WhatsApp Decides to Protect Your Data

When Facebook bought WhatsApp for the absurdly large sum of $19b back in February, they took the tech … more

Bring Back LTE on the Google Nexus 4 Running Lollipop

One of the predecessors of the latest, largest, and greatest Gooogle Nexus 6(theGoogle … more

Google Maps, My Maps, YouTube, Androidify, Slides, Music Updated–Here’s What’s New

In the last few weeks, Google has been … more

SuperSU BETA: Root Android Lollipop on Stock Kernel

Up until now, if you wanted to get root on Android 5.0, you needed to flash a modified … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Help with format

OP brunswick000

12th February 2013, 09:50 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kingston, ON
Thanks Meter: 23
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I have flashed a few of the different builds that have recently become available and in doing so I have had some weird happenings with my internal storage. First I had both /sdcard, and /sdcard/o where everything I had prior to flashing was in /sdcard, but now resides in /sdcard/0. I moved everything back over and all was dandy. However now I have /sdcard and in there is nothing. All my stuff is actually in mnt/shell/emulated??

I know that chadouming and the everyone else that are contributing are working hard to get a stable build of CM10.1 out to everyone, and when that happens I want to start fresh.

Now my question is how do you go about formatting your internal sdcard without screwing everything up?? Should I flash ROM, GAPPS, backup's from Nova, and Titanium then format? I just don't want to be left with a phone that won't boot for whatever reason.

typically in the past I have never done this. But contrary to some of the instructions for flashing ROMs in this forum I used too

Wipe system/factory reset
Wipe Cache
Wipe Dalvik Cache
format system, data

then flash rom then flash gapps. There is a lot I still don't understand about this stuff so any help would be appreciated.
12th February 2013, 10:04 PM   |  #2  
chadouming's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag On the interwebz
Thanks Meter: 1,683
 
2,013 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brunswick000

I have flashed a few of the different builds that have recently become available and in doing so I have had some weird happenings with my internal storage. First I had both /sdcard, and /sdcard/o where everything I had prior to flashing was in /sdcard, but now resides in /sdcard/0. I moved everything back over and all was dandy. However now I have /sdcard and in there is nothing. All my stuff is actually in mnt/shell/emulated??

I know that chadouming and the everyone else that are contributing are working hard to get a stable build of CM10.1 out to everyone, and when that happens I want to start fresh.

Now my question is how do you go about formatting your internal sdcard without screwing everything up?? Should I flash ROM, GAPPS, backup's from Nova, and Titanium then format? I just don't want to be left with a phone that won't boot for whatever reason.

typically in the past I have never done this. But contrary to some of the instructions for flashing ROMs in this forum I used too

Wipe system/factory reset
Wipe Cache
Wipe Dalvik Cache
format system, data

then flash rom then flash gapps. There is a lot I still don't understand about this stuff so any help would be appreciated.

Ah, you didnt said that. You can't simply delete the 0 folder on sdcard. That's how thing work on android 4.2 and it's because of multi-user capabilities. put everything back in 0 folder nad it shoulbe alright. Note that it's zero and not "o"
13th February 2013, 02:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kingston, ON
Thanks Meter: 23
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Re: Help with format
I can't move things. I am able to select files, but it won't move them. Tried with CM file explorer and with root explorer. Won't work with either. Wouldn't be a problem if I could access them from my computer, but I can only see /sdcard when it comes up, so I can't access mnt/shell/emulated. Frustrating.

Sent from my Optimus G using xda premium
13th February 2013, 02:10 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kingston, ON
Thanks Meter: 23
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Re: Help with format
I have downloaded a program called android commander to access internal storage on my phone via pc but I can't get it to work. I can't for the life of me even get the drivers for the phone to install correctly. Grrrr. Don't want to lose this data but I cannot seem to gain access our move it.

Sent from my Optimus G using xda premium
13th February 2013, 04:53 PM   |  #5  
gentlemandroid17's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 124
 
808 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
i needed to move my backups from the 0 folder so plugged the phone on to pc and did it through windows.
13th February 2013, 05:25 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kingston, ON
Thanks Meter: 23
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Re: Help with format
Quote:
Originally Posted by gentledroid17

i needed to move my backups from the 0 folder so plugged the phone on to pc and did it through windows.

Yes this is my problem. I can only access the /sdcard portion of the internal memory through my pc. The 0 folder along with the original /sdcard folder is now located in the above mentioned directory /mnt/shell/emulated. It's very strange, and what is more frustrating ifs that I can select the files to move them through root explorer, but when I hit paste nothing happens.

Sent from my Optimus G using xda premium
13th February 2013, 06:58 PM   |  #7  
gentlemandroid17's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 124
 
808 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brunswick000

Yes this is my problem. I can only access the /sdcard portion of the internal memory through my pc. The 0 folder along with the original /sdcard folder is now located in the above mentioned directory /mnt/shell/emulated. It's very strange, and what is more frustrating ifs that I can select the files to move them through root explorer, but when I hit paste nothing happens.

Sent from my Optimus G using xda premium

i actually had to save to my desktop then back to sdcard. took a while but it worked.
14th February 2013, 01:01 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kingston, ON
Thanks Meter: 23
 
546 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Re: Help with format
Quote:
Originally Posted by gentledroid17

i actually had to save to my desktop then back to sdcard. took a while but it worked.

That would be fine but I can't access that directory on my pc. Hence the problem.

Sent from my Optimus G using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes