Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[FIX] Mac address fix (Until new builds are done)

OP fmkilo

6th February 2013, 01:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Mount Vernon, IA,USA
Thanks Meter: 188
 
288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
How to fix your MAC address

Info
Currently, all of the mac addresses are something starting with f0.
All the Kindle Fire 2s using CM10.1 now have the same exact MAC address. This can cause some issues and overall, it's better to fix it, even if you don't have 2 Kindle's on the same network.

Hashcode is going to include a fix in the next update, but until then, follow this guide!

Instructions
**You can do this from the desktop script, or by downloading the file to your device (I find it best to open the thread on the Kindle and download it directly that way) and using the terminal emulator to run the follow code**

Kindle
  1. Download this
  2. In the Terminal Emulator, type:
  3. Code:
    mount -o remount,rw /system
  4. rm /system/etc/firmware/ti-connectivity/wl1271-nvs.bin
  5. rm /system/bin/fix-mac.sh
  • Copy that file to /system/bin now either using cp /sdcard/Download/fix-mac.sh /system/bin/fix-mac.sh (or similar terminal command) or using your favorite file explorer (I recommend root explorer)
  • Code:
    chmod 755 /system/bin/fix-mac.sh
  • reboot

  • Desktop
    1. Download and run this, seriously, that's it.

    This is simply my guide, main credit for the fix goes to Hashcode. I told him about the MAC addresses needing to be fixed, and I helped with getting it fixed, but he did most of what needed to be done.


    ~Re-Formatted by iytrix
    Last edited by fmkilo; 8th February 2013 at 03:19 AM.
    Reply
    The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to fmkilo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
    7th February 2013, 08:50 AM   |  #2  
    texraid's Avatar
    Junior Member
    Thanks Meter: 8
     
    23 posts
    Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
    That worked great! Now both my kids KF2s have their own unique MAC addresses and are running perfectly without any conflicts! Awesome.

    Thanks a lot fmkilo and Hashcode!
    Reply
    The Following User Says Thank You to texraid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
    7th July 2013, 04:12 PM   |  #3  
    Rugged96's Avatar
    Senior Member
    Flag Nashville
    Thanks Meter: 11
     
    421 posts
    Join Date:Joined: May 2010
    More
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by fmkilo

    How to fix your MAC address

    Info
    Currently, all of the mac addresses are something starting with f0.
    All the Kindle Fire 2s using CM10.1 now have the same exact MAC address. This can cause some issues and overall, it's better to fix it, even if you don't have 2 Kindle's on the same network.

    Hashcode is going to include a fix in the next update, but until then, follow this guide!

    Instructions
    **You can do this from the desktop script, or by downloading the file to your device (I find it best to open the thread on the Kindle and download it directly that way) and using the terminal emulator to run the follow code**

    Kindle

    1. Download this
    2. In the Terminal Emulator, type:
    3. Code:
      mount -o remount,rw /system
    4. rm /system/etc/firmware/ti-connectivity/wl1271-nvs.bin
    5. rm /system/bin/fix-mac.sh
  • Copy that file to /system/bin now either using cp /sdcard/Download/fix-mac.sh /system/bin/fix-mac.sh (or similar terminal command) or using your favorite file explorer (I recommend root explorer)
  • Code:
    chmod 755 /system/bin/fix-mac.sh
  • reboot

  • Desktop
    1. Download and run this, seriously, that's it.

    This is simply my guide, main credit for the fix goes to Hashcode. I told him about the MAC addresses needing to be fixed, and I helped with getting it fixed, but he did most of what needed to be done.


    ~Re-Formatted by iytrix

    do you have the desktop script? link is dead....also would you think this is safe to run on the Kindle Fire 2 (non HD) ?
    Reply
    7th July 2013, 05:00 PM   |  #4  
    mindmajick's Avatar
    Senior Member
    Flag Cape Coral, FL
    Thanks Meter: 2,989
     
    3,696 posts
    Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
    Donate to Me
    More
    There is no reason to run this anymore.


    --
    Sent from my mind to your screen.
    Reply
    7th July 2013, 06:43 PM   |  #5  
    Hashcode's Avatar
    Recognized Developer
    Thanks Meter: 22,680
     
    3,242 posts
    Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
    Donate to Me
    More
    The only way 2 Kfires would have the same MAC address these days is if the boot0 block was copied from 1 over the other. (The boot0 block contains the device specific MAC, serial # etc).

    Sent from my XT926 using Tapatalk 2
    Reply
    The Following User Says Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
    8th July 2013, 03:02 AM   |  #6  
    mindmajick's Avatar
    Senior Member
    Flag Cape Coral, FL
    Thanks Meter: 2,989
     
    3,696 posts
    Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
    Donate to Me
    More
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Hashcode

    The only way 2 Kfires would have the same MAC address these days is if the boot0 block was copied from 1 over the other. (The boot0 block contains the device specific MAC, serial # etc).

    Sent from my XT926 using Tapatalk 2

    Dude. Really wish i could "shadow" you for a week. I've never been able to make the leap from "modder" to dev. I've found so many operate by rote without understanding what is being done.

    Fortunately OR unfortunately for me (not sure which sometimes lol) I cant seem to convince myself to DO anything without some understanding of what it is I'm doing.

    This was my long was of saying "thanks for the knowledge your smallest answers provide"

    --
    Sent from my mind to your screen.
    Reply
    The Following User Says Thank You to mindmajick For This Useful Post: [ View ]
    Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
    Previous Thread Next Thread
    Thread Tools Search this Thread
    Search this Thread:

    Advanced Search
    Display Modes