5,604,631 Members 40,761 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter [Tmobile / Wind / Mobilicity / Videotron]

Tip us?
 
1range
Old
#981  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 238
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Re: [HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter [Tmobile / Wind / Mobilicity / Videotron

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71 View Post
Mobile ODIN is a program that allows you to flash any ROM or Update files. So if the ROM is injected with Root (as in this case) then after flash succeeds, you will be rooted.

In short the answer is yes.

Kindly hit thanks if this helped.
The trick would be to install Mobile ODIN which from I gather requires root prior to installing...right?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
 
nicky9door
Old
#982  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 159
Join Date: May 2010
Default Re: [HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter [Tmobile / Wind / Mobilicity / Videotron

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1range View Post
The trick would be to install Mobile ODIN which from I gather requires root prior to installing...right?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
Correct

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
 
Wicked68
Old
#983  
Wicked68's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 83
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Southern California
Default Re: [HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter [Tmobile / Wind / Mobilicity / Videotron

This question is kind of off topic, but I know somebody in this thread can answer. I'm rooted, still running stock, for the moment. I wanted to know if installing a new boot animation, or kernel will trip the counter? Thanks in advance.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
Samsung Note 3 Stock (For Now)

Samsung Galaxy S3- Rooted (Stock) - Cracked Screen & sold

HTC G2- Rooted (Andromadus Mimicry 1.5.0)-BackUp

Moto Cliq :/

Various Sidekicks before that
 
1range
Old
#984  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 238
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Re: [HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter [Tmobile / Wind / Mobilicity / Videotron

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicky9door View Post
Correct

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
Well now, root is required for Mobile ODIN, I'm wondering how can it be used to actually root

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
 
Perseus71
Old
#985  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2353
Posts: 4,207
Join Date: Feb 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1range View Post
The trick would be to install Mobile ODIN which from I gather requires root prior to installing...right?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
I was able to Push Mobile ODIN via ADB to a Galaxy SII (Unmolested Stock).

---------- Post added at 01:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:59 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked68 View Post
This question is kind of off topic, but I know somebody in this thread can answer. I'm rooted, still running stock, for the moment. I wanted to know if installing a new boot animation, or kernel will trip the counter? Thanks in advance.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
Yes. Especially if done through PC based ODIN.
 
Wicked68
Old
#986  
Wicked68's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 83
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Southern California
Default Re: [HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter [Tmobile / Wind / Mobilicity / Videotron

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71 View Post
I was able to Push Mobile ODIN via ADB to a Galaxy SII (Unmolested Stock).

---------- Post added at 01:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:59 PM ----------


Yes. Especially if done through PC based ODIN.
Does everything dealing with the S3 have to be done with Odin? Can't do the boot animation the old way? Like just putting the boot animation zip into the correct folder? Or do it using ROM Toolbox?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
Samsung Note 3 Stock (For Now)

Samsung Galaxy S3- Rooted (Stock) - Cracked Screen & sold

HTC G2- Rooted (Andromadus Mimicry 1.5.0)-BackUp

Moto Cliq :/

Various Sidekicks before that
 
mrRobinson
Old
#987  
mrRobinson's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 7836
Posts: 2,333
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked68 View Post
Does everything dealing with the S3 have to be done with Odin? Can't do the boot animation the old way? Like just putting the boot animation zip into the correct folder? Or do it using ROM Toolbox?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
you don't need odin for anything. It is one of many ways to root. You surely don't need it after rooting for boot ani's or flashing anything. What can't be done with simple root access can be done with a non-stock recovery.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mrRobinson For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
skytechja
Old
#988  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 175
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: kingston
Default Quick Question

Ok, my question here is not related to what yall just been saying....


Has anyone installed and used Titanium Backup after root?

does this trip the counter as well ?

by the way, the counter can be reset
 
Perseus71
Old
#989  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2353
Posts: 4,207
Join Date: Feb 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by skytechja View Post
Ok, my question here is not related to what yall just been saying....


Has anyone installed and used Titanium Backup after root?

does this trip the counter as well ?

by the way, the counter can be reset
Installing Titanium from Google Play will never Trip Flash Counter.
 
anil2653
Old
#990  
anil2653's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 172
Posts: 531
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by skytechja View Post
Ok, my question here is not related to what yall just been saying....


Has anyone installed and used Titanium Backup after root?

does this trip the counter as well ?

by the way, the counter can be reset

NO it will not trip flash counter but it depends how you root
I am using Titanium Backup after rooting with root66 and my flash counter shows 0 only system status is as Modified rest every thing is normal.
Yes counter can be reset to 0 by using Triangle away.

Tags
flash counter, root, t999, uvalem, warranty
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes