Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,111 Members 48,941 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Barometer?

Tip us?
 
aol8mydog
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond
Default Barometer?

I just found out about a barometer in some Android devices, but it doesn't look like HTC phones have a barometer. Anyone have any confirmation? Maybe the hardware is there but there are no drivers?

A barometer would typically be used to help with GPS, but is now being used to help short-term local weather forecasting with PressureNET. I'm in western WA, and anyone around here knows the local weather is difficult to predict. It would be cool to help contribute.
 
Bigandrewgold
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 531
Posts: 2,373
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Re: Barometer?

I am pretty sure it doesn't. What devices do have it?

Sent from my GT-P7510 using xda app-developers app
 
feanor3
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default Really?

+1 for what devices have a built in barometer? That seems like a really niche feature for a smartphone.
 
zone23
Old
#4  
zone23's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1959
Posts: 5,085
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
The Motorola Xoom has one. Originally it was thought it could be used with Google Maps and it would know what floor of a building you were on or so I was told.
 
jamesbra
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 386
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Re: Barometer?

They are usually listed as a " pressure sensor" and they are supposed to help with GPS. If I remember correctly the s3 has one.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
Xperia Z
HTC Droid DNA
Samsung Galaxy SIII
Nexus 7
Motorola Atrix 4g
Samsung Epic 4g
Nook Color
HTC TouchPro 2
 
aol8mydog
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond
Yeah, the Xoom and various Samsung devices have one. I was hoping that some HTC phones would possibly have the hardware but not the drivers (yet). Oh well, wishful thinking.
 
adamd1169
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 116
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Re: Barometer?

Galaxy nexus has one.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda premium
 
Izzmit
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2009
Having a problem getting a direct embedded picture. And the stupid browser is so old.... sorry.
Anyways, the screenshot is of temple run. Notice the "Pressure" entry -- misreported, or is it a barometer reading? Weirdness.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Calc+ is a Smart and Beautiful Android Calculator

As we’ve said inthe past, there are quite a few calculators available on Android. … more

Get Better Debug Data with Crash Report SDK

Developing an application is a hard and often times ungratifying task. It also requires quite a … more

Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more

LifeStats Automatic Journal Keeps Tabs of Your Day

Most of us live very active lives. This is after all why we’re fans of mobile … more