Post Reply

[GUIDE] How to Flash Custom Binaries Without Ever Incrementing the Flash Counter!!

OP creepyncrawly

13th February 2013, 12:29 PM   |  #531  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,039
 
2,484 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexv13

Hi,

I am also about to install a new kernel for the first time on stock 4.0.4 using MobileOdin and your advice is really helpful. I noticed that the latest Siyah is 7.8.9 (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2110542). I am planning to take one step at a time and replace the kernel first, use it with the stock 4.0.4 for a while, then install different ROM (but keep the kernel). Will that work?

Thanks again.

Yes, and using the latest kernel would be my choice.
The Following User Says Thank You to creepyncrawly For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th March 2013, 05:58 AM   |  #532  
laofan's Avatar
Senior Member
Ann Arbor
Thanks Meter: 68
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by creepyncrawly

Yes, and using the latest kernel would be my choice.

could you also revise the first post about " only flash the GB kernel"?. I think for stock ICS, flash GB kernel suggested in the post would brick the phone.

Thank you for your work!!
27th April 2013, 08:36 PM   |  #533  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
So, I've got a quick question here. I bought another Samsung SGH-i777, the exact same one. I rooted it the exact same way as the first, and flashed the exact same Custom ROM to it. I have a full "Titanium Backup" backup of the first one. Can I safely restore the apps + system data to the second phone? Or just the apps?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2
27th April 2013, 08:44 PM   |  #534  
studacris's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nashville, TN
Thanks Meter: 4,068
 
5,347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Apps and their data should be ok.
You can chance restoring system data...
if it makes it unstable just wipe and reflash the rom then only restore apps.
The Following User Says Thank You to studacris For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2013, 10:56 PM   |  #535  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
But they both have the same kernel, modem, and ROM?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2
29th April 2013, 06:26 PM   |  #536  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Or maybe, I can just make a NAND backup of the first phone, and restore it to the second, correct? Will the NAND backup include all the user apps?

Sent from my SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2
29th April 2013, 08:52 PM   |  #537  
studacris's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nashville, TN
Thanks Meter: 4,068
 
5,347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Dude... I said try titanium backup.
Only if it gives you instability issues afterwards try just app data.

Ionno why you needed follow up questions before even trying?
The Following User Says Thank You to studacris For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2013, 06:29 PM   |  #538  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Thanks for the great guide. I had bricked my phone by flashing a wrong kernel. I followed your instructions and reverted to stock ROM 2.3.4. I found the wifi not working. I followed your instructions to the letter upto step 4, and loaded shostock 3.02, however wifi is still not working. I have seen other threads on xda regarding this, however none had a conclusive solution. Any suggestions??
17th June 2013, 11:18 PM   |  #539  
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,039
 
2,484 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjitvp

Thanks for the great guide. I had bricked my phone by flashing a wrong kernel. I followed your instructions and reverted to stock ROM 2.3.4. I found the wifi not working. I followed your instructions to the letter upto step 4, and loaded shostock 3.02, however wifi is still not working. I have seen other threads on xda regarding this, however none had a conclusive solution. Any suggestions??

Boot into recovery and perform a wipe data/factory reset.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to creepyncrawly For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2013, 04:51 PM   |  #540  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Done that.....same problem
Quote:
Originally Posted by creepyncrawly

Boot into recovery and perform a wipe data/factory reset.

Did that a few times, the phone just wont accept the password, keeps saying authentication error and asks for password again. Had done a backup, so returned to ics, with siyah kernel, and the wifi works fine, but the home button doesnt work which is kind of irritating. Thats why I wanted shostock. tried reloading the shostock, and did the wipe/reset, no joy. any more suggestions??

edit to last.... removed the wep security, and its connecting as long as theres no authentication required....wondering why doesn work on wep
Last edited by ranjitvp; 19th June 2013 at 05:51 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes