Post Reply

My soon to be a100 dash install

OP maek_it_happen

29th November 2012, 04:10 AM   |  #31  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 144
 
1,031 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaydizzle414

this is very cool, i think it looks nice! but i think i would rather keep my tab on me at all times rather than in a car just my preference unless i had two tabs then i might put one in my car

Yea i have two





Quote:
Originally Posted by mpr90

I too am looking to put a tab in my car to replace my current in-dash PC. I was looking initially at the Nexus 7, being a reasonably priced tablet, but discovered that in landscape mode with polarized sunglasses, the screen goes black.

After a trip to Best Buy in sunglasses, I found that the Kindle Fire 2 (not the HD) and the Acer Iconia A100 both are OK in landscape mode with polarized sunglasses. They don't have the A110 on display yet, so I'm waiting to try that one since it's more recent than the A100.

Never would of thought that with the nexus


Sent from my HTC One S using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to maek_it_happen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th December 2012, 05:14 AM   |  #32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Came here seeking help with another A100 related question and saw this thread. Here's a photo of my install just for the hell of it.
imageshack.us/photo/my-images/17/20121031161041 .jpg/ (remove space before .jpg)
Last edited by lildave151; 9th December 2012 at 05:19 AM.
9th December 2012, 11:54 PM   |  #33  
Kodiack99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
I tried the A100 in my genesis install but the cold made the touch screen go crazy, so I went with a nexus 7.



Sent from my A100 using xda app-developers app
4th January 2013, 04:18 PM   |  #34  
iamdestruktor's Avatar
Senior Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 86
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Anyone know of a good car mount or cradle for the a100? I've seen the ones with a bendable long arm but they're kinda pricey.

[Nik's $3, Odexed Blue 2.1, XDA Premium]
21st January 2013, 06:15 PM   |  #35  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
If you want a separate power button it could be easily manufactured.
http://www.techrepublic.com/photos/c...er#photopaging
Look at the images 28 up to 31. This is the PCB where the power button is installed. Just solder two additional wires to an electronic switch placed wherever you want. If you want something more flexible you could solder the two wires(coming form the Acer's power button) to a FEMALE audio jack. Either build it inside the tablet or fix it on the side(outside of course - the two wires should have some kind of pass-through the plastic - small hole maybe). Than solder another MALE audio jack to the wires coming from the external button of your choice. Finally when you connect the male-->female audio jacks you are going to have an external button. If you are not experienced enough or have no such soldering iron I highly recommend giving it to a professional. Take the PCB only because the guy would not need the other part of the tablet and it will be cheaper because you won't be charged for disassemble - assemble process.
If you need some more help please ask
P.S. Video of something VERY similar: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7KQeHhgaOY
Nicely explained laptop(tablet...laptop...fridge...or even space shuttle it is all the same: momentary switch) thread : http://www.mp3car.com/how-to-power-a...er-switch.html

If you are thinking now...what button I could choose and where to find it....I would suggest to just buy an OEM button of some option that is missing in your car. Most of the buttons are momentary buttons which send signal to a controlling module. A typical example : http://acimg.auctivacommerce.com/img...mg/4264076.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6324197-620-414.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	1664666  
Last edited by SlavPala4a; 21st January 2013 at 06:25 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to SlavPala4a For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd January 2013, 10:25 PM   |  #36  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 144
 
1,031 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Re: My soon to be a100 dash install
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlavPala4a

If you want a separate power button it could be easily manufactured.
http://www.techrepublic.com/photos/c...er#photopaging
Look at the images 28 up to 31. This is the PCB where the power button is installed. Just solder two additional wires to an electronic switch placed wherever you want. If you want something more flexible you could solder the two wires(coming form the Acer's power button) to a FEMALE audio jack. Either build it inside the tablet or fix it on the side(outside of course - the two wires should have some kind of pass-through the plastic - small hole maybe). Than solder another MALE audio jack to the wires coming from the external button of your choice. Finally when you connect the male-->female audio jacks you are going to have an external button. If you are not experienced enough or have no such soldering iron I highly recommend giving it to a professional. Take the PCB only because the guy would not need the other part of the tablet and it will be cheaper because you won't be charged for disassemble - assemble process.
If you need some more help please ask
P.S. Video of something VERY similar: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7KQeHhgaOY
Nicely explained laptop(tablet...laptop...fridge...or even space shuttle it is all the same: momentary switch) thread : http://www.mp3car.com/how-to-power-a...er-switch.html

If you are thinking now...what button I could choose and where to find it....I would suggest to just buy an OEM button of some option that is missing in your car. Most of the buttons are momentary buttons which send signal to a controlling module. A typical example : http://acimg.auctivacommerce.com/img...mg/4264076.jpg

Could prove useful

Sent from my Back from Banned Camp Edition One S.
2nd February 2013, 11:32 PM   |  #37  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I have heard from a few people that you can set up a tasker profile to wake the device when the charger is activated and have it sleep when its off.

Sean
3rd February 2013, 12:14 AM   |  #38  
pio_masaki's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Surprise, Az
Thanks Meter: 3,642
 
4,566 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Re: My soon to be a100 dash install
What about the keep screen awake while charging option in developer settings?

Sent from my HTC DNA
3rd February 2013, 01:56 AM   |  #39  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Re: My soon to be a100 dash install
That might works well, I have not tried to test that yet.

Sean

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes