Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q[SOLVED]]how to port android apps

OP dragonhustler

13th February 2013, 01:21 AM   |  #1  
dragonhustler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Trowbridge
Thanks Meter: 98
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
So i just wanna ask what i have to edit to port android apps from other devices is it the manifest only or what?

Sent from my SK17i using xda premium
Last edited by dragonhustler; 14th February 2013 at 01:11 AM.
13th February 2013, 10:48 AM   |  #2  
RavinduSha's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kurunegala, Sri Lanka
Thanks Meter: 305
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
I think u don't have to edit anything in a app to make it work on other devices. Normally they work on every device
13th February 2013, 11:50 AM   |  #3  
dragonhustler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Trowbridge
Thanks Meter: 98
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Re: [Q]how to port android apps
Yeah but others are not installing

Sent from my SK17i using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to dragonhustler For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 12:07 PM   |  #4  
abcdjdj's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Thane
Thanks Meter: 3,058
 
1,714 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonhustler

Yeah but others are not installing

Sent from my SK17i using xda premium

If you want to try using a system app, then place your apk in /system/app and set permissions - chmod 0644. The permissions look somewhat like this -
xx-
x--
x--

This can be done using any file manager. I recommand using Root Browser by Jrummy.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to abcdjdj For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 12:24 PM   |  #5  
dragonhustler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Trowbridge
Thanks Meter: 98
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Re: [Q]how to port android apps
yeah i have tried that but not working when i reboot apps are not there these are jelly bean apps that i want to use so anyway of editing this to make it compatible to ics?

Sent from my SK17i using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to dragonhustler For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 12:41 PM   |  #6  
abcdjdj's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Thane
Thanks Meter: 3,058
 
1,714 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonhustler

yeah i have tried that but not working when i reboot apps are not there these are jelly bean apps that i want to use so anyway of editing this to make it compatible to ics?

Sent from my SK17i using xda premium

Theoretically, the Application Programming Interface ( API ) of Jelly Bean is higher than that of ICS. Hence some features of the Jelly Bean apk may not work on ICS, or the apk may not even work. It depends on what you are trying to port. Some Xperia Z apps have already been ported for ICS, but other phone brand apks are very difficult to port.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to abcdjdj For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 01:11 PM   |  #7  
dragonhustler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Trowbridge
Thanks Meter: 98
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Re: [Q]how to port android apps
Quote:
Originally Posted by abcdjdj

Theoretically, the Application Programming Interface ( API ) of Jelly Bean is higher than that of ICS. Hence some features of the Jelly Bean apk may not work on ICS, or the apk may not even work. It depends on what you are trying to port. Some Xperia Z apps have already been ported for ICS, but other phone brand apks are very difficult to port.

Now you have helped me so you mean that if I manage maybe to mess. With the API then I can manage to port it to ics?

Sent from my SK17i using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to dragonhustler For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 02:35 PM   |  #8  
abcdjdj's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Thane
Thanks Meter: 3,058
 
1,714 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Re: [Q]how to port android apps
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonhustler

Now you have helped me so you mean that if I manage maybe to mess. With the API then I can manage to port it to ics?

Sent from my SK17i using xda premium

You cannot mess with the API level. Although it can be changed in androidmanifest.xml, many features of the app won't work. Still, you can try using APK2JAVA or APKTOOL to decompile and check the apk that you need to port. If you don't know java, then it would be difficult.

Sent from my LT26i using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to abcdjdj For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 02:49 PM   |  #9  
RavinduSha's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kurunegala, Sri Lanka
Thanks Meter: 305
 
380 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
that will be a very very tough work
The Following User Says Thank You to RavinduSha For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 03:25 PM   |  #10  
dragonhustler's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Trowbridge
Thanks Meter: 98
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Re: [Q]how to port android apps
Quote:
Originally Posted by abcdjdj

You cannot mess with the API level. Although it can be changed in androidmanifest.xml, many features of the app won't work. Still, you can try using APK2JAVA or APKTOOL to decompile and check the apk that you need to port. If you don't know java, then it would be difficult.

Sent from my LT26i using xda app-developers app

Yeah I know java but what's the difference between Dex2jar and APK2JAVA?

Sent from my SK17i using xda premium

The Following User Says Thank You to dragonhustler For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes