Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,708 Members 52,446 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Beginners Guide] Rooting the AT&T GalaxyS3 the Easy Way

Tip us?
 
duke4c
Old
#161  
Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 69
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Ape1 View Post
Have you tried a factory reset. Turn off phone, press volume up, power and home keys simultaneously. Hold them all until you see the Samsung screen then release all of the buttons. Once in recovery do a factory reset. Restart your phone.
I always have this issue when I go back to stock. I get stuck at Samsung logo.

As he said: hold power up and home ... you'll end in Samsung recovery mode...

Difference for me is that if I just reset the phone it didn't help... I always had to clear everything that's avaliable from the menu...

Also those menus are not intuitive you'll have to figure out how to make the selection.

Hope this helps...

SIDENOTE:
As long as you're on TW based rom I do a nandroid... move nandroid to PC... load stock reset everything... once I'm up root and copy nandroid back from PC... now all you gotta do is restore nandoird DATA ONLY.

All apps and all settings are back like nothing happened.

In matter of fact I use this trick every time I move between different TW based roms. NANDROID... wipe... flash... restore NANDROID DATA ONLY... reboot... presto... everything is back...

This is so reliable for me that I don't even bother using TI backup any more.

Hope this helps.
 
lanman1
Old
#162  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Thanks, great writeup.
 
Tex Arcana
Old
#163  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 23
Join Date: Aug 2009
OMFG!! I DID IT!!

thanks, SkunkApe... the writeup was a little confusing (especially ON the thread), but the .txt file in the package was good. Forget the .pdf, it doesn't even look like it belongs with this kit.

but it went cleanly, and i'm now properly rooted, on Jelly Bean, no less.

Again, thank you SkunkApe... <3
 
Shroomgoo
Old
#164  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2012
Thanks.
 
xXFl4sh
Old
#165  
xXFl4sh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 186
Join Date: Nov 2012
Does this work with Rogers Galaxy S3 SGH-I747M and on jelly bean 4.1.1?
 
Skunk Ape1
Old
#166  
Skunk Ape1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Themer - OP
Thanks Meter 4803
Posts: 3,397
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Killeen

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Beginners Guide] Rooting the AT&T GalaxyS3 the Easy Way

Quote:
Originally Posted by xXFl4sh View Post
Does this work with Rogers Galaxy S3 SGH-I747M and on jelly bean 4.1.1?
I have been told it does...

The Following User Says Thank You to Skunk Ape1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xXFl4sh
Old
#167  
xXFl4sh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 186
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Ape1 View Post
I have been told it does...
I only saw 2 or 3 people using this method for Rogers Galaxy S3..
because the files are mainly for ATT not for Rogers. Don't want to take the risk to try this method.
Using search didn't really help.. It only came for SGH-I747
 
Granite-Granny
Old
#168  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2013
I followed the instructions making sure I have the correct drivers on my PC. My PC recognises the G3 when not in download mode but when in downlaod mode I can't navigate to the G3. Odin shows it is connected via a 0:[COM4]. Opening up the PDA file navigator box doesn't allow me to see the G3.

Any ideas? I've tried connecting the cable, starting Odin going to download mode in many different combinations. Still no joy.

Cheers

GG
 
Skunk Ape1
Old
#169  
Skunk Ape1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Themer - OP
Thanks Meter 4803
Posts: 3,397
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Killeen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Granite-Granny View Post
I followed the instructions making sure I have the correct drivers on my PC. My PC recognises the G3 when not in download mode but when in downlaod mode I can't navigate to the G3. Odin shows it is connected via a 0:[COM4]. Opening up the PDA file navigator box doesn't allow me to see the G3.

Any ideas? I've tried connecting the cable, starting Odin going to download mode in many different combinations. Still no joy.

Cheers

GG
You are not supposed to be navigating to the phone. The file you flash in odin (recovery.zip) should be on your computer. Read the directions again...

 
Granite-Granny
Old
(Last edited by Granite-Granny; 18th February 2013 at 07:27 AM.)
#170  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Ape1 View Post
You are not supposed to be navigating to the phone. The file you flash in odin (recovery.zip) should be on your computer. Read the directions again...
Doh! i just figured that out. Thanks, Maybe it will help someone else as dumb as me

BTW - it worked. Thanks. Now to figure out this free tethering. I'm sick of hotels charging me $20 for a nights internet usage when I have a data plan on my phone.

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes