Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,427 Members 42,354 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW TO] Unlock bootloader, Root, Flash Custom ROM, Flash Kernel

Tip us?
 
tobbiniss
Old
#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2013
I don't seem to be able to return to stock...

I unlocked, flashed a new recovery, then flashed a costum ROM (tried cm10,modaco,trickdroid etc.) but I only got stuck on boot screen.
So, I figured I would start from scratch.

I relocked it and downloaded a RUU.
Problem is that the RUU wont install. It keeps getting the signature verification error.

I have cid htc_y13.

Bootloader says:
VLE PVT SHIP S-ON RL
Hboot 2.15.0000

The RUU was:
OTA_Ville_U_JB_45_S_HTC_Europe_3.16.401.8_1.11.50. 05.28_10.27.50.08L_release_301852xf01hejl416oev96. zip

I have searched this problem for a while now but havent come to a solution.
 
Zonium
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 103
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Re: [HOW TO] Unlock bootloader, Root, Flash Custom ROM, Flash Kernel

Quote:
Originally Posted by tobbiniss View Post
I don't seem to be able to return to stock...

I unlocked, flashed a new recovery, then flashed a costum ROM (tried cm10,modaco,trickdroid etc.) but I only got stuck on boot screen.
So, I figured I would start from scratch.

I relocked it and downloaded a RUU.
Problem is that the RUU wont install. It keeps getting the signature verification error.

I have cid htc_y13.

Bootloader says:
VLE PVT SHIP S-ON RL
Hboot 2.15.0000

The RUU was:
OTA_Ville_U_JB_45_S_HTC_Europe_3.16.401.8_1.11.50. 05.28_10.27.50.08L_release_301852xf01hejl416oev96. zip

I have searched this problem for a while now but havent come to a solution.
Do you flashed boot.img via fastboot when you installed custom rom?

Sent from my One S
 
tobbiniss
Old
#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default ouch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonium View Post
Do you flashed boot.img via fastboot when you installed custom rom?

Sent from my One S
OK, first off I wanna thank you for that, second I wanna hit myself in the head.
I didnt flash boot.img. I read somewhere that you didnt have to bother with that in twrp.

I have now booted the boot.img, and voila, it starts ut perfectly.

Obviosly wasnt a good idea to decide to learn how to root at 02:00..

Thank you again and goodnight!
 
Mercado_Negro
Old
#24  
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,538
Posts: 2,098
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Caracas
Thank you very much for this AIO toolkit, it worked flawlessly on my end (VilleC2).

I've seen this asked before but I still don't understand how to do it exactly. Now that my device is rooted, how do I install a new version of my system (e.g., JB), via OTA? My carrier has not released an update yet but I just want to know how to proceed in this case.

As far as I've read, I'll just have to relock the bootloader (I'll use the AIO Toolkit option), flash the stock recovery (how?), update then unlock the bootloaded again and flash TWRP again. Is this correct?
 
Mercado_Negro
Old
#25  
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,538
Posts: 2,098
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Caracas
@hasoon2000

When you say:

Quote:
Go to Backup and back up your boot and system partition. Always have a back up before you flash or do anything
That backup is a Nandroid, correct?

Sorry if this is too obvious, I'm pretty new to this.

Thanks in advance...

Cheers,
David
 
skinybones
Old
#26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default Waiting for device

After i clicked on the flash recovery for the S4 and it loads me into the fastboot screen in the command prompt it says waiting for device what can i do? Also im on windows 8 so i dont know if that has anything to do with it
 
Jnanadarshan
Old
#27  
Jnanadarshan's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 73
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cuttack
Default T-Mobile HTC One S RUU

Can I get the HTC ONE S fro T-Mobile original RUU. I'm trying to install it via OTA but its failing probably because I have rooted my Phone.
 
WhiTeRhiNo
Old
#28  
WhiTeRhiNo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 447
Posts: 312
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: cincinnati

 
DONATE TO ME
Great noob proof tutorial. Thnx
 
Ddotlan
Old
#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Thank you very much for this AIO toolkit, it worked flawlessly on my end (VilleC2).

I've seen this asked before but I still don't understand how to do it exactly. Now that my device is rooted, how do I install a new version of my system (e.g., JB), via OTA? My carrier has not released an update yet but I just want to know how to proceed in this case.

As far as I've read, I'll just have to relock the bootloader (I'll use the AIO Toolkit option), flash the stock recovery (how?), update then unlock the bootloaded again and flash TWRP again. Is this correct?
Hello, my htc one s villec2, run jelly bean. So, i want root my htc, what do we do? Will we sucess when i do follow thread.?
I am sorry, my english is bed. Thanks
 
Mercado_Negro
Old
(Last edited by Mercado_Negro; 19th February 2013 at 12:10 PM.)
#30  
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,538
Posts: 2,098
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Caracas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ddotlan View Post
Hello, my htc one s villec2, run jelly bean. So, i want root my htc, what do we do? Will we sucess when i do follow thread.?
I am sorry, my english is bed. Thanks
Yes, just follow the instructions on the OT. It doesn't matter if you have ICS or JB, rooting does not depend on that.

By the way, I found the answers to my own questions

The Following User Says Thank You to Mercado_Negro For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes