MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

Help with format

12th February 2013, 08:50 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kingston, ON
Thanks Meter: 23
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I have flashed a few of the different builds that have recently become available and in doing so I have had some weird happenings with my internal storage. First I had both /sdcard, and /sdcard/o where everything I had prior to flashing was in /sdcard, but now resides in /sdcard/0. I moved everything back over and all was dandy. However now I have /sdcard and in there is nothing. All my stuff is actually in mnt/shell/emulated??

I know that chadouming and the everyone else that are contributing are working hard to get a stable build of CM10.1 out to everyone, and when that happens I want to start fresh.

Now my question is how do you go about formatting your internal sdcard without screwing everything up?? Should I flash ROM, GAPPS, backup's from Nova, and Titanium then format? I just don't want to be left with a phone that won't boot for whatever reason.

typically in the past I have never done this. But contrary to some of the instructions for flashing ROMs in this forum I used too

Wipe system/factory reset
Wipe Cache
Wipe Dalvik Cache
format system, data

then flash rom then flash gapps. There is a lot I still don't understand about this stuff so any help would be appreciated.
12th February 2013, 09:04 PM   |  #2  
chadouming's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag On the interwebz
Thanks Meter: 1,678
 
2,006 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brunswick000

I have flashed a few of the different builds that have recently become available and in doing so I have had some weird happenings with my internal storage. First I had both /sdcard, and /sdcard/o where everything I had prior to flashing was in /sdcard, but now resides in /sdcard/0. I moved everything back over and all was dandy. However now I have /sdcard and in there is nothing. All my stuff is actually in mnt/shell/emulated??

I know that chadouming and the everyone else that are contributing are working hard to get a stable build of CM10.1 out to everyone, and when that happens I want to start fresh.

Now my question is how do you go about formatting your internal sdcard without screwing everything up?? Should I flash ROM, GAPPS, backup's from Nova, and Titanium then format? I just don't want to be left with a phone that won't boot for whatever reason.

typically in the past I have never done this. But contrary to some of the instructions for flashing ROMs in this forum I used too

Wipe system/factory reset
Wipe Cache
Wipe Dalvik Cache
format system, data

then flash rom then flash gapps. There is a lot I still don't understand about this stuff so any help would be appreciated.

Ah, you didnt said that. You can't simply delete the 0 folder on sdcard. That's how thing work on android 4.2 and it's because of multi-user capabilities. put everything back in 0 folder nad it shoulbe alright. Note that it's zero and not "o"
13th February 2013, 01:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kingston, ON
Thanks Meter: 23
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Re: Help with format
I can't move things. I am able to select files, but it won't move them. Tried with CM file explorer and with root explorer. Won't work with either. Wouldn't be a problem if I could access them from my computer, but I can only see /sdcard when it comes up, so I can't access mnt/shell/emulated. Frustrating.

Sent from my Optimus G using xda premium
13th February 2013, 01:10 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kingston, ON
Thanks Meter: 23
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Re: Help with format
I have downloaded a program called android commander to access internal storage on my phone via pc but I can't get it to work. I can't for the life of me even get the drivers for the phone to install correctly. Grrrr. Don't want to lose this data but I cannot seem to gain access our move it.

Sent from my Optimus G using xda premium
13th February 2013, 03:53 PM   |  #5  
gentlemandroid17's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 123
 
800 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
i needed to move my backups from the 0 folder so plugged the phone on to pc and did it through windows.
13th February 2013, 04:25 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kingston, ON
Thanks Meter: 23
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Re: Help with format
Quote:
Originally Posted by gentledroid17

i needed to move my backups from the 0 folder so plugged the phone on to pc and did it through windows.

Yes this is my problem. I can only access the /sdcard portion of the internal memory through my pc. The 0 folder along with the original /sdcard folder is now located in the above mentioned directory /mnt/shell/emulated. It's very strange, and what is more frustrating ifs that I can select the files to move them through root explorer, but when I hit paste nothing happens.

Sent from my Optimus G using xda premium
13th February 2013, 05:58 PM   |  #7  
gentlemandroid17's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 123
 
800 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brunswick000

Yes this is my problem. I can only access the /sdcard portion of the internal memory through my pc. The 0 folder along with the original /sdcard folder is now located in the above mentioned directory /mnt/shell/emulated. It's very strange, and what is more frustrating ifs that I can select the files to move them through root explorer, but when I hit paste nothing happens.

Sent from my Optimus G using xda premium

i actually had to save to my desktop then back to sdcard. took a while but it worked.
14th February 2013, 12:01 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kingston, ON
Thanks Meter: 23
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Re: Help with format
Quote:
Originally Posted by gentledroid17

i actually had to save to my desktop then back to sdcard. took a while but it worked.

That would be fine but I can't access that directory on my pc. Hence the problem.

Sent from my Optimus G using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Optimus G Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank