Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Possible Brick?

OP overkil6

13th February 2013, 11:07 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
All,

I updated to the latest RebelRom today but had an issue with the email client so tried to re-flash the previous version (forgot to make a backup...). Somehow during this re-flash the phone rebooted so the flashing never took.

Now when I go into recovery(TWRP) I get the TWRP splash screen and then it boot loops.

I've tried flashing the recovery again (2.4.0.0) and flashing the boot.img again however this continues to happen.

I tried a factory reset and it too just boot loops on me.

Any suggestions or is this bricked good?
14th February 2013, 12:38 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag san fran california
Thanks Meter: 447
 
1,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by overkil6

All,

I updated to the latest RebelRom today but had an issue with the email client so tried to re-flash the previous version (forgot to make a backup...). Somehow during this re-flash the phone rebooted so the flashing never took.

Now when I go into recovery(TWRP) I get the TWRP splash screen and then it boot loops.

I've tried flashing the recovery again (2.4.0.0) and flashing the boot.img again however this continues to happen.

I tried a factory reset and it too just boot loops on me.

Any suggestions or is this bricked good?

Ruu and start over
14th February 2013, 12:46 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by a box of kittens

Ruu and start over

Ruu? Can you go into some details, please?
14th February 2013, 12:55 AM   |  #4  
exad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,435
 
3,361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Possible Brick?
Shouldnt have to ruu.. Download latest twrp. Verify checksum. Fastboot flash recovery recovery.img then download clean rom or viper put on sd, wipe cache, dalvik, system, factory reset in twrp and install rom.

Sent from my One X using xda app-developers app
14th February 2013, 01:01 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by exad

Shouldnt have to ruu.. Download latest twrp. Verify checksum. Fastboot flash recovery recovery.img then download clean rom or viper put on sd, wipe cache, dalvik, system, factory reset in twrp and install rom.

Sent from my One X using xda app-developers app

I can flash the recovery fine but I can't get into recovery. Just the splash screen then it reboots to the HTC screen and loops.
14th February 2013, 02:45 AM   |  #6  
exad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,435
 
3,361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Possible Brick?
Quote:
Originally Posted by overkil6

I can flash the recovery fine but I can't get into recovery. Just the splash screen then it reboots to the HTC screen and loops.

If it's boot looping then you're not flashing recovery just fine.... If recovery flashed fine then when you select recovery from the bootloader, it would boot to recovery..

Sent from my One X using xda app-developers app
14th February 2013, 02:54 AM   |  #7  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,278
 
7,509 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by overkil6

I tried a factory reset and it too just boot loops on me.

Factory reset is not what you think it is. It just formats the user partition. If the ROM is not properly flashed, factory reset isn't going to help. Common mistake, since the term "factory reset" is a bit of a misnomer. It implies that it returns the phone to factory condition, which is quite often not the case.
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2013, 04:52 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by overkil6

All,

I updated to the latest RebelRom today but had an issue with the email client so tried to re-flash the previous version (forgot to make a backup...). Somehow during this re-flash the phone rebooted so the flashing never took.

Now when I go into recovery(TWRP) I get the TWRP splash screen and then it boot loops.

I've tried flashing the recovery again (2.4.0.0) and flashing the boot.img again however this continues to happen.

I tried a factory reset and it too just boot loops on me.

Any suggestions or is this bricked good?

try to do
Fastboot erase cache

then again install recovery, may be it work for you.
The Following User Says Thank You to arunkarnwal1981 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2013, 05:20 AM   |  #9  
InflatedTitan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,143
 
2,788 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Re: [Q] Possible Brick?
What screen shows up when you choose recovery in bootloader?

Sent from my One X using Tapatalk 2
14th February 2013, 06:45 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Do the following:

Turn your HTC On.
Holdbfhe power for 15-20 seconds.
Release, when the device flashes.
Press and hold the volume down button.
Press the power button for 3 seconds, and release.
Keep your finger on the volume down button.
This should take you to bootloader, download the latest
TWRP For your HTC.
Flash it with fast boot flash recovery twrp.Evita.version here.IMG

You should now be able to enter Recovery. I suggest getting the Avatar ROM, experiencing no current errors IMO If this has worked, please reply.

The Following User Says Thank You to Wesley. For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes