Post Reply

I got Whatsapp workin' on my WiFi Tab, I guess?!

OP jorisvdende

4th January 2012, 02:34 AM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 85
 
204 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by john_jaysee

I am really new to this, I have just recently purchase a Galaxy Tab 10.1 wifi only (model : GT-P7510) using build Android version 3.1

I have downloaded the .apk file and try to install it on my Galaxy Tab, I am able to successfuly install the file but I am not able to run the application, getting error "We can't identify your device. Please turn off the phone, take out the battery, restart it and try it again. (Note: tablets are currently not supported).

I can see the previous posting suggested using Titanium BackUp for Whatsapp and transfering to the phone, (if i am not mistaken, that will means rooting the phone, is there any option that doesn't require rooting the phone?)

Please advise, what can I do to use Whatsapp on my Galaxy Tab 10.1


Many Thanks in advance.

- To regret one's own experiences is to arrest one's own development. To deny one's own experiences is to put a lie into the lips of one's own life.

unistall, delete whatsapp folder and install again
7th January 2012, 05:08 PM   |  #22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Nice technique.I'll try it out one of these days.
8th January 2012, 01:57 PM   |  #23  
tonidavid5's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I solved the contact name / phone number synchronization problem by going to whatsapp settings --> More --> Show all contacts (mark it to 'yes')

Cheers
9th April 2012, 09:08 PM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanriver12

unistall, delete whatsapp folder and install again


I did that but same error.

I cannot install whatsapp on my galaxy tab 10.1 wifi only P7510.
10th April 2012, 05:48 PM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
827 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giblet-dono

I got it working through another method..
But just nativly installing whatsapp, after using a certain modem.bin

It also enabled text messaging on the tab..

Thanks, needed this as my tablet is Android, but my phone runs WP7. So I can not use the backup/restore method. My issue is in what directory do I place the modem.bin file on the tablet?
12th April 2012, 12:49 AM   |  #26  
misterright321's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
for me it also work with another backup.
just use the same on tablet and mobile.

but thanks
29th June 2012, 03:54 PM   |  #27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Whatapps is works!
I can use my whatapps in Galaxy Tab 10.1 Wifi
What you need?

a) Both devices have Titanium Backup Pro
b) 2 Phone No. ( one no. cannot use at both device)

SIMCARD Device:
First, clean up and uninstall whatapps program in your SIMCARD device
At usual , insert the simcard(No.) that you want use in 10.1 wifi
install whatapps as usual, get the sms(code) and key in
get a freshcopy of whatapps, and use Titanium Backup Pro
you will get 3 whatapps backup files at /sdcard/TitaniumBackup

1) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXX.properties
2) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXX.tar
3) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.apk

then copy it to computer for reserve

Uninstall whatapps & clear whatapps data in simcard device, take out the simcard

Tab 10.1 WIFI:
Copy those 3 files to /sdcard/TitaniumBackup, use Titanium Backup restore APP+DATA

Now you can use whatapps in Tab 10.1 WiFi with wifi connection.
&
DONTX10 .....STUPID to use Same Phone No. in both Devices & I also not suggest update your whatapps in Tab 10.1 WiFi
14th February 2013, 06:00 PM   |  #28  
jtdc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Geylang
Thanks Meter: 72
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
how can this be accomplished if my tab is not rooted? its mandatory it remains stock. any help appreciated. thanks
15th February 2013, 07:55 PM   |  #29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
This worked for me, 2 different numbers. Dont need root either.

[HOWTO] Install Whatsapp working On Nexus 7! [1/03/13]

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2061176
The Following User Says Thank You to moaustin316 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2013, 03:40 AM   |  #30  
jtdc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Geylang
Thanks Meter: 72
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
that's a very helpful reference. but now that i read it requires whatsapp to be running exclusively only on one device per phone number, i will work on this when i get another number then. thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
whatsapp wifi sgt
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes