Don’t Fear Flashing with I Don’t Want You!

The XDA message boards are full of various modifications, with many of these helping … more

Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] com.android.phone has stopped

OP neo_1221

31st January 2013, 06:22 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
My DNA has just started popping up the message "com.android.phone has stopped" and crashing the dialer every time I try to make a call. It worked fine for the first couple weeks I had it, and still works fine apart from making calls. 4G works and I get data. I've tried re-inserting the SIM, doing a factory reset, flashing RUU, and I just got back from the Verizon store where the swapped out the SIM. Nothing has fixed it.

Before I call the VZ warranty department I thought I'd post here and see if anyone had an idea. I'm a little worried they'll see my "Relocked/Tampered" bootloader and tell me I'm SOL. :/
31st January 2013, 06:37 AM   |  #2  
holla420's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta,Ga
Thanks Meter: 1,222
 
3,294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Re: [Q] com.android.phone has stopped
Hmm...that didn't work I think there's a tread about this issues somewhere around here

sent from my beastly powered viper DNA using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by holla420; 31st January 2013 at 06:40 AM.
31st January 2013, 11:15 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by holla420

Hmm...that didn't work I think there's a tread about this issues somewhere around here

sent from my beastly powered viper DNA using Tapatalk 2

Hmm, I didn't find anything in my (admittedly brief) search. Either way, I gave up and called Verizon warranty service. The rep was very helpful and agreed to send me a new phone.
1st February 2013, 04:46 AM   |  #4  
uppon2's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,223
 
2,663 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo_1221

Hmm, I didn't find anything in my (admittedly brief) search. Either way, I gave up and called Verizon warranty service. The rep was very helpful and agreed to send me a new phone.

Wow, it would never be that easy to get a replacement in Australia
5th February 2013, 07:37 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by uppon2

Wow, it would never be that easy to get a replacement in Australia

Just to be clear, my "new" phone is actually "recertified like-new". And I have to send the old one back or pay full price for it. And if they find evidence of damage or tampering on the old phone I'll get charged $300. But yeah, aside from that it was pretty easy.
13th February 2013, 01:36 AM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Crete
Thanks Meter: 15
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Guys, i am having the same problem! On every call i get com.android.phone has stopped ! Does anyone had the same and found a solution?!

I tried 3 custom roms(viper hatka and another one) no work, reflashed back to stock, problem remains!
I am also living overseas! Is this a problem?
Last edited by ergotelis; 13th February 2013 at 01:45 AM.
13th February 2013, 06:51 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Just out of curiosity, do you still have the little flap covering your microUSB port? I got annoyed with mine and yanked it out...now I'm wondering if it damaged the antenna.
13th February 2013, 08:28 PM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Crete
Thanks Meter: 15
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I have removed it too, no way this thing can affect the operation!
13th February 2013, 09:55 PM   |  #9  
mike_augie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 104
 
493 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
It has to do with someone on you facebook or contacts has a birthday on Feb 29 find out which one it is delete the contact sync for that person or change the birthday
13th February 2013, 11:39 PM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Crete
Thanks Meter: 15
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Thanks for the reply, have you experienced the same problem in htc DNA?

The solution you are giving is kinda strange, as i haven't passed any contacts or fb account to my mobile and the problem persists. Of course, i had done this one in the past, lets check what you just said, thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes