Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,359 Members 41,169 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

.RGU skipped during compilation (PkgToolsBuildOs 6.x-5.3)

Tip us?
 
hilaireg
Old
(Last edited by hilaireg; 5th May 2009 at 06:30 PM.)
#1  
hilaireg's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus - OP
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 2,945
Join Date: Jan 2009
Question .RGU skipped during compilation (PkgToolsBuildOs 6.x-5.3)

I know most chefs have moved on to the Visual Kitchen, but I would greatly appreciate some insight on a problem I'm having with the old'style kitchen.

I moved the GSensorCalibrator & GSensor SDK from the OEM folder to the PACKAGES folder. I added a supporting OPTION.XML (Unicode, like the others) and collapsed the contents of 0409 folder to the respective package folder, removed the 0409 folders, and then renamed the packages as follows:

.\Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_GSensorCalibrator_1_ 0_18192126_0
.\Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_SensorSDK_3_3_181823 26_1


The ROM loads up fine from the BuilOS tab of PkgToolsBuildOs 6.x-5.3 and the output of the log pertaining to the package above shows the following:


Code:
Processing: Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_GSensorCalibrator_1_0_18192126_0
Processing: Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_GSensorCalibrator_1_0_18192126_0... Searching for dsm file
Dsm = Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_GSensorCalibrator_1_0_18192126_0\9f517713-bb2d-4e77-8de8-e0638bf94c40.dsm

Processing: Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_SensorSDK_3_3_18182326_1
Processing: Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_SensorSDK_3_3_18182326_1... Searching for dsm file
Dsm = Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_SensorSDK_3_3_18182326_1\c7a71384-f73c-47ac-bd20-610e0dfb3b11.dsm

The Cabinet Tool section of the log shows this:

Code:
-- adding packages\9f517713-bb2d-4e77-8de8-e0638bf94c40.rgu

-- adding packages\c7a71384-f73c-47ac-bd20-610e0dfb3b11.dsm
-- adding packages\c7a71384-f73c-47ac-bd20-610e0dfb3b11.rgu
Notice that the .DSM for the GSensorCalibrator is missing - not sure why. I've even tried recreating the file and using BUILDDSM.


The RGU Comp section of the log shows this:

Code:
package "02_PACKAGE_Raphael_GSensorCalibrator_1_0_18192126_0" does not contain .rgu file "8f517713-bb2d-4e77-8de8-e0638bf94c40.rgu"

importing registry file ".\Registry\c7a71384-f73c-47ac-bd20-610e0dfb3b11.rgu"...

I checked the usual stuff: .RGU file format (Unicode, like others), .PROVXML format (same like others, although irrelevant at this point), duplicate .DSM/.RGU, multiple .RGU/.DSM in the package folder.

I'm completely stumped; I'm sure it's something I'm overlooking but for the life of me, I can't figure out why PkgToolsBuildOs 6.x-5.3 is not "picking" up the GSensorCalibrator .RGU file.

Device 1 & 2: HTC Rhodium (aka TouchPRO2/Tilt2)
Device 3 & 4: Apple N89 (aka iPhone 4)



Donations | Forum Rules | Admins/Mods | WIKI | Chef Central | KB555375
 
hilaireg
Old
#2  
hilaireg's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus - OP
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 2,945
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default * UPDATE *

Deleting the .DSM files and creating blank empty ones seem to solve the problem ... which still has me confused as I started off with empty .DSM to begin with.

As I suspected, if the Cabinet Tool section does not show a .DSM for an .RGU expect problem with the package in question.
Device 1 & 2: HTC Rhodium (aka TouchPRO2/Tilt2)
Device 3 & 4: Apple N89 (aka iPhone 4)



Donations | Forum Rules | Admins/Mods | WIKI | Chef Central | KB555375
 
GSLEON3
Old
#3  
GSLEON3's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 1,321
Posts: 2,453
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NSA Black Site Whiskey Tango Foxtrot One Niner

 
DONATE TO ME
Need to use BuildDSM.exe to add the rgu to the package for the old kitchen.

Also make sure the rgu is read only.
Ingress Resistance - Rainbow6


Click HERE to buy me a cheeseburger if I helped you! Or even better, find a charity or local family fighting childhood cancer & help out however you can!

A brief & incomplete timeline of my love affair with mobile technology:

 
 
hilaireg
Old
#4  
hilaireg's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus - OP
Thanks Meter 222
Posts: 2,945
Join Date: Jan 2009
That's how I assumed it was supposed to function - the .DSM essentially provided a folder contents list of sorts.

That said, it appears that the version of PkgToolsBuildOs I'm using will search for the .RGU file in the folder ... when the .DSM file is empty (0 byte).

Cheers,
Device 1 & 2: HTC Rhodium (aka TouchPRO2/Tilt2)
Device 3 & 4: Apple N89 (aka iPhone 4)



Donations | Forum Rules | Admins/Mods | WIKI | Chef Central | KB555375
 
NRGZ28
Old
#5  
NRGZ28's Avatar
Retired Senior Mod & Senior RD - (old) King of WinMo
Thanks Meter 10,010
Posts: 10,452
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: XDA-Developers
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSLEON3 View Post
Need to use BuildDSM.exe to add the rgu to the package for the old kitchen.

Also make sure the rgu is read only.
The RGU does NOT need to be read only...
.. - Energy ROM Chef -..

Click below for ROM threads

(OneX, OneS, Amaze, Sensation, HD2, EVO 4G, Inspire 4G, Vision, Incredible 2, Desire HD, MyTouch4G)
(Asus Transformer TF101 / TF201 / TF300 )
(Kindle Fire ROM)
(Motorola Razr M)




 
GSLEON3
Old
#6  
GSLEON3's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 1,321
Posts: 2,453
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NSA Black Site Whiskey Tango Foxtrot One Niner

 
DONATE TO ME
Is that the extent of YOUR helpful commentary?
Ingress Resistance - Rainbow6


Click HERE to buy me a cheeseburger if I helped you! Or even better, find a charity or local family fighting childhood cancer & help out however you can!

A brief & incomplete timeline of my love affair with mobile technology:

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes