added some of SGT7. You can google SGT7 to see the basics of what he added. The main thing to know though, is that you can customize the navbar a bit more. Just more settings in general.
  • In the third version, most things were cosmetic. The bar is a nice textured grey, and the other changes he noted. If you want a very stock look version 2 is okay, but PPT didn't make the cosmetic changes to look bad :P overall it's a lot more usable and looks nicer.

Just so you know some of the smaller details
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to iytrix For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mammenj
Old
#259  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 1,401
Join Date: Sep 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Just donated to hashcode for his work on KF2. (Confirmation number: 98D36145BM564841S)
Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to mammenj For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Hashcode
Old
#260  
Hashcode's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 22,388
Posts: 3,232
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mammenj View Post
Just donated to hashcode for his work on KF2. (Confirmation number: 98D36145BM564841S)
Thanks.
You rule sir.

And on a side note: FMKilo confirms that HD codec binary is loading for him. It's untested as of yet as he has no wifi available for YouTubeHD etc. But I believe we should be very close to HD codecs.

EDIT: I just re-read that and it looks like I was holding out for some kind of donation on the codec fix. Not true! It just happened to work out that I had some time today to fix it.

I'll upload a new build shortly.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes