5,815,133 Members 38,738 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: In your opinion, when looking back at this thread, how easy were the instructions?
Very Easy 86 32.45%
Somewhat Easy 40 15.09%
Easy 70 26.42%
Difficult 28 10.57%
Somewhat Difficult 16 6.04%
Very Difficult 25 9.43%
Voters: 265. You may not vote on this poll

[BACKUP][RECOVERY] Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide Software - Noob (Simple) Version

Tip us?
 
SkOrPn
Old
#491  
SkOrPn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 472
Posts: 1,820
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BELASCO View Post
SkOrp/Chris I 2nd the call for bt gps on this little slab of frustration. I don't always have Mrs. Bela around to tell me where I am, and reliable gps would help me find my *** in such circumstances.[COLOR="Silver"]

---------- Post added at 05:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:21 PM ----------

I'm not EVEN going into the lack of a compass on these things.
Lack of Compass? Are you serious? LOL

Oh well, I still have and use an old school compass, so as long as the magnetic fields do not flip on me while hiking I should be OK

unBricked 6 times via "The SkOrPn JIG"
"The SkOrPn Motorola & Kindle Fire Factory Cable"

High Quality is never an accident.
It is always the result of excellent intention, intelligent direction, sincere effort and skillful execution.
It represents the wisest choice of many alternatives! ~ William A. Foster ~ Edited by ME!
 
BELASCO
Old
#492  
BELASCO's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 381
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Houston, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [BACKUP][RECOVERY] Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide Software - Noob (Simple) Versi

When I first got my Kindle, I tried installing several compass apps, none of which could agree on who was the least accurate. Finally, one particularly la-dee-dah app announced in a very judgmental font that my KFTT lacked a magnetic sensor. This made me sad.
 
SkOrPn
Old
#493  
SkOrPn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 472
Posts: 1,820
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BELASCO View Post
When I first got my Kindle, I tried installing several compass apps, none of which could agree on who was the least accurate. Finally, one particularly la-dee-dah app announced in a very judgmental font that my KFTT lacked a magnetic sensor. This made me sad.
Makes me sad to.

unBricked 6 times via "The SkOrPn JIG"
"The SkOrPn Motorola & Kindle Fire Factory Cable"

High Quality is never an accident.
It is always the result of excellent intention, intelligent direction, sincere effort and skillful execution.
It represents the wisest choice of many alternatives! ~ William A. Foster ~ Edited by ME!
 
point99trash2011
Old
#494  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 87
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default Re: [BACKUP][RECOVERY] Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide Software - Noob (Simple) Versi

Just like it lacks a proximity sensor, would be nice to use force control for controlling my media apps. Among other nice features, oh well still a nice tablet anyhow.

Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk HD
 
BELASCO
Old
#495  
BELASCO's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 381
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Houston, Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [BACKUP][RECOVERY] Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide Software - Noob (Simple) Versi

I would argue that it HAS a proximity sensor - everytime I get near it these days, it finds a new way to annoy me.

---------- Post added at 06:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:35 PM ----------

I have discovered a workaround - a surplus Lensamatic compass strapped to the cover, and a chip with my wife's voice saying, "You're going the wrong way!"

This will have to do until Chris quits farting around and walks on water, brings peace to the Middle East, and transforms the KFTT into God's Own Tablet on Earth.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BELASCO For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Thepooch
Old
(Last edited by Thepooch; 14th February 2013 at 06:25 AM.)
#496  
Thepooch's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,048
Posts: 2,460
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmrBanawan View Post
@prokennexus

I tried to run option 12 "backup the kindle to the sd card"

and i got the following output



We Are Now Starting The ADB Server
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached
D025A0A024320AXL device


We Are Now Executing The Backup, Please Wait......

Please Ignore Any Errors Above This Line
I Am Backing Up Partition 1 (xloader)
I Am Backing Up Partition 2 (bootloader)
I Am Backing Up Partition 3 (idme)
I Am Backing Up Partition 4 (crypto)
I Am Backing Up Partition 5 (misc)
I Am Backing Up Partition 6 (dkernel)
I Am Backing Up Partition 7 (dfs)
I Am Backing Up Partition 8 (efs)
I Am Backing Up Partition 9 (recovery)
I Am Backing Up Partition 10 (boot)
I Am Backing Up Partition 11 (system)
We Are Now Modify Ownership/Permissions Of All Archives




Backup complete! Please Copy The KindleBackup
Folder From The SD Card To Your Desktop. Do
It Before You Have A Problem With The Kindle


Press any key to continue . . .


But there is no backup on my kindle's sdcard


and when i try to run option 15 i get

the system cannot find the path specified

what am i missing?!
I get the same thing on my Windows 8 machine but it works fine on xp and Windows 7.
The system cannot find the path specified. But backup to sdcard was successful.
 
prokennexusa
Old
#497  
prokennexusa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 954
Posts: 2,637
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Petaluma

 
DONATE TO ME
Prompt Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide Software - Droid Explorer

Quote:
Originally Posted by kstephens98 View Post
The reason I have the android sdk is because I use droid explorer. I can live without it though. Thanks for your assistance.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2
kstephens98,

You can still use Droid Explorer with our software. When you extract our program and add the Environment Variable the dependencies for Droid Explorer will be met, the reason? We have ADB and Fastboot embedded in our software. So, in the end, Droid Explorer will still work.

Please let us know if you need anything else.
Best Regards, Chris Bryant (prokennexusa Team Member)


The Noob Guys, where Simplicity is Key......

Skype: prokennexusa (Online 10am to 2am PST)
Main Line: (707) 774-5923

KFFA Bug Tracking: http://mantis.canonicaldev.com
Pastebin for Info: http://pastebin.canonicaldev.com/

Facebook: prokennexusa@gmail.com
Twitter: #prokennexus

Search XDA for Noob............More to come!
 
prokennexusa
Old
#498  
prokennexusa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 954
Posts: 2,637
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Petaluma

 
DONATE TO ME
Exclamation Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide Software - UPDATE 02/13/2013 at 12:05pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmrBanawan View Post
Prokennexusa,
Thanks for the quick reply

Turns out i had to grant permissions to backup.sh in SU, something i never noticed because i never tried unlocking the screen lock during the script execution.

as for the backup folder not appearing, all i had to do was to unplug the device and re-plug it, and it appeared in windows explorer.

Your work is excellent, so thank you, and keep it up!

one quick question though, whats with all those backup files i thought all i needed was the system.img what's the rest for?!
AmrBanawan,

By the way, we wanted to Thank You for bringing up permissions. You made us take a closer look at the programs permissions and it turns out you were correct, there was an error with the Permissions. We corrected the permissions in Version 4.2.17 which was released 02/13/2013 at 12:05pm. So, check your RunMe.bat, make sure the date and time is 02/13/2013 at 12:05pm, if it is different, please download the RunMe.bat update here: RunMe.zip
Best Regards, Chris Bryant (prokennexusa Team Member)


The Noob Guys, where Simplicity is Key......

Skype: prokennexusa (Online 10am to 2am PST)
Main Line: (707) 774-5923

KFFA Bug Tracking: http://mantis.canonicaldev.com
Pastebin for Info: http://pastebin.canonicaldev.com/

Facebook: prokennexusa@gmail.com
Twitter: #prokennexus

Search XDA for Noob............More to come!
 
prokennexusa
Old
(Last edited by prokennexusa; 14th February 2013 at 05:42 AM.)
#499  
prokennexusa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 954
Posts: 2,637
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Petaluma

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Kindle Fire HD and 2 First Aide Software - Noob (Simple) Version >

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slimepuppy View Post
Back a page, Amigo - I used the latest KFFirstAide in both 32 and 64 bit Windows with updated Java.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=480

I'm not having any trouble finding the backup directory, Chris - thanks though!

Andy

edit...

Chris - I'm back on the 64 bit side of Windows 7. I tweaked the runme.bat to run in Windows XP SP2 mode and re-ran Option 18. Same results.
Slimepuppy,

We are using code proven to work on Kindles. Let's run it manually, pay close attention to any errors.

Do me a favor, run the following commands at C:\KFFirstAide\

Code:
adb shell su -c "rm -r /data/local/tmp" 
adb shell su -c "ln -s /data/ /data/local/tmp"
adb reboot
adb shell su -c "rm /data/local.prop > nul" 
adb shell su -c "echo ro.kernel.qemu=1 > /data/local.prop"
adb reboot
adb push AccountAndSyncSettings.apk /system/app/AccountAndSyncSettings.apk
Now does the Kindle look weird? Did any of the commands error out? Did it reboot? These commands are VERY driver sensitive, so the good new is if they do not work, we know your drivers are the problem - we have a fix for that.........

OK, so if the Kindle looks weird, then do to revert back to a good looking Kindle:

Code:
adb shell su -c "mv /data/local/tmp.bak /data/local/tmp" 
adb shell su -c "rm -r /data/local/tmp" 
adb shell su -c "rm /data/local.prop"
adb reboot
I think I see what is causing a failure in Windows 7, give me 1 hour to fix it.
Best Regards, Chris Bryant (prokennexusa Team Member)


The Noob Guys, where Simplicity is Key......

Skype: prokennexusa (Online 10am to 2am PST)
Main Line: (707) 774-5923

KFFA Bug Tracking: http://mantis.canonicaldev.com
Pastebin for Info: http://pastebin.canonicaldev.com/

Facebook: prokennexusa@gmail.com
Twitter: #prokennexus

Search XDA for Noob............More to come!
 
bdeatha
Old
#500  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 58
Join Date: Dec 2012
thanks Bro for sharing it to all of us.its a very usefull thread specially for noob.this is a big help.i am one of your avid thread reader of yours.more helpful tips and info to come for KFFT.GODBless

Tags
kfhd system.img restore tool, kindle fire brick, kindle fire recovery, kindle fire restore, kindle fire utility
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes