Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,985 Members 40,963 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

KF2 Bootloop no Fastboot!

Tip us?
 
nFxus
Old
(Last edited by nFxus; 14th February 2013 at 02:00 AM.) Reason: Updated Youtube link
#1  
nFxus's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London

 
DONATE TO ME
Exclamation KF2 Bootloop no Fastboot!

O.k. Let me explain the best I can!

So this makes the 2nd Kindle Fire 2 to do the same thing to me.
First off I have read and re-read all the threads front to back that deal with KF2 devices. NOTHING HAS WORKED.

My problem...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_YWq0h1-9s

This all deals with my 2nd Kindle. The first one has been shipped back to Amazon for exchange.
However the steps are the same. (There is only two guides after all)

So I started by rooting the stock 10.2.3 KF2 using Bin4ry's Root Method.
I then used http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2106463 to install TWRP.
After rebooting into TWRP I proceeded to wipe the required areas and install http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2105077
All files Installed with NO ISSUES!

Rebooted into the "streched out CW 10.1 logo". That's when it seemed to get stuck! 45 Mins nothing.
Ok so lets redo this I think to myself.
Reboot into TWRP wipe ALL data areas EXCEPT my SDCard (Roms are stored there need them to install OS duh!) and proceed to install again.
Reboot..... an LOOP.. LOOP .. LOOP
2 different Kindles doing same loop.

Fastboot. Does not work. I have 2 Kindles with 2 different cables and 100+ computers to try it on. All from XP/7/8 to MAC/Ubuntu.
Sadly none are helping me enter fastboot. To me it seems to be GONE! Is that even possible?

Can anyone help?
Just view the Youtube link to know where I am currently!
 
yudanjah
Old
#2  
yudanjah's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 27
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: LA
Default You may have to wipe SD

Quote:
Originally Posted by nFxus View Post
O.k. Let me explain the best I can!

So this makes the 2nd Kindle Fire 2 to do the same thing to me.
First off I have read and re-read all the threads front to back that deal with KF2 devices. NOTHING HAS WORKED.

My problem...
[YOUTUBE="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pt5-d6VH4xQ"][/YOUTUBE]

This all deals with my 2nd Kindle. The first one has been shipped back to Amazon for exchange.
However the steps are the same. (There is only two guides after all)

So I started by rooting the stock 10.2.3 KF2 using Bin4ry's Root Method.
I then used http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2106463 to install TWRP.
After rebooting into TWRP I proceeded to wipe the required areas and install http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2105077
All files Installed with NO ISSUES!

Rebooted into the "streched out CW 10.1 logo". That's when it seemed to get stuck! 45 Mins nothing.
Ok so lets redo this I think to myself.
Reboot into TWRP wipe ALL data areas EXCEPT my SDCard (Roms are stored there need them to install OS duh!) and proceed to install again.
Reboot..... an LOOP.. LOOP .. LOOP
2 different Kindles doing same loop.

Fastboot. Does not work. I have 2 Kindles with 2 different cables and 100+ computers to try it on. All from XP/7/8 to MAC/Ubuntu.
Sadly none are helping me enter fastboot. To me it seems to be GONE! Is that even possible?

Can anyone help?
Just view the Youtube link to know where I am currently!
Hi,

I got stuck in a boot loop 12 days ago. Never got to Cynaogen screen. I wiped all data, including my ROM and Gapps. WHOOPS.

I could boot into TWRP, and that was it. I was optimistic... CAN YOU GET INTO TWRP?

But, I could not get any computer to recognize it. I tried my Win Xp, Mac OSX: 10.6.7 and Xubuntu...

Finally I got ADB running by following this tutorial: http://desire.giesecke.tk/tutorial-a...itcher=desktop
Be sure to change the Vendor ID to 1949, and use your machine's text editor. I have leafpad.

It took about 30 minutes to get ADB working
I wiped then sideloaded and flashed (install from zip) CM10
Then I rebooted
Then I flashed Gapps.

Hope this helps. Wiping the device can be a critical step.

GOOD LUCK. I was relieved when the CM splash screen ended.
 
chronicfathead
Old
#3  
chronicfathead's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 609
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sleaford, Lincs

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: KF2 Bootloop no Fastboot!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nFxus View Post
....
Rebooted into the "streched out CW 10.1 logo". That's when it seemed to get stuck! 45 Mins nothing.
Ok so lets redo this I think to myself.
Reboot into TWRP wipe ALL data areas EXCEPT my SDCard (Roms are stored there need them to install OS duh!) and proceed to install again.
Reboot..... an LOOP.. LOOP .. LOOP
2 different Kindles doing same loop.

Fastboot. Does not work. I have 2 Kindles with 2 different cables and 100+ computers to try it on. All from XP/7/8 to MAC/Ubuntu.
Sadly none are helping me enter fastboot. To me it seems to be GONE! Is that even possible?

Can anyone help?
Just view the Youtube link to know where I am currently!
It sounds like a bad download. Have you tried re downloading the ROM again? Check the MD5 code on your download against the code on the website.


Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk HD
 
nFxus
Old
#4  
nFxus's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London

 
DONATE TO ME
Default MD5 Check out just fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chronicfathead View Post
It sounds like a bad download. Have you tried re downloading the ROM again? Check the MD5 code on your download against the code on the website.
Yeah thats not the issue. The md5's checkout just fine. Thanks though.
 
nFxus
Old
#5  
nFxus's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London

 
DONATE TO ME
Unhappy I did what you proposed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yudanjah View Post
I could boot into TWRP, and that was it. I was optimistic... CAN YOU GET INTO TWRP?
Sadly no!

Quote:
Finally I got ADB running by following this tutorial: http:/ /desire.giesecke.tk/tutorial-adb-on-xubuntu/?wpmp_switcher=desktop
Be sure to change the Vendor ID to 1949, and use your machine's text editor. I have leafpad.
As you can see in my new Youtube Video the KF2 is Alive but Dead!
youtube.com/watch?v=C_YWq0h1-9s
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes