FORUMS

Swappa’s New App Helps You Value Your Device

There comes a sad time in everyone’s life where you must part ways with your … more

Xiaomi Sold 34.7 Million Phones In 6 Months

2015 has been a phenomenal year for Xiaomi so far. With a stellar rise in 2014, 2015 saw … more

Sprint Reacts To Jab From T-Mobile

America’s cellular network space has always been a battle of the big four: Verizon, AT&T, … more

Floating Apps with Rovers – XDA App Review

There are a lot of great launchers to help customize your phone. Some Launchers allow … more

<< GUIDE & Q/A AOSP LTE Issues US / Canada >>

9,432 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,011
 
By Quasimodem, Account currently disabled on 21st October 2012, 12:41 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
12th February 2013, 11:50 PM |#151  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrnovanova

OK so I had the 3g icon for like a second so I checked it out it said umts with a number. What does that mean?

Btw I'm on Rogers with AOKP and never had any data connection problems.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using XDA Premium HD app

it probably showed something like umts II.
there are various bands of umts (or lte) used around the world
 
 
13th February 2013, 12:01 AM |#152  
Junior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatcheZ

lol, read more carefully and follow directions on that thread?
i have the telus s3, exact same phone on aokp
nope, you don't need my 2 cents... but i'll give you a hint: you'd get more help for this issue from the link Quasimodem wrote, more importantly post #3

If you have successfully followed all the steps in post 3, and still no joy, you might be hooped. maybe send it in to sammy, i've read of others whom have had their phones reflashed under warranty or for a small fee.

ii thanks man this **** is jus stressful
13th February 2013, 12:11 AM |#153  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag Mississippi
Thanks Meter: 3,011
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrnovanova

OK so I had the 3g icon for like a second so I checked it out it said umts with a number. What does that mean?

Btw I'm on Rogers with AOKP and never had any data connection problems.

Edit: So I read up on it a bit. Umts is the technology that encompasses both hsdpa and hspa+. So I'm back to my original question. Is the fact that I only see 3g or 4g rom related? Is there something I could flash so my phone displays the full array of bandwidths 3g, h, h+ and 4g?
Sent from my SGH-I747 using XDA Premium HD app

DId it do that on your own or where you in the process of sending a mms? i really don't think it's ROM related because it works sometimes.... what is the baseband?
13th February 2013, 02:12 AM |#154  
mrnovanova's Avatar
Senior Member
Montreal
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quasimodem

DId it do that on your own or where you in the process of sending a mms? i really don't think it's ROM related because it works sometimes.... what is the baseband?

what's a baseband? Where do I find that information?
13th February 2013, 02:16 AM |#155  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag Mississippi
Thanks Meter: 3,011
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrnovanova

what's a baseband? Where do I find that information?

Look in About Phone
13th February 2013, 02:59 AM |#156  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
thanks thats help me on att LTE apn
13th February 2013, 03:00 AM |#157  
mrnovanova's Avatar
Senior Member
Montreal
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
Re: &lt;&lt; GUIDE & Q/A AOSP LTE Issues US / Canada &gt;&gt;
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quasimodem

Look in About Phone

Ah the radio. It's LLH1 I tried all the updates but I keep coming back to this one. What does that have to do with anything?

Sent from my SGH-I747 using XDA Premium HD app
13th February 2013, 03:06 AM |#158  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag Mississippi
Thanks Meter: 3,011
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrnovanova

Ah the radio. It's LLH1 I tried all the updates but I keep coming back to this one. What does that have to do with anything?

Sent from my SGH-I747 using XDA Premium HD app

Was wondering which one you were on and if you had tried any different ones to try and get better service... Typically it only drops out of LTE for a second when sending an MMS... but I don't believe it's a ROM issue... I'm not currently running task's but I've ran it enough and had solid 4g all the time...
13th February 2013, 01:21 PM |#159  
mrnovanova's Avatar
Senior Member
Montreal
Thanks Meter: 314
 
More
Re: &lt;&lt; GUIDE & Q/A AOSP LTE Issues US / Canada &gt;&gt;
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quasimodem

Was wondering which one you were on and if you had tried any different ones to try and get better service... Typically it only drops out of LTE for a second when sending an MMS... but I don't believe it's a ROM issue... I'm not currently running task's but I've ran it enough and had solid 4g all the time...

I'm sorry I must have not formulated my question properly. I have no problem with my lte reception. My question is, when I'm not on 4g(lte) why do I see 3g for hsdpa and hsupa instead of h and h+? I dont know how else to say this. Does aokp not have the h and h+ icons?

Sent from my SGH-I747 using XDA Premium HD app
13th February 2013, 02:07 PM |#160  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag Mississippi
Thanks Meter: 3,011
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrnovanova

I'm sorry I must have not formulated my question properly. I have no problem with my lte reception. My question is, when I'm not on 4g(lte) why do I see 3g for hsdpa and hsupa instead of h and h+? I dont know how else to say this. Does aokp not have the h and h+ icons?

Sent from my SGH-I747 using XDA Premium HD app

Ahh... My apologies... In an AOSP ROM, if you see 3g at any point, it's HSDPA/HSUPA and H or H+ is HSDPA+/HSUPA or it could be called 3.5g... You truly are dropping into 3g, not H+.... I don't see it often, but I'm sure I could drive out to middle of nowhere and see 3g...
The Following User Says Thank You to Quasimodem For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes