5,598,779 Members 36,387 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I got Whatsapp workin' on my WiFi Tab, I guess?!

Tip us?
 
sanriver12
Old
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 184
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by john_jaysee View Post
I am really new to this, I have just recently purchase a Galaxy Tab 10.1 wifi only (model : GT-P7510) using build Android version 3.1

I have downloaded the .apk file and try to install it on my Galaxy Tab, I am able to successfuly install the file but I am not able to run the application, getting error "We can't identify your device. Please turn off the phone, take out the battery, restart it and try it again. (Note: tablets are currently not supported).

I can see the previous posting suggested using Titanium BackUp for Whatsapp and transfering to the phone, (if i am not mistaken, that will means rooting the phone, is there any option that doesn't require rooting the phone?)

Please advise, what can I do to use Whatsapp on my Galaxy Tab 10.1


Many Thanks in advance.

- To regret one's own experiences is to arrest one's own development. To deny one's own experiences is to put a lie into the lips of one's own life.
unistall, delete whatsapp folder and install again
 
aieromon
Old
#22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jan 2012
Nice technique.I'll try it out one of these days.
 
tonidavid5
Old
#23  
tonidavid5's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
I solved the contact name / phone number synchronization problem by going to whatsapp settings --> More --> Show all contacts (mark it to 'yes')

Cheers
 
gugga786
Old
#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanriver12 View Post
unistall, delete whatsapp folder and install again

I did that but same error.

I cannot install whatsapp on my galaxy tab 10.1 wifi only P7510.
 
sonus
Old
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 825
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giblet-dono View Post
I got it working through another method..
But just nativly installing whatsapp, after using a certain modem.bin

It also enabled text messaging on the tab..
Thanks, needed this as my tablet is Android, but my phone runs WP7. So I can not use the backup/restore method. My issue is in what directory do I place the modem.bin file on the tablet?
Phones
SonyEricsson T68i / SonyEricsson T616 / HTC Tornado/ HTC Touch Cruise / HTC Touch Diamond 2 / Apple iPhone 3G / LG KS20 / SonyEricsson Xperia X1a/ LG Optimus 7 (e900h)/ Sony Xperia SL...like my old WinMo devices, it gets buggier with every update

Tablets
HP Touchpad/ HTC Flyer/ MS Surface / Sony Vaio Duo i7 & iPad Mini
 
misterright321
Old
#26  
misterright321's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 65
Join Date: Apr 2010
for me it also work with another backup.
just use the same on tablet and mobile.

but thanks
Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 root, rom Rarity v3.8 rom
Samsung Galaxy tab 10.1 p7500 broodcomb
Acer A500 root, rom Virtuous Galaxy v. 1.0.5
 
antonywan
Old
#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Whatapps is works!

I can use my whatapps in Galaxy Tab 10.1 Wifi
What you need?

a) Both devices have Titanium Backup Pro
b) 2 Phone No. ( one no. cannot use at both device)

SIMCARD Device:
First, clean up and uninstall whatapps program in your SIMCARD device
At usual , insert the simcard(No.) that you want use in 10.1 wifi
install whatapps as usual, get the sms(code) and key in
get a freshcopy of whatapps, and use Titanium Backup Pro
you will get 3 whatapps backup files at /sdcard/TitaniumBackup

1) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXX.properties
2) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXX.tar
3) com.whatsapp-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.apk

then copy it to computer for reserve

Uninstall whatapps & clear whatapps data in simcard device, take out the simcard

Tab 10.1 WIFI:
Copy those 3 files to /sdcard/TitaniumBackup, use Titanium Backup restore APP+DATA

Now you can use whatapps in Tab 10.1 WiFi with wifi connection.
&
DONTX10 .....STUPID to use Same Phone No. in both Devices & I also not suggest update your whatapps in Tab 10.1 WiFi
 
jtdc
Old
#28  
jtdc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 590
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Geylang
how can this be accomplished if my tab is not rooted? its mandatory it remains stock. any help appreciated. thanks
LG-D820 & ME571K on KOT49H
ST25i on Stock JellyBean 4.1.2 V6 lite
A1395 on iOS 7.0.4 | A1432 on iOS 7.0.2
 
moaustin316
Old
#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2012
This worked for me, 2 different numbers. Dont need root either.

[HOWTO] Install Whatsapp working On Nexus 7! [1/03/13]

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2061176
The Following User Says Thank You to moaustin316 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jtdc
Old
#30  
jtdc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 590
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Geylang
that's a very helpful reference. but now that i read it requires whatsapp to be running exclusively only on one device per phone number, i will work on this when i get another number then. thanks!
LG-D820 & ME571K on KOT49H
ST25i on Stock JellyBean 4.1.2 V6 lite
A1395 on iOS 7.0.4 | A1432 on iOS 7.0.2

Tags
whatsapp wifi sgt
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more

Sony Z Ultra Google Play Edition Receives Bluetooth Certification for Android 4.4.3

You may recall that a few days ago, Sprint jumped the gun … more

Easily Configure Xposed Module Projects in Eclipse

XDA Recognized Developer rovo89‘s innovative and versatile Xposed Framework allows … more

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more