Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,867 Members 41,426 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Swype Beta 1.4 Update

Tip us?
 
miatawnt2b
Old
#41  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 253
Join Date: Apr 2011
There are some things I can't swype, such as entering logon usernames and passwords into certain apps. Any thoughts?
-J
 
hungmung
Old
#42  
hungmung's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 112
Posts: 562
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Addison, il
Default Re: Swype Beta 1.4 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by miatawnt2b View Post
There are some things I can't swype, such as entering logon usernames and passwords into certain apps. Any thoughts?
-J
It's usually the site and/or app that forces Swype to stay in regular typing mode. I don't think there is anything that can really be done.

Sent via carrier pigeon...
 
tmka
Old
#43  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by miatawnt2b View Post
There are some things I can't swype, such as entering logon usernames and passwords into certain apps. Any thoughts?
For usernames, I tap it in then select the whole thing and press the swype key to add to dict. You might have to drag the selectors around; using swype key to select stops at word-internal punctuation. I think the same steps work for passwords but I don't like having those in my dictionary.
 
brianray14
Old
#44  
brianray14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 767
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sarasota
Default Re: Swype Beta 1.4 Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmka View Post
For usernames, I tap it in then select the whole thing and press the swype key to add to dict. You might have to drag the selectors around; using swype key to select stops at word-internal punctuation. I think the same steps work for passwords but I don't like having those in my dictionary.
You're correct about passwords. Just type password into any text field, highlight the word and then hit swype key. Watch caps tho

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ____________________
Gunmetal Silver HTC ONE M8 AT&T - UNLOCKED S-OFF
ROM : STOCK 4.4.2
Hboot : 3.16.0.0000
OS : 1.58.502.1
Radio : 1.16.21331931.LA11G
Recovery : TWRP Touch Recovery v2.7.0.2
Kernel : STOCK
MOD : Sense 6 Toolbox
 
Ends
Old
#45  
Ends's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 378
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Boston, VA
Default Re: Swype Beta 1.4 Update

Oh you can still swype.. you just can't see what you wrote or choose an alternate word. But as stated, if you add your password to your dictionary, swyping it isn't a problem. But be careful. Do u really want your password in your saved dictionary? U can read em

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
 
megagodx
Old
#46  
megagodx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 253
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Farmingville
Swiping is more accurate and better with auto-correct on Swype than it is in the 3rd version beta of SwiftKey Flow. With that said, "typing" is still an area SwiftKey is superior in.
 
drdionysius
Old
(Last edited by drdionysius; 15th February 2013 at 08:06 PM.)
#47  
drdionysius's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 115
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: Swype Beta 1.4 Update

I updated to the latest Swype today and an experiencing major battery drain. Anyone else has that too?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using xda app-developers app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1360958562410.jpg
Views:	224
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	1732493   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled-1.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	80.6 KB
ID:	1732499  
GT-I9300 / Android 4.3.1 / Modem: XXUFME7 / Kernel: 3.0.80+ / Slim Bean 4.3-build.2
 
churria
Old
#48  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Re: Swype Beta 1.4 Update

Same battery drain here, with stock android 4.2.2 in Galaxy nexus
 
pappcam
Old
#49  
pappcam's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 151
Join Date: Jan 2012
Swype was constantly deleting all the words from my dictionary for no reason. Went to SwiftKey Flow and haven't looked back.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes