5,605,373 Members 41,341 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Does anyone have a CWM Flashable version of the T999VVLDLL1 Jelly Bean Modem?

Tip us?
 
MegaMan X
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 80
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Question Does anyone have a CWM Flashable version of the T999VVLDLL1 Jelly Bean Modem?

As you all know, the T999V variants and T999 can not flash the radio/modem files interchangeably between the two.

As such, does anyone have a copy of the Modem? I'm currently running an JB Rom with an ICS Modem and getting some really sad speeds. I checked the Sticky here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1880987

and it is currently not posted.


If anyone is using this Modem, I believe you could follow the steps in this guide to a certain extent:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9#post27584839

Thanks in advance to all that reply!
The Following User Says Thank You to MegaMan X For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MegaMan X
Old
(Last edited by MegaMan X; 14th January 2013 at 07:32 PM.)
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 80
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles
after further googling, I think all I need is some kind soul to extract the modem.bin from their phones. Afterwards, I think I have enough tech savvy to repackage the Modem.bin into a CWM ZIP file for public consumption.

Please follow the steps using either ADB or Terminal on your phone to extract the modem and then post it here. Thank you!


Requirements:

1. CWM Recovery & root (Thanks Chainfire!)
2. ADB setup and know how to use it! or Terminal Emulator app
3. Samsung KIES drivers installed
4. Power on device, Enable USB debugging

**If you don’t how to do above, then XDA forum search and Google is your friend**

Steps:

1. Dump your current modem onto your internal sdcard

# Run Terminal Emulator app and input steps b -> e



OR

# Connect USB to PC & run PC Command Prompt (CMD) & input steps a -> e

a) adb shell
b) su
c) dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p7 of=/sdcard/modem.bin bs=4096
d) exit
e) exit

The Following User Says Thank You to MegaMan X For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MegaMan X
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 80
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Nobody sent me anything, so I extracted the modem.bin file from a root66 kies odin file:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1771687

then I created this zip file using information from this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1880987

and now...

here's the modem:

https://anonfiles.com/file/bb0622d45...0bc18ab8802ef5

Cheers!
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to MegaMan X For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Idyar
Old
#4  
Idyar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 390
Posts: 564
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaMan X View Post
Nobody sent me anything, so I extracted the modem.bin file from a root66 kies odin file:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1771687

then I created this zip file using information from this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1880987

and now...

here's the modem:

https://anonfiles.com/file/bb0622d45...0bc18ab8802ef5

Cheers!
Just wanted to say thanks for doing this. I offered a month ago to do this for the thread if someone could help me figure out how to export the modem and I see you just sat down and figured it out. Thanks for the taking the time to do this, Support Canada! T999V forever!
Dandroid - Ultra Fast Daily Driver TW Rom with AOSP theme. T-MO/Wind/Mobi/Videotron T999(V) + AT&T/Bell/Rogers/Telus I747(M)
 
DgtHorse
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 43
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Re: Does anyone have a CWM Flashable version of the T999VVLDLL1 Jelly Bean Modem?

How does this compare to VLLH2 in terms of battery life and performance?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
 
mana4.com
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 132
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DgtHorse View Post
How does this compare to VLLH2 in terms of battery life and performance?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
For me it's the same as the previous version. Maybe better signal if you are far from the tower.
 
TeutonicWolf
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 109
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Toronto
Anyone know why does the updater script and radio file still say VLLH2 for the baseband file name? I'm assuming that it is just a left-over from reusing the packaging from the previous baseband zip.

Has anyone tried this and confirmed that it is truly VLDLL1 via the About/Phone menu?

File sizes are different -- new version is quite a bit smaller...so they are not identical...
 
ronnyhawks
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 210
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St. Paul
I'm getting mixed inputs here. I have a t999 T-Mobile Galaxy S III and every time I update my Cyanogenmod ROM (which I've been doing for years) everything goes smooth but when the device boots up, it says "unknown" for the baseband version. If I flash the UVDMD5 radio it goes back to normal. But every single time I flash a new nightly this happens. Just wondering if this is a fix for that or if there I no fix. I rooted with the stock root injected .tar file just like I've done 3 separate times. This is the only one of my 3 S3's that has done this. I confirmed that it was NOT a t999L model before anything. Is there a possibility that this device could be a non t999 without saying it is? Or is it possible that this is a t999L model without showing that it is? I'm very lost here. Nobody seems to have the same issue as me. I've searched through hundreds of thread pages to no avail. Help please somebody?
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#9  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4016
Posts: 5,841
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
I've no idea why it would do that. Sounds like some sort of Rom issue maybe? If it was anything but a T999, the md5 modem would not work btw. But I've never heard of thus before, so it could be some sort of unknown corruption somewhere in another partition. Purely a guess on that though.
If you Odin back to the LJA, or any other build does it still do this? Does it happen when you flash any Rom? Or just cm? If it's only cm, then I'd ask in the Rom thread. What about other kinds of flashes, such as kernels, recoveries and mods?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...