Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,983 Members 45,432 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROOT]Kindle Fire HD 8.9

Tip us?
 
prokennexusa
Old
#201  
prokennexusa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 948
Posts: 2,637
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Petaluma

 
DONATE TO ME
Tablet [ROOT]Kindle Fire HD 8.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cupidhunters View Post
I was having BlueStack installed and Android SDK installed on my PC .So i have to install both and But have some questions
Would this work without the ANDROID SDK or Should I install it newly ?
When I connected my Kindle to PC the device drivers shows like a Portable device (Image Attached) .So is this thing good or Is there any other drivers for Kindle fire 8.9" other than the amazon given drivers ?
Cupidhunters,

If you use Eclipse like we do, you do not need the SDK. The Android SDK Stands for Software Development Kit, so if you are not building applications (like we do for a living), the SDK is pure wasted space. The only two parts of the SDK that is used by the end user is:

1) adb (Android Debug Bridge)
2) fastboot (Utility used to flash software to the Kindle)

The above applications total about 0.9104MB and the entire SDK is about 411MB - having said this, the end user is wasting almost 410MB of precious drive space. Remember, to keep the PC running smooth, the best practice is to remove the programs that you do not use.

Most of the utilities you will use on your Tablet are already packaged with adb and fastboot, so in the end the Android SDK becomes a problem rather than an asset.

So what do we recommend for you:

1. Remove or Disable the SDK
a) Disable - Navigate to C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools - rename platform-tools to platform-tools-temp
b) Remove - Go into Microsoft Windows Add/Remove Programs - Remove Android SDK

2. Remove BlueStack - into Microsoft Windows Add/Remove Programs - Remove BlueStack (you can reinstall latter)

Also, you have issues with the driver OR you do not have ADB Enabled on the Kindle Fire HD 8.9" - go into More+ Device, Turn On 'Allow Installation of Applications. Then go into More+ Security, Turn On 'Enable ADB'. If all this is OK, then you need to reinstall the Kindle Fire Driver, we have install notes on this page - Section A:

[ROOT][HOW TO] Root the Kindle Fire HD and 2 with Windows - Noob (Simple) Version
Best Regards, Chris Bryant (prokennexusa Team Member)


The Noob Guys, where Simplicity is Key......

Skype: prokennexusa (Online 10am to 2am PST)
Main Line: (707) 774-5923

KFFA Bug Tracking: http://mantis.canonicaldev.com
Pastebin for Info: http://pastebin.canonicaldev.com/

Facebook: prokennexusa@gmail.com
Twitter: #prokennexus

Search XDA for Noob............More to come!
The Following User Says Thank You to prokennexusa For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Cupidhunters
Old
#202  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by prokennexusa View Post
Cupidhunters,

If you use Eclipse like we do, you do not need the SDK. The Android SDK Stands for Software Development Kit, so if you are not building applications (like we do for a living), the SDK is pure wasted space. The only two parts of the SDK that is used by the end user is:

1) adb (Android Debug Bridge)
2) fastboot (Utility used to flash software to the Kindle)

The above applications total about 0.9104MB and the entire SDK is about 411MB - having said this, the end user is wasting almost 410MB of precious drive space. Remember, to keep the PC running smooth, the best practice is to remove the programs that you do not use.

Most of the utilities you will use on your Tablet are already packaged with adb and fastboot, so in the end the Android SDK becomes a problem rather than an asset.

So what do we recommend for you:

1. Remove or Disable the SDK
a) Disable - Navigate to C:\Program Files\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools - rename platform-tools to platform-tools-temp
b) Remove - Go into Microsoft Windows Add/Remove Programs - Remove Android SDK

2. Remove BlueStack - into Microsoft Windows Add/Remove Programs - Remove BlueStack (you can reinstall latter)

Also, you have issues with the driver OR you do not have ADB Enabled on the Kindle Fire HD 8.9" - go into More+ Device, Turn On 'Allow Installation of Applications. Then go into More+ Security, Turn On 'Enable ADB'. If all this is OK, then you need to reinstall the Kindle Fire Driver, we have install notes on this page - Section A:

[ROOT][HOW TO] Root the Kindle Fire HD and 2 with Windows - Noob (Simple) Version
Thanks for this I unistalled all my SDK and Bluestack and Updated my SDK from Amazon site (https://developer.amazon.com/sdk/fire/setup.html#step4) So all worked fine now .When using Bin4ry Tutorial and everything worked fine .
Thanks for concern guys really appretiated
 
prokennexusa
Old
#203  
prokennexusa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 948
Posts: 2,637
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Petaluma

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [HOW TO] Root the Kindle Fire HD and 2 with Windows - Noob (Simple) Version

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cupidhunters View Post
Thanks for this I unistalled all my SDK and Bluestack and Updated my SDK from Amazon site (https://developer.amazon.com/sdk/fire/setup.html#step4) So all worked fine now .When using Bin4ry Tutorial and everything worked fine .
Thanks for concern guys really appretiated
Cupidhunters,

Thank you for taking the time to post an update. We were wondering if you were able to get your Kindle Fire HD 8.9" done. Congrats! Good work Cupidhunters!
Best Regards, Chris Bryant (prokennexusa Team Member)


The Noob Guys, where Simplicity is Key......

Skype: prokennexusa (Online 10am to 2am PST)
Main Line: (707) 774-5923

KFFA Bug Tracking: http://mantis.canonicaldev.com
Pastebin for Info: http://pastebin.canonicaldev.com/

Facebook: prokennexusa@gmail.com
Twitter: #prokennexus

Search XDA for Noob............More to come!
 
Shuhrat
Old
#204  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2011
thank you. i did this and now i cannot download e-books. how can i fix that?
 
Jeremy0
Old
#205  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 175
Join Date: Feb 2012
*****
 
gregpxc
Old
#206  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2011
Thanks! Something easy enough for my friend to do on his own without my help.
 
prokennexusa
Old
#207  
prokennexusa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 948
Posts: 2,637
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Petaluma

 
DONATE TO ME
Exclamation Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide - 4.1.43-Beta - Dated 02/19/2013 at 22:15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shuhrat View Post
thank you. i did this and now i cannot download e-books. how can i fix that?
Shuhrat,

Rooting should have no effect on the E-Books, maybe you use Option 2 in Root Many Android? If yes, this may have removed some of the packages, please download Kindle Fire First Aide and use Option 31 to fix permissions and anomalies in the Android OS.

Worse case, you can use our software to restore the lost items.

Be sure to follow the setup instructions found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2096888

Software Version 4.1.43-Beta The RunMe is Dated 02/19/2013 at 22:15:

Microsoft Windows Kindle Fire First Aide Universal Version 4.1.43-Beta: KFFirstAide.zip

Microsoft Windows Kindle Fire First Aide 32-bit Version 4.1.43-Beta: KFFirstAide32.zip

Microsoft Windows Kindle Fire First Aide 64-bit Version 4.1.43-Beta: KFFirstAide64.zip

Please unzip the above packages to C:\KFFirstAide make sure the RunMe.bat is Dated 02/19/2013 at 22:15. Before running the software, make sure you do not have another folder inside C:\KFFirstAide named KFFirstAide32, KFFirstAide64 or KFFirstAide. After you Unzip the software you should only have one folder named C:\KFFirstAide, this is critical to proper operation.

Make sure you have a Environment Variable in the Microsoft Windows PATH Statement of C:\KFFirstAide otherwise you will see many 'unable to find ???package???.apk' messages.

Finally, make sure you are running the latests version of Java SE Development Kit 7u13
Best Regards, Chris Bryant (prokennexusa Team Member)


The Noob Guys, where Simplicity is Key......

Skype: prokennexusa (Online 10am to 2am PST)
Main Line: (707) 774-5923

KFFA Bug Tracking: http://mantis.canonicaldev.com
Pastebin for Info: http://pastebin.canonicaldev.com/

Facebook: prokennexusa@gmail.com
Twitter: #prokennexus

Search XDA for Noob............More to come!
The Following User Says Thank You to prokennexusa For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lordmuggins
Old
#208  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 51
Join Date: Oct 2010
Can this post either be locked or moved to the relevant section? This is for KFHD 7 *not* 8.9. Please, lets stop the disorder on the board.
 
txdyd
Old
(Last edited by txdyd; 23rd February 2013 at 11:54 AM.) Reason: add more info
#209  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2013
Exclamation upper bar was gone after rooted, how to solve it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by prokennexusa View Post
Cupidhunters,

Thank you for taking the time to post an update. We were wondering if you were able to get your Kindle Fire HD 8.9" done. Congrats! Good work Cupidhunters!
Dear prokennexusa,
I rooted my kindle 8.9 with Bin4ry v18, I selected method 1 and supersu was installed and taking into effect now.
however, now I met strange question: when pull down, the upper bar cannot show up as the machine unrooted before. only in around 10 seconds when kindle is rebooted quickly, the upper bar be available .
I searched everywhere and looked through this thread, while it seems no other guys have the same matter as me.
Could you help to handle it? thanks in advance.
 
cbellk
Old
#210  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2013
So here's my problem. I tried to use the Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v18, but got errors when it had you type in the ch mod steps in the kindle shell, and although I had the super user apk, it wasn't really rooted. I then tried Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v17, and that did not work either. After that I noticed that my kindle has been running slow, and is glitchy when I open some apps. I then opened Root_with_Restore_by_Bin4ry_v18 again and tried to unroot it, but it said that it wasn't rooted. I have no idea what to do now. Honestly, I don't really care a whole lot if it's rooted or not as long as it's not so slow, and runs like it did when I first opened it, lol. Please help.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes