Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

** Remove The Locked & Hidden APNS & Tethering T-Mobile APN's! - New Updated XML **

OP WarlockW

13th February 2013, 10:12 PM   |  #181  
Recognized Developer
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 125
 
865 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
I got mine working on latest ota (rooted).
here's what i did


to fix the USBTethring maybe we need to fix tetheringprovision app that checks the tetheringPlan :P
it hits http://selfhelp.geo.t-mobile.com ...
let's see whats next :P

edit:
AND i got usb tethering connected!
Last edited by heart_crafter; 13th February 2013 at 10:22 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to heart_crafter For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 11:41 PM   |  #182  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmnote2

Apparently the Tiger VPNs is not working. TM stopped my hotspot today. I appreciate if you can help me solve this.

Try Hideman. Been working fine for me. Hotspot Shield was working until most recent update that infested my phone with popup ads & other spam... even after I paid for a month... total junk.
13th February 2013, 11:47 PM   |  #183  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by XooLoo

Try Hideman. Been working fine for me. Hotspot Shield was working until most recent update that infested my phone with popup ads & other spam... even after I paid for a month... total junk.

I tried Hideman already. It did not work. Is it because I rooted my phone?
13th February 2013, 11:48 PM   |  #184  
AgentFour20's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 199
 
913 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Re: ** Remove The Locked & Hidden APNS & Tethering T-Mobile APN's! - New Updated XML
Quote:
Originally Posted by XooLoo

Try Hideman. Been working fine for me. Hotspot Shield was working until most recent update that infested my phone with popup ads & other spam... even after I paid for a month... total junk.

I use hotspot shield and it works perfect . If you don't want to see the ads get adaway or something similar .

Sent from my SGH-T959 using xda premium
14th February 2013, 12:36 AM   |  #185  
Senior Member
Flag FL
Thanks Meter: 2
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Question Did not work on ATT Galaxy Note
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarlockW

Here is How You Can Remove The Locked & Hidden APNS & Tethering T-Mobile APN's ..

THIS IS FOR T_MOBILE USERS ONLY!
THIS IS FOR T_MOBILE USERS ONLY!

THIS WILL DELETE ALL APNS!
THIS WILL DELETE ALL APNS!


This Does NOT UN_LOCK The APN'S! -
However Does Delete The Hidden APNS - Like The Tethering APN.
Then Adds The New "Locked" APN I Edited!


OK ? GOT IT? ( God I Hope So! )
Always a good Idea to make a CWM OR TWRP FULL BACKUP FIRST!


YOU MUST INSTALL APN BACKUP & RESTORE AS A SYSTEM APP !
YOU MUST HAVE ROOT !
YOU MUST HAVE A INSECURE BOOT.IMG WITH ADB SUPPORT !
YOU MUST HAVE TITANIUM BACKUP PRO ! OR ANDROID COMMANDER !
YOU MUST HAVE MY EDITED T-MOBILE-APN.XML !!
NEW XML: type="default,supl,admin,mms,hipri,dun"


See My Kernel Thread for Insecure Kernels : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1958124

----------------------------------

IF THINGS GO HORRIBLY WRONG ..

1. DON'T PANIC !
2. RESTORE YOUR APNS USING: APN BACKUP & RESTORE !
3. RESTORE USING YOUR CWM OR TWRP FULL BACKUP !


-----------------------------------

Here is How You Can Remove The Locked & Hidden APNS & Tethering T-Mobile APN's ..

1. First Make a Dir Called: APN - On your Desktop
2. Download Needed-Files.zip To The APN Dir!
3. Extract Files In to the APN Dir.
4. Pick Installation 1 OR 2

Installation 1.
Convert APN Backup to a System app using Titanium Backup on a rooted phone.


Instructions:

- Goto Market And Install APN BACKUP & Restore - Run it Once. - ( Ignore warring on open! )
- Close APN BACKUP & Restore
- Open Titanium Backup
- Go to backup/restore tab
- Find APN Backup & Restore on the list
- Long press on the app when you find it
- Select Convert to system app

Now ..

- Open APN Backup & Restore
- Click menu and disable ICS check
- Close program and re-open it. - ( No More Warring! )
- Choose: Backup APN's! - ( This Will make a backup! )
- Close APN Backup & Restore
- Plug in USB Cable
- Goto your Phone Strorage Card and find the DIR: ApnBackupRestore
- Copy the T-Mobile-APN.xml you Downloaded to the dir: ApnBackupRestore
- Now Open APN Backup & Restore
- And pick Delete APN's - ( Not Delete Backup Files! LOL )
- Now Pick Restore APS's
- A List Comes Up .. Pick T-Mobile-APN.xml !!!
- Let it restore .. Close APN Backup.
- Reboot! You Should Be Good To GO!


OR ..


Installation 2.
You can install APN Backup as a System app using Android Commander on a rooted phone.


Instructions:

- Get Android Commander: http://androidcommander.com/?file_id=15
- Once AC is Installed ..
- Connect Phone With USB Cable
- Open AC And make sure you have root access
- ( You will see in the Bottom left corner ( ROOT ) )
- ( You will see in the Upper RIGHT Corner TWO TABS - Android Files and Application Manager !!! )
- If You DO NOT SEE THIS .. You Will Have To Install a New Kernel!
- Stop Here and Install a Insecure Kernel!

- If You Do See It .. Continue On ..
- Click Tab That Says: Application Manager
- Now Click Button Called: ( Install )
- A Window Will Open .. Find The APN Dir You made On Your Desktop! ( Not The File ) you Downloaded
- Click / Highlight The APN Dir. - Click OK
- A Window Will Open .. DOUBLE CLICK : APN Backup & Restore_v1.91
- Click The Button: Install
- A Window Will Open .. Click: ( Install as System App )
- Now Click: OK
- APN Backup Will Install
- It May Ask you to update your App List .. Its OK You Can!
- Done! Close Android Commander.

Now ..

- Open APN Backup & Restore
- Click menu and disable ICS check
- Close program and re-open it. - ( No More Warring! )
- Choose: Backup APN's! - ( This Will make a backup! )
- Close APN Backup & Restore
- Plug in USB Cable
- Goto your Phone Strorage Card and find the DIR: ApnBackupRestore
- Copy the T-Mobile-APN.xml you Downloaded to the dir: ApnBackupRestore
- Now Open APN Backup & Restore
- And pick Delete APN's - ( Not Delete Backup Files! LOL )
- Now Pick Restore APS's
- A List Comes Up .. Pick T-Mobile-APN.xml !!!
- Let it restore .. Close APN Backup.
- Reboot! You Should Be Good To GO!

Check To See If it worked ..

- Open APN Backup & Restore
- Choose: Backup APN's! - ( This Will make a backup! )
- It Should Say After Backup 1 of 1 ! ( This Means It Worked ! )

--------------------------------------

Congrads! You Should Be-able to Tether Using an app like: WIFI Tether From App Store!
Worked For me ! Click The Darn Thanks Button For God Sakes If It Works For You!


--------------------------------------

Other Interesting Info ...
.


I have a question, I have the Galaxy Note from ATT, I unlocked it and am now on tmobile, I am rying to change everything "att" about this phone to tmobile so it were as if I had got the phone from tmobile...

So I have completed the instructions on Installation 1, and it did not work, could this be because the phone was not from ATT originaly, or does this not matter?

The only way it works is using the chrome plugin, but that is not really a solution, as the only user agents that can be used re the kindle and the 2 android ones, which is not really unlocking he tethering on the phone all hats doing is making the phone think its a mobile browser that is accesing the internet..

So, any suggestions on how to get this to work properly?

Anyone previously from ATT get his to work succesfuly? If so, can you explain what you did?

Other than the steps on installation 1, I have not doen anything else, not even sure if there is anything else on this phone that is ATT related that I need to change to tmobile (radios, etc.) Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
14th February 2013, 04:11 AM   |  #186  
Recognized Developer
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 125
 
865 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Re: ** Remove The Locked & Hidden APNS & Tethering T-Mobile APN's! - New Updated XML
Quote:
Originally Posted by jontorres

I have a question, I have the Galaxy Note from ATT, I unlocked it and am now on tmobile, I am rying to change everything "att" about this phone to tmobile so it were as if I had got the phone from tmobile...

So I have completed the instructions on Installation 1, and it did not work, could this be because the phone was not from ATT originaly, or does this not matter?

The only way it works is using the chrome plugin, but that is not really a solution, as the only user agents that can be used re the kindle and the 2 android ones, which is not really unlocking he tethering on the phone all hats doing is making the phone think its a mobile browser that is accesing the internet..

So, any suggestions on how to get this to work properly?

Anyone previously from ATT get his to work succesfuly? If so, can you explain what you did?

Other than the steps on installation 1, I have not doen anything else, not even sure if there is anything else on this phone that is ATT related that I need to change to tmobile (radios, etc.) Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

See my post above and try what I did...then let me know...

Sent from my SGH-T889 using xda app-developers app
14th February 2013, 08:37 AM   |  #187  
Senior Member
Flag FL
Thanks Meter: 2
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by heart_crafter

See my post above and try what I did...then let me know...

Sent from my SGH-T889 using xda app-developers app

I did that, and didn't do anything, so when I copied customer.xml to my desktop and viewed it, it was all ATT stuff in it, however, I went to the "Connections" line, and I copy/pasted what I found on this post http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=17 (I hope this contained all the correct information). This still didnt do anything.

So I saw on your post about feature.xml, I copied it to my desktop and it was empty, all it contained is:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<!-- It can be added for each operators like below form

<ABC> -> sales code
<sapient>true</sapient> -> feature1
<burton>false</burton> -> feature2
<libtech>true</libtech> -> feature3
.
.
</ABC>

each name of tags are will be environment variable with "ro.csc."
ex) "ro.csc.sapient", "ro.csc.burton", "ro.csc.libtech" <== you could use them at any section.
also, should be added between <feature> and </feature> .
jhwan.kim@hdlnc.com -->

<feature>

</feature>

So it seems it didnt have anything for me to edit.

Is it possible you can upload here the customer.xml and feature.xml files?

Thanks
14th February 2013, 04:15 PM   |  #188  
Recognized Developer
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 125
 
865 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Re: ** Remove The Locked & Hidden APNS & Tethering T-Mobile APN's! - New Updated XML
Did you put the the telephony db ?
I'll post the xml asap

edit:
Did tethering worked when you were on ATT account?
download Tethering Widget from Hi-Develop

let me know what happens when you try to turn on tethering thru the widget?
Last edited by heart_crafter; 14th February 2013 at 05:10 PM.
14th February 2013, 05:52 PM   |  #189  
Senior Member
Flag FL
Thanks Meter: 2
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by heart_crafter

Did you put the the telephony db ?
I'll post the xml asap

edit:
Did tethering worked when you were on ATT account?
download Tethering Widget from Hi-Develop

let me know what happens when you try to turn on tethering thru the widget?

yes i replaced the telephony.db with yours, tested, and nothing happened.

tethering did work before with att without any hacks.

when I use the widget, it turns on tether on the phone, pc connects, but will not go to any website, unless i use the browser user agent set to an android device which i then get all mobile websites, or no access on certain sites like cpanel for my website.

I should also mention I been using the browser user agent to connect for 5 days now, which I dont like, its the only way I can use the internet, and as of last night my phones internet connection dropped drastically, i used speedtest.net's app and every test comes back with .11 mbps speed, never any higher, I wonder if somehow tmobile has caught on. it is still as of this morning throtlled down to .11mbps.

the only thing i have doe to my phone thus far is Installation #1 from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1962752, I havent added any of these http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1958124 because I dont know which is it that I am suppose to flash.

My goal is to replace anything "att" with everything "tmobile" to get the phone to be just like if I had got it from att.....but now having my phones internet throttled down to .11mbps is really screwing me, I cant work, and I rely on the internet for work.

HELP!
14th February 2013, 05:59 PM   |  #190  
Recognized Developer
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 125
 
865 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
alright lets do this don't worry
just uploaded the xml files...

install Fireintent from market... or do you know how to use adb?
Attached Files
File Type: zip tethering.zip - [Click for QR Code] (8.3 KB, 17 views)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes