Post Reply

Returning to stock question?

13th February 2013, 01:23 AM   |  #1  
flipq88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 606
 
1,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
So I'm getting a warranty exchange and need to get back to stock. Since I don't have access to a laptop or anything I'd figured I'd flash one of the stock unrooted roms. The only thing is will be to get back the stock recovery. My question is if I flash an ics stock rom, then to the update from the phone to jb, will that install the stock recovery? I think i read that it does but I just want to double check. Thanks

Sent from Flip's S3
13th February 2013, 01:48 AM   |  #2  
Da Kine's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Santa Rosa, Ca
Thanks Meter: 1,432
 
2,207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Re: Returning to stock question?
Quote:
Originally Posted by elflip88

So I'm getting a warranty exchange and need to get back to stock. Since I don't have access to a laptop or anything I'd figured I'd flash one of the stock unrooted roms. The only thing is will be to get back the stock recovery. My question is if I flash an ics stock rom, then to the update from the phone to jb, will that install the stock recovery? I think i read that it does but I just want to double check. Thanks

Sent from Flip's S3

I think you'll just lose root and still have the custom recovery but in not 100% sure.

Also don't forget to use the triangle away app to reset the flash count.

|When Emotion Goes Up, Logic Goes Down|
The Following User Says Thank You to Da Kine For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 06:37 AM   |  #3  
x1tyme's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 206
 
1,127 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Re: Returning to stock question?
Quote:
Originally Posted by elflip88

So I'm getting a warranty exchange and need to get back to stock. Since I don't have access to a laptop or anything I'd figured I'd flash one of the stock unrooted roms. The only thing is will be to get back the stock recovery. My question is if I flash an ics stock rom, then to the update from the phone to jb, will that install the stock recovery? I think i read that it does but I just want to double check. Thanks

Sent from Flip's S3

You need access to computer and odin to flash stock.tar. reflash stock backup you still have custom recovery. Also double check how many counter you have.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to x1tyme For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 06:57 AM   |  #4  
Thetenthdr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 247
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Re: Returning to stock question?
If you try flashing stock without Odin not only will you still have a custom recovery, you will still have a flash count. The only way to accomplish what you need is via PC and Odin.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Thetenthdr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 09:22 AM   |  #5  
flipq88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 606
 
1,514 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Re: Returning to stock question?
Damn I don't have a laptop. I remember having a zip file for my s2 that was an unrooted stock rom and installed the stock recovery but I haven't seen anything like that for the s3

Sent from Flip's S3
13th February 2013, 09:46 AM   |  #6  
Thetenthdr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 247
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Re: Returning to stock question?
I'm afraid not. The thing is, even if there was it would be pointless because booting to a custom recovery to flash the stock zip would trigger the flash counter.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
13th February 2013, 08:11 PM   |  #7  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator & RC/RT Committees - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron
Flag Immersed in Dark Matter
Thanks Meter: 9,091
 
6,763 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
What about Mobile Odin? Not sure if it trips the counter or not though.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank