Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

.RGU skipped during compilation (PkgToolsBuildOs 6.x-5.3)

5th May 2009, 03:42 PM   |  #1  
hilaireg's Avatar
OP Moderator Emeritus
Thanks Meter: 222
 
2,945 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I know most chefs have moved on to the Visual Kitchen, but I would greatly appreciate some insight on a problem I'm having with the old'style kitchen.

I moved the GSensorCalibrator & GSensor SDK from the OEM folder to the PACKAGES folder. I added a supporting OPTION.XML (Unicode, like the others) and collapsed the contents of 0409 folder to the respective package folder, removed the 0409 folders, and then renamed the packages as follows:

.\Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_GSensorCalibrator_1_ 0_18192126_0
.\Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_SensorSDK_3_3_181823 26_1


The ROM loads up fine from the BuilOS tab of PkgToolsBuildOs 6.x-5.3 and the output of the log pertaining to the package above shows the following:


Code:
Processing: Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_GSensorCalibrator_1_0_18192126_0
Processing: Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_GSensorCalibrator_1_0_18192126_0... Searching for dsm file
Dsm = Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_GSensorCalibrator_1_0_18192126_0\9f517713-bb2d-4e77-8de8-e0638bf94c40.dsm

Processing: Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_SensorSDK_3_3_18182326_1
Processing: Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_SensorSDK_3_3_18182326_1... Searching for dsm file
Dsm = Packages\02_PACKAGE_Raphael_SensorSDK_3_3_18182326_1\c7a71384-f73c-47ac-bd20-610e0dfb3b11.dsm

The Cabinet Tool section of the log shows this:

Code:
-- adding packages\9f517713-bb2d-4e77-8de8-e0638bf94c40.rgu

-- adding packages\c7a71384-f73c-47ac-bd20-610e0dfb3b11.dsm
-- adding packages\c7a71384-f73c-47ac-bd20-610e0dfb3b11.rgu
Notice that the .DSM for the GSensorCalibrator is missing - not sure why. I've even tried recreating the file and using BUILDDSM.


The RGU Comp section of the log shows this:

Code:
package "02_PACKAGE_Raphael_GSensorCalibrator_1_0_18192126_0" does not contain .rgu file "8f517713-bb2d-4e77-8de8-e0638bf94c40.rgu"

importing registry file ".\Registry\c7a71384-f73c-47ac-bd20-610e0dfb3b11.rgu"...

I checked the usual stuff: .RGU file format (Unicode, like others), .PROVXML format (same like others, although irrelevant at this point), duplicate .DSM/.RGU, multiple .RGU/.DSM in the package folder.

I'm completely stumped; I'm sure it's something I'm overlooking but for the life of me, I can't figure out why PkgToolsBuildOs 6.x-5.3 is not "picking" up the GSensorCalibrator .RGU file.

Last edited by hilaireg; 5th May 2009 at 06:30 PM.
5th May 2009, 05:22 PM   |  #2  
hilaireg's Avatar
OP Moderator Emeritus
Thanks Meter: 222
 
2,945 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
* UPDATE *
Deleting the .DSM files and creating blank empty ones seem to solve the problem ... which still has me confused as I started off with empty .DSM to begin with.

As I suspected, if the Cabinet Tool section does not show a .DSM for an .RGU expect problem with the package in question.
6th May 2009, 06:39 AM   |  #3  
GSLEON3's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag NSA Black Site Whiskey Tango Foxtrot One Niner
Thanks Meter: 1,323
 
2,453 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
More
Need to use BuildDSM.exe to add the rgu to the package for the old kitchen.

Also make sure the rgu is read only.
6th May 2009, 01:15 PM   |  #4  
hilaireg's Avatar
OP Moderator Emeritus
Thanks Meter: 222
 
2,945 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
That's how I assumed it was supposed to function - the .DSM essentially provided a folder contents list of sorts.

That said, it appears that the version of PkgToolsBuildOs I'm using will search for the .RGU file in the folder ... when the .DSM file is empty (0 byte).

Cheers,
6th May 2009, 06:58 PM   |  #5  
NRGZ28's Avatar
Retired Senior Mod & Senior RD - (old) King of WinMo
Flag XDA-Developers
Thanks Meter: 10,011
 
10,453 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSLEON3

Need to use BuildDSM.exe to add the rgu to the package for the old kitchen.

Also make sure the rgu is read only.

The RGU does NOT need to be read only...
7th May 2009, 01:53 AM   |  #6  
GSLEON3's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag NSA Black Site Whiskey Tango Foxtrot One Niner
Thanks Meter: 1,323
 
2,453 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
More
Is that the extent of YOUR helpful commentary?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes