Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[READ] How to get your GPS back! (No GPS showing/GPS giving general location)

OP egyptshun

13th February 2013, 04:05 AM   |  #51  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by markandmyia

You can download the app "gps status" from the play store (free) and you can verify your signal with that.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

gps status work perfect i locked some sat so my rom work perfect thanks
20th February 2013, 04:05 PM   |  #52  
xhozt's Avatar
Senior Member
dallaS
Thanks Meter: 21
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Just a monkey wrench to throw in here.. what if this happens on a NEVER rooted stock JB phone ... any ideas to the cause ?
21st February 2013, 04:47 AM   |  #53  
dsixda's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 5,048
 
9,577 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Earlier today my GPS had stopped working (i.e. no GPS icon, no satellites shown) after flashing the Task360 AOKP 4.2.2 ROM. After pulling my hair out all day, I fixed it by flashing Bell Canada's ICS ROM and then inputting the dialer code *2767*3855#. I tested it by enabling GPS and running Google Maps.

Just remember guys, as it says in Step 1-3 of post #1, use an *ICS* stock firmware, not Jelly Bean. Otherwise the dialer code will generate an error and your GPS won't get fixed this way!

Then I flashed my stock Jelly Bean firmware from Rogers and all was well again with my GPS in JB. I think I'll stick to TouchWiz from now on....

Here's a link to a quick download to the Bell ICS ROM:
http://filecloud.io/74kmysqr

EDIT: Credit should go to this post from Nov. 8th 2012 (user TheLovableDoodleBear). I'm unable to thank the post for some reason.
Last edited by dsixda; 21st February 2013 at 05:08 AM.
22nd February 2013, 03:13 AM   |  #54  
Bruce Lee's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 372
 
2,099 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
@egyptshun

I came across and interesting thing while having a gps disappearing issue again. This was my second issue with GPS and I posted my first one earlier in the thread.

So this worked when I did it. I didn't follow your guide. I hope you can add this to the OP to help others out.

When I lost gps on flashing a ROM, I tried wiping everything and flashing my restore again and no gps in my restore.

Here is what worked. I flashed a different ROM and of course the GPS didnt work with no symbol. I then did a factory reset in settings. After a factory reset it worked. I then flash my restore of a saved ROM that I backed up I tried before and I still had my working GPS.

Here is what I think happened and i think is a new way or possible way to fix GPS.

If you had the gps symbol before in a latest stored restore, you can use it to to help fix GPS on the go.

Flash a new rom to see if GPS is working....

If not, factory reset from in settings.

Then you can reflash your restore.

I hope this make sense in some way. I know the directions in the op say to wipe the phone completely so you lose a recovery and root. They way I proposed keeps your root and recovery.
Last edited by Bruce Lee; 22nd February 2013 at 03:15 AM. Reason: spelling
22nd February 2013, 03:45 AM   |  #55  
egyptshun's Avatar
OP Recognized Themer
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 271
 
646 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
Tbh I have tried that and it is not a guaranteed method, I had about 0-10% success rate and it didn't last long when it did so I would have put that up there but I think it is too easy for people to mess up and get wrong then flame on here for posting a low success rate thing that isn't quick. People like flaming. flame. underwear. flaming underwear . so yeah, if they want its not a big thread to look through but I don't like when people drop their coffee because of something I wrote.
The Following User Says Thank You to egyptshun For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2013, 04:37 AM   |  #56  
Bruce Lee's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 372
 
2,099 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Re: [READ] How to get your GPS back! (No GPS showing/GPS giving general location)
Quote:
Originally Posted by egyptshun

Tbh I have tried that and it is not a guaranteed method, I had about 0-10% success rate and it didn't last long when it did so I would have put that up there but I think it is too easy for people to mess up and get wrong then flame on here for posting a low success rate thing that isn't quick. People like flaming. flame. underwear. flaming underwear . so yeah, if they want its not a big thread to look through but I don't like when people drop their coffee because of something I wrote.

Oh I didn't know you had already tried that. Good to know. If you think it's necessary I will edit the post if you would like so no one gets confused. Thanks for getting back to me with input.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
24th February 2013, 11:00 PM   |  #57  
GabrielOspina's Avatar
Member
Flag Orlando Florida
Thanks Meter: 15
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
IT WORKS
after weeks of trying to get it fixed....last stop was xda forums and it worked

[If GPS is still flashing but no lock]
1. If steps1-11 does not work for you it is highly recommended to flash Galaxy S III Test 3 (created by crypted)
2. Factory reset trough settings and repeat steps 1-3 if not gps icon or steps 4-11 if gps icon flashes
3. profit

Try that out

TY dude
26th February 2013, 11:28 PM   |  #58  
kangi26's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 1,438
 
3,767 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Just my own personal observations.
It doesnt seem to happen to me while "running" a ROM, it mainly happens while flashing OR just after flashing anew ROM(it hasn't mattered which ROM). I did notice that(I just lost the symbol again ) I did a factory reset, and upgraded ROM's yesterday, and I noticed that when it was restoring My Playstore Apps, the battery got REALLY hot. I've noticed this on 3 or 4 different occasions after upgrading, the battery got hotter-n-hell, and the GPS symbol was later gone. Now, I dont use the GPS a whole lot, so I dont see it's gone right away, but those are just what I'm thinking.

Just re-flashed back to stock LEM, did your magic trick to get GPS back and have updated to a custom ROM, so we'll see what happens next
27th February 2013, 04:38 PM   |  #59  
Account currently disabled
Flag Mississippi
Thanks Meter: 3,011
 
9,432 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kangi26

Just my own personal observations.
It doesnt seem to happen to me while "running" a ROM, it mainly happens while flashing OR just after flashing anew ROM(it hasn't mattered which ROM). I did notice that(I just lost the symbol again ) I did a factory reset, and upgraded ROM's yesterday, and I noticed that when it was restoring My Playstore Apps, the battery got REALLY hot. I've noticed this on 3 or 4 different occasions after upgrading, the battery got hotter-n-hell, and the GPS symbol was later gone. Now, I dont use the GPS a whole lot, so I dont see it's gone right away, but those are just what I'm thinking.

Just re-flashed back to stock LEM, did your magic trick to get GPS back and have updated to a custom ROM, so we'll see what happens next

FasterFix and GPS Test are what I use... FasterFix to set it to North America server, and GPS Test to clear and update the A-GPS data, and with GPS Test open, enable GPS... It locks in seconds indoors to 10+ satellites... Part of my setup routine...
Last edited by Quasimodem; 27th February 2013 at 04:45 PM.
28th February 2013, 01:45 AM   |  #60  
droidmakespwn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag McGuire AFB
Thanks Meter: 131
 
648 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Thanks so much. I just bought a GS3 for my wife off swappa and I'm pretty sure the guy knew about the phone having the problem because he sold it to me at a great deal. Sent a couple bucks your way because you saved me from ripping my hair out. Thanks again!

The Following User Says Thank You to droidmakespwn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes