Thread Closed

[Beginners Guide] Rooting the AT&T GalaxyS3 the Easy Way

OP Skunk Ape1

8th February 2013, 03:39 PM   |  #161  
Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Ape1

Have you tried a factory reset. Turn off phone, press volume up, power and home keys simultaneously. Hold them all until you see the Samsung screen then release all of the buttons. Once in recovery do a factory reset. Restart your phone.

I always have this issue when I go back to stock. I get stuck at Samsung logo.

As he said: hold power up and home ... you'll end in Samsung recovery mode...

Difference for me is that if I just reset the phone it didn't help... I always had to clear everything that's avaliable from the menu...

Also those menus are not intuitive you'll have to figure out how to make the selection.

Hope this helps...

SIDENOTE:
As long as you're on TW based rom I do a nandroid... move nandroid to PC... load stock reset everything... once I'm up root and copy nandroid back from PC... now all you gotta do is restore nandoird DATA ONLY.

All apps and all settings are back like nothing happened.

In matter of fact I use this trick every time I move between different TW based roms. NANDROID... wipe... flash... restore NANDROID DATA ONLY... reboot... presto... everything is back...

This is so reliable for me that I don't even bother using TI backup any more.

Hope this helps.
10th February 2013, 12:43 PM   |  #162  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Thanks, great writeup.
11th February 2013, 02:01 AM   |  #163  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
OMFG!! I DID IT!!

thanks, SkunkApe... the writeup was a little confusing (especially ON the thread), but the .txt file in the package was good. Forget the .pdf, it doesn't even look like it belongs with this kit.

but it went cleanly, and i'm now properly rooted, on Jelly Bean, no less.

Again, thank you SkunkApe... <3
11th February 2013, 06:14 PM   |  #164  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Thumbs up
Thanks.
18th February 2013, 12:10 AM   |  #165  
xXFl4sh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Does this work with Rogers Galaxy S3 SGH-I747M and on jelly bean 4.1.1?
18th February 2013, 12:29 AM   |  #166  
Skunk Ape1's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Themer
Flag Killeen
Thanks Meter: 4,990
 
3,438 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
Re: [Beginners Guide] Rooting the AT&T GalaxyS3 the Easy Way
Quote:
Originally Posted by xXFl4sh

Does this work with Rogers Galaxy S3 SGH-I747M and on jelly bean 4.1.1?

I have been told it does...
The Following User Says Thank You to Skunk Ape1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2013, 01:44 AM   |  #167  
xXFl4sh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Ape1

I have been told it does...

I only saw 2 or 3 people using this method for Rogers Galaxy S3..
because the files are mainly for ATT not for Rogers. Don't want to take the risk to try this method.
Using search didn't really help.. It only came for SGH-I747
18th February 2013, 07:08 AM   |  #168  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Question
I followed the instructions making sure I have the correct drivers on my PC. My PC recognises the G3 when not in download mode but when in downlaod mode I can't navigate to the G3. Odin shows it is connected via a 0:[COM4]. Opening up the PDA file navigator box doesn't allow me to see the G3.

Any ideas? I've tried connecting the cable, starting Odin going to download mode in many different combinations. Still no joy.

Cheers

GG
18th February 2013, 07:11 AM   |  #169  
Skunk Ape1's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor / Recognized Themer
Flag Killeen
Thanks Meter: 4,990
 
3,438 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Granite-Granny

I followed the instructions making sure I have the correct drivers on my PC. My PC recognises the G3 when not in download mode but when in downlaod mode I can't navigate to the G3. Odin shows it is connected via a 0:[COM4]. Opening up the PDA file navigator box doesn't allow me to see the G3.

Any ideas? I've tried connecting the cable, starting Odin going to download mode in many different combinations. Still no joy.

Cheers

GG

You are not supposed to be navigating to the phone. The file you flash in odin (recovery.zip) should be on your computer. Read the directions again...
18th February 2013, 07:18 AM   |  #170  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Red face
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Ape1

You are not supposed to be navigating to the phone. The file you flash in odin (recovery.zip) should be on your computer. Read the directions again...

Doh! i just figured that out. Thanks, Maybe it will help someone else as dumb as me

BTW - it worked. Thanks. Now to figure out this free tethering. I'm sick of hotels charging me $20 for a nights internet usage when I have a data plan on my phone.
Last edited by Granite-Granny; 18th February 2013 at 07:27 AM.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S III General by ThreadRank