FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Swype Beta 1.4 Update

1,847 posts
Thanks Meter: 821
 
By David Dee, Senior Member on 7th January 2013, 02:49 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
11th February 2013, 02:41 PM |#41  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
There are some things I can't swype, such as entering logon usernames and passwords into certain apps. Any thoughts?
-J
 
 
11th February 2013, 06:23 PM |#42  
hungmung's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Addison, il
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Re: Swype Beta 1.4 Update
Quote:
Originally Posted by miatawnt2b

There are some things I can't swype, such as entering logon usernames and passwords into certain apps. Any thoughts?
-J

It's usually the site and/or app that forces Swype to stay in regular typing mode. I don't think there is anything that can really be done.

Sent via carrier pigeon...
11th February 2013, 06:29 PM |#43  
Junior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by miatawnt2b

There are some things I can't swype, such as entering logon usernames and passwords into certain apps. Any thoughts?

For usernames, I tap it in then select the whole thing and press the swype key to add to dict. You might have to drag the selectors around; using swype key to select stops at word-internal punctuation. I think the same steps work for passwords but I don't like having those in my dictionary.
13th February 2013, 11:21 PM |#44  
brianray14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bradenton
Thanks Meter: 158
 
More
Re: Swype Beta 1.4 Update
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmka

For usernames, I tap it in then select the whole thing and press the swype key to add to dict. You might have to drag the selectors around; using swype key to select stops at word-internal punctuation. I think the same steps work for passwords but I don't like having those in my dictionary.

You're correct about passwords. Just type password into any text field, highlight the word and then hit swype key. Watch caps tho

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
13th February 2013, 11:27 PM |#45  
Ends's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South Boston, VA
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Re: Swype Beta 1.4 Update
Oh you can still swype.. you just can't see what you wrote or choose an alternate word. But as stated, if you add your password to your dictionary, swyping it isn't a problem. But be careful. Do u really want your password in your saved dictionary? U can read em

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
14th February 2013, 02:25 AM |#46  
megagodx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Farmingville
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
Swiping is more accurate and better with auto-correct on Swype than it is in the 3rd version beta of SwiftKey Flow. With that said, "typing" is still an area SwiftKey is superior in.
15th February 2013, 08:02 PM |#47  
drdionysius's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Re: Swype Beta 1.4 Update
I updated to the latest Swype today and an experiencing major battery drain. Anyone else has that too?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1360958562410.jpg
Views:	224
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	1732493   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-1.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	80.6 KB
ID:	1732499  
Last edited by drdionysius; 15th February 2013 at 08:06 PM.
16th February 2013, 01:38 PM |#48  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Re: Swype Beta 1.4 Update
Same battery drain here, with stock android 4.2.2 in Galaxy nexus
16th February 2013, 05:45 PM |#49  
pappcam's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Swype was constantly deleting all the words from my dictionary for no reason. Went to SwiftKey Flow and haven't looked back.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes