5,815,022 Members 38,735 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] DEV REQUEST: In-Call Screen Rotation

Tip us?
 
MothChewMoth
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default [Q] DEV REQUEST: In-Call Screen Rotation

I've scoured these forums and come up with nothing so far on this (other than apps that don't work!). Here's what I'm looking to do:

I drive FREQUENTLY for work and have my ATT Note 2 in a dash mount in landscape position. I would like my in-call screen to rotate to landscape, and actually be able to see my Caller ID photo as well as the standard dial pad.

I've tried Ultimate Rotation Control (and several other apps), and they DO rotate the screen, but the buttons are abnormally large and cover 90% of the screen. This covers up caller id as well as the dialer pad if you try to use it.

I found a mod and how-to for the S2 (links below) that does EXACTLY what I want, so I'm pretty sure someone with coding experience can figure this out. I can't figure out how to decompile-recompile my SecPhone.apk without errors, so I can't test this myself.

Is there anyone who can try to make this happen? If so, I'd be happy to make a donation for your time/effort. Thanks!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2018583 - Mod for S2
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1705215 - How to for S2
 
MothChewMoth
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2012
Mods, is it possible for one of you to move this to the dev section? I feel like this is a pretty significant issue and would like to get the attention of someone who can actually sit down and decipher the proper code settings for this. I've tried doing it myself, but can't get the apk to recompile without errors.
The Following User Says Thank You to MothChewMoth For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MothChewMoth
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2012
Bump
 
BlackPhantomX
Old
#4  
BlackPhantomX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 258
Join Date: Dec 2012
Ultimate Rotation Control. Lets you auto rotate per app, as well as lock screen. I set the phone app to auto rotate and it does it in landscape mode.
 
MothChewMoth
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackPhantomX View Post
Ultimate Rotation Control. Lets you auto rotate per app, as well as lock screen. I set the phone app to auto rotate and it does it in landscape mode.
I appreciate the reply, but please read OP. Ultimate Rotation Control and all other rotation mods from the app store do NOT work properly. Yes, they will rotate the screen, but for some reason they force the buttons to take up 90% of the screen covering the dial pad (if I try to open it) and any caller ID information / photos.

I'm looking for someone who can make some coding changes to secphone.apk to fix the problem. See OP for examples done on the S2. I've tried this myself and can't figure it out, since I don't really know what I'm doing.
 
MothChewMoth
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2012
Any other feedback on this? I can't be the only one that this bugs the crap out of...
 
MothChewMoth
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2012
BUMP
 
wase4711
Old
#8  
wase4711's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3,567
Posts: 8,727
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Outside of Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
obviously, none of the devs are interested....and, I know that has not been possible on several of the Android phones I have had over the last 5 years..
I guess you will either have to live with this, or learn about development, and try it yourself..
HTC One M8
LG Flex
HTC One Maxx
Samsung Note2
Samsung Note
Samsung S3
HTC Evo 3d
HTC Evo 4g
Samsung G2
IBones 3,4
Palm Treo
PPC 6700
HP IPAQ
Moto StarTac's, several
BlackBerry's, several
and on and on...



ASKING FOR THANKS IN YOUR SIGNATURE IS SO LAME - IF YOU DESERVE ONE, YOU'LL GET ONE..
 
MothChewMoth
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2012
Just seems like a relatively simple fix since the legwork was already done for the GS2. I have tried doing this on my own, but keep running into issues when trying to re-compile.
 
samuri28
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2011
Did you try deleting these 3 directories from the directory \secphone\res:
values-es
values-es-rUS
values-it

I did not have any compile issues when I compiled with Beans Build 1o

---------- Post added at 02:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:24 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by MothChewMoth View Post
Just seems like a relatively simple fix since the legwork was already done for the GS2. I have tried doing this on my own, but keep running into issues when trying to re-compile.
I have been working with MothChewMoth on the side and came up with the below:

Making the Note 2 TW Dialer Rotate based on phone orientation

First Note: I am not an android developer or a developer at all for that matter. I make no warranty for these changes and do so at your own risk. I have been running this for 2 days on my Verizon Note 2 running Beans Build 10 with no issues.
Thanks to Mirko ddd for posting how to do this on the Galaxy S2 which gave me a start for the Note 2

The instructions below were built off of CleanRom 4.5 ACE as that is what MothChewMoth was running.

DeCompile the SecPhone.apk and go to
apk and go to smali/com/android/phone/
You will need to edit two files:
InCallScreen.smali (this allows for rotation changes while on the phone)
CallCard.smali (this allows for rotation changes when a call is coming in)
Open InCallScreen.smali with a text editor and find the code:
Code:
    .line 7185
    :cond_5
    sget-boolean v0, Lcom/android/phone/PhoneApp;->mIsDockConnected:Z

    if-nez v0, :cond_6

    const-string v0, "hardkeyboardhidden_no"

    invoke-static {v0}, Lcom/android/phone/PhoneFeature;->hasFeature(Ljava/lang/String;)Z

    move-result v0

    if-eqz v0, :cond_c

    iget v0, p1, Landroid/content/res/Configuration;->hardKeyboardHidden:I

    if-ne v0, v1, :cond_c

    .line 7187
    :cond_6
    iget v2, p1, Landroid/content/res/Configuration;->orientation:I

Remove the 2 lines:
Code:
If-eqz v0, :cond_c
Code:
If-ne v0, v1, :cond_c
Your new code should look like:
Code:
    .line 7185
    :cond_5
    sget-boolean v0, Lcom/android/phone/PhoneApp;->mIsDockConnected:Z

    if-nez v0, :cond_6

    const-string v0, "hardkeyboardhidden_no"

    invoke-static {v0}, Lcom/android/phone/PhoneFeature;->hasFeature(Ljava/lang/String;)Z

    move-result v0

    iget v0, p1, Landroid/content/res/Configuration;->hardKeyboardHidden:I

    .line 7187
    :cond_6
    iget v2, p1, Landroid/content/res/Configuration;->orientation:I

Save InCallScreen.smali

Open CallCard.smali with a text editor and find the code:
Code:
    .line 720
    sget-boolean v2, Lcom/android/phone/PhoneApp;->mIsDockConnected:Z

    if-nez v2, :cond_0

    const-string v2, "hardkeyboardhidden_no"

    invoke-static {v2}, Lcom/android/phone/PhoneFeature;->hasFeature(Ljava/lang/String;)Z

    move-result v2

    if-eqz v2, :cond_4

    iget v2, v0, Landroid/content/res/Configuration;->hardKeyboardHidden:I

    if-ne v2, v1, :cond_4

    .line 722
    :cond_0
    iget v0, v0, Landroid/content/res/Configuration;->orientation:I

Remove the 2 lines:
Code:
If-eqz v2, :cond_4
Code:
If-ne v2, v1, :cond_4

Your new code should look like:
Code:
     .line 720
    sget-boolean v2, Lcom/android/phone/PhoneApp;->mIsDockConnected:Z

    if-nez v2, :cond_0

    const-string v2, "hardkeyboardhidden_no"

    invoke-static {v2}, Lcom/android/phone/PhoneFeature;->hasFeature(Ljava/lang/String;)Z

    move-result v2

    iget v2, v0, Landroid/content/res/Configuration;->hardKeyboardHidden:I

    .line 722
    :cond_0
    iget v0, v0, Landroid/content/res/Configuration;->orientation:I

Save the CallCard.smali
Re-Compile your secphone.apk
Replace your secphone.apk in /system/app and make sure its permissions are rw-r-r
Reboot your phone and enjoy

Second Note: To get past the CleanRom compile errors I ended up deleting these 3 directories from the directory \secphone\res:
values-es
values-es-rUS
values-it

I did not have any compile issues with the Beans Build 10 version of the same fix

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to samuri28 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes