Post Reply

[TOOL] ROOT for Razr HD - Verizon XT925/XT926

OP TruEastSydeBoi

25th January 2013, 03:51 AM   |  #71  
GoClifGo05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maryland
Thanks Meter: 365
 
1,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Re: ROOT for Razr HD
I prefer supersu.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
29th January 2013, 01:35 AM   |  #72  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Question
Sorry to be 'that guy', but I keep getting "exploit failed".
This is on a Droid Razr Maxx HD that I just got, brand new, from Best Buy this past weekend (they finally replaced my POS Bionic with a real Android phone after about the fourth or fifth Bionic replacement).

Anyway, I've rooted at least three different Android devices before, and I do generally understand what's supposed to go on here, but it's just not working this time around.

Does anyone have any idea of what kinds of glitches might be keeping it from working?

p.s. It's still on ICS. The phone told me about having downloaded the JB update, but I keep telling it to wait till later so that I can root it first.
29th January 2013, 01:38 AM   |  #73  
GoClifGo05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maryland
Thanks Meter: 365
 
1,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Re: [TOOL] ROOT for Razr HD - Verizon XT925/XT926
USB debugging enabled? Did you successfully enable the bug report? Maybe try another USB port or the 1.10 utility.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
29th January 2013, 03:45 AM   |  #74  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoClifGo05

USB debugging enabled? Did you successfully enable the bug report? Maybe try another USB port or the 1.10 utility.

USB debugging = yes

bug report = Well, I'm not sure how I'd know. I pressed the buttons like it said. I heard an initial vibe, and then another one a few seconds later.

different USB port = Not sure why, but I will try that, just for the heck of it

the 1.10 utility = Sorry. I must have skipped over something. What's that?

Other info...
Before I posted above, I read through the thread and looked for other places where people talked about the "exploit failed" message. In that, I noticed that one of them said that they removed both BusyBox and Superuser from theirs and then retried it. Well, since the apps on this device are restored from the App Store from what I had on my previous Android, it did indeed have both. I removed them both and tried it again though, and it still didn't work, and that's when I came here to post, asking for help.

The reason I'm posting that is just to make the point that there may be other things involved, and if anyone has anything else that may be in there, I'm open to hearing about it.

Here I go to try it in a different USB port, and I'll report back...

---------- Post added at 08:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:11 PM ----------

OK, I tried it again, and same results.
So...

different USB port = no change. Still get the "exploit failed" message

Also...

bug report = Well, I'm not sure how I'd know. I pressed the buttons like it said. I heard an initial vibe, and then another one a few seconds later.

the 1.10 utility = Sorry. I must have skipped over something. What's that?
29th January 2013, 05:21 AM   |  #75  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Major, positive UPDATE:

I looked for, found and used the 1.10 utility, and used option 2 in there (supposedly the same root trick), and this time, it worked (So, I'm rooted now, and on my way to Voodoo...).



Here's some interesting detail from the process this time around...

Every other time, when I tried it with four different downloads, it got this far...
[*] Please trigger a bugreport on your phone by pressing[*] Volume Up + Power simultaneously. If successful, your device[*] will vibrate. Make sure this vibration is distinct from the[*] vibration that occurs when you turn the volume all the way[*] down. Press enter once you have successfully triggered a[*] bugreport.
Press any key to continue . . .

and then I pressed the buttons like it said to do, but by that time, it had already gone on to where it says
[*] Getting root...[*] This may take a minute or two.

This time though (with the 1.10 utility), when it said this...
[*] Please trigger a bugreport on your phone by pressing[*] Volume Up + Power simultaneously. If successful, your device[*] will vibrate. Make sure this vibration is distinct from the[*] vibration that occurs when you turn the volume all the way[*] down. Press enter once you have successfully triggered a[*] bugreport.
Press any key to continue . . .

...I did the buttons and THEN it moved on.
So, clearly, there was something goofy with the other scripts or something.

Any idea?
12th February 2013, 03:33 AM   |  #76  
Junior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 2
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
hi guys,
I have one razr hd international bought in France from SFR, unlocked
I downgraded my phone with RSD lite 6.15 and installed the original ICS firmware
witch I edited the .xml file (delleting getvar issue) then flashed and it went smooth,
from ICS I run droid razr hd utility 1.10 and root, then install voodoo rootkeeper and temp-unroot,
then i flash cwm recovery v6.0.1.5 for security and download OTA JB,
then at the start of cwm recovery it sais:

CWM-based Recovery v6.0.1.5
Finding update package...
Opening update package...
Veryfing update package...
E: failed to verify whole-file signature

then it asked me what to do: i press re-verify

it says:
Installing update...
assert failed: getprop("ro.build.product")
== "vanquish_u" | | getprop("ro.build.product")
== "vanquish_u" | | getprop("ro.build.product")
== "vanquish_u" | | getprop("ro.build.product")
== "vanquish_u" | |
E: Error in /cache/Blur_Version.7.61.110110.xt925.Vodafone.en.FR.zip
(status 7)
Installation aborted.

So what I can do now is reflash ICS and keep it rooted like that, waiting some GOD to come and save me from ICS and upgrade it to JB.
12th February 2013, 04:45 AM   |  #77  
GoClifGo05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maryland
Thanks Meter: 365
 
1,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Re: [TOOL] ROOT for Razr HD - Verizon XT925/XT926
You can't install a custom recovery (cwm) and then ota to JB. It has to be completely stock.


Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to GoClifGo05 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th February 2013, 08:02 PM   |  #78  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
As soon as my xt925 arrived I updated to JB without thinking about root. Now I need root for some apps and I wanna know if is possible to root without downgrading to ICS?
Thanks
27th February 2013, 04:23 AM   |  #79  
GoClifGo05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maryland
Thanks Meter: 365
 
1,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Re: [TOOL] ROOT for Razr HD - Verizon XT925/XT926
If your boot loader is unlocked then yes.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=37198865

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
4th March 2013, 09:00 AM   |  #80  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
i just found how to get the bugreport to work... but i keep getting the exploit failed message... just need to delete a file that says bug2go with 0kb in the root of the sd card, then hit vol up + power and i get the bugreport without problems.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
droid razr hd, maxx, motorola, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in RAZR HD Original Android Development by ThreadRank