Post Reply

Need help renaming Partitions in Dual Boot kernel!! Please Help!!

OP fishingfon

22nd January 2013, 07:35 AM   |  #51  
fishingfon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Thanks Meter: 253
 
712 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Re: Need help renaming Partitions in Dual Boot kernel!! Please Help!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by zacharysblubaugh

Ok the last 5-10 post are very confusing....do I understand right that you have dualboot working

It was easier for me to understand the code you was posting and my development skills are limited to mainly apps

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda app-developers app

Hi,
No I haven't got dual boot working yet.
I am editing some things in various fstabs and init files, and I will test it soon hopefully.
The second ROM still freezes on boot at the moment.

Cheers
Corey

Sent from my GT-N7100

If I helped you, please hit Thanks..
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to fishingfon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2013, 06:55 PM   |  #52  
Member
Flag Oostzaan
Thanks Meter: 15
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Re: Need help renaming Partitions in Dual Boot kernel!! Please Help!!
Hi, perhaps this thread for dual boot on the i9000 can help figuring things out?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=36757599

Hope someone can get this to work on the n7100.
Regards
Sent from my GT-N7100
The Following User Says Thank You to lassieee For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd February 2013, 10:08 PM   |  #53  
Senior Member
Flag Jeddah- J City ;)
Thanks Meter: 16
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Any success bro? Lot of people looking forward to this !
4th February 2013, 05:11 AM   |  #54  
fishingfon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Thanks Meter: 253
 
712 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Re: Need help renaming Partitions in Dual Boot kernel!! Please Help!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by sda.171

Any success bro? Lot of people looking forward to this !

Hi,
I have been busy studying for university, and Microsoft exams, and I have been packing to move back to England in 3 weeks, and I have had some websites that I was building that needed finishing for people, so I haven't been able to do any of The kernel the last week or two.
Also I have had to rebuild my PC.

The kernel is still freezing on boot up of the second ROM.
But I have found some lines of code in the ftab.2 and init.2 files in /sbin/misc/init.41 that could be causing the problem, and I will try changing them as soon as I get time.

But its all very hectic here at the moment, and my WiFi and speaker on my note 2 have broken, so I also need to send it to a service center aswell. So I don't know when I will be able to get round to it, but I will try as soon as I can.

Cheers
Corey Bacon

Sent from my GT-N7100

If I helped you, please hit Thanks..
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to fishingfon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th February 2013, 03:04 AM   |  #55  
Member
Flag Oostzaan
Thanks Meter: 15
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Re: Need help renaming Partitions in Dual Boot kernel!! Please Help!!
Wow, you sound kinda busy lol. Good luck!
DerTeufel has had made amazing progress with his dual boot kernel for the i9000. I'm going to test it tomorrow and let you know. Perhaps you could reverse engineer his work to get it to work on the n7100.

Cheers

Sent from my GT-N7100
The Following User Says Thank You to lassieee For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th March 2013, 03:10 AM   |  #56  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lassieee

Wow, you sound kinda busy lol. Good luck!
DerTeufel has had made amazing progress with his dual boot kernel for the i9000. I'm going to test it tomorrow and let you know. Perhaps you could reverse engineer his work to get it to work on the n7100.

Cheers

Sent from my GT-N7100

I wouldn't go that far to test dual boot! Siyah kernel for S3 is something to reverse engineer. Why S1 when its an entirely different hardware and completely different partition layout? Even the file system is Samsung proprietary on S1.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Prankey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th January 2014, 04:07 AM   |  #57  
Acesohigh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pacheco
Thanks Meter: 17
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prankey

I wouldn't go that far to test dual boot! Siyah kernel for S3 is something to reverse engineer. Why S1 when its an entirely different hardware and completely different partition layout? Even the file system is Samsung proprietary on S1.

I have 2 s3 and that kernel bricked my T-Mobile one. But I gladly test the kernel if one is needed
Last edited by Acesohigh; 26th January 2014 at 04:08 AM. Reason: typo
4th February 2014, 07:08 PM   |  #58  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
374 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acesohigh

I have 2 s3 and that kernel bricked my T-Mobile one. But I gladly test the kernel if one is needed

Seems you are late at the party. DerTeufel has already got a working kernel now
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2239453
6th February 2014, 06:20 AM   |  #59  
Recognized Developer
Flag Bekasi
Thanks Meter: 9,386
 
3,541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
My dual boot solution no need any special recovery but repacked PhilZ Touch with nice looking AROMA boot menu for both recovery and normal boot. Ported from my dual boot solution for Tab 2 http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2522091 . Just my two cents
6th February 2014, 10:19 AM   |  #60  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 22,636
 
7,710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ketut.kumajaya

My dual boot solution no need any special recovery but repacked PhilZ Touch with nice looking AROMA boot menu for both recovery and normal boot. Ported from my dual boot solution for Tab 2 http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2522091 . Just my two cents

How do you manage nandroid create/restore of secondrom then?

Gesendet von meinem Note II mit Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes