What’s the Ideal Phone Screen Size and Why?

There’s no denying that smartphones have gotten bigger and bigger over the last few … more

European HTC One M8 Lollipop Update Rollout Begins

A fortnight ago, Android 5.0 Lollipop began rolling out to unlocked and developer editions … more

Streamline Wedding Planning with Google Weddings

Wedding planning is an extremelystrenuou tasks for most people – the flowers, the … more

Reasons, Limits and Improvements of Display Growth

The world of smartphones has seen an increase in specification numbers, year after year. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Barometer?

OP aol8mydog

4th February 2013, 08:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Redmond
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
I just found out about a barometer in some Android devices, but it doesn't look like HTC phones have a barometer. Anyone have any confirmation? Maybe the hardware is there but there are no drivers?

A barometer would typically be used to help with GPS, but is now being used to help short-term local weather forecasting with PressureNET. I'm in western WA, and anyone around here knows the local weather is difficult to predict. It would be cool to help contribute.
4th February 2013, 11:37 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
2,373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Re: Barometer?
I am pretty sure it doesn't. What devices do have it?

Sent from my GT-P7510 using xda app-developers app
5th February 2013, 10:43 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Really?
+1 for what devices have a built in barometer? That seems like a really niche feature for a smartphone.
5th February 2013, 10:57 PM   |  #4  
zone23's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,285
 
5,314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
The Motorola Xoom has one. Originally it was thought it could be used with Google Maps and it would know what floor of a building you were on or so I was told.
6th February 2013, 12:27 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
386 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Re: Barometer?
They are usually listed as a " pressure sensor" and they are supposed to help with GPS. If I remember correctly the s3 has one.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
7th February 2013, 09:28 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Redmond
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Yeah, the Xoom and various Samsung devices have one. I was hoping that some HTC phones would possibly have the hardware but not the drivers (yet). Oh well, wishful thinking.
15th February 2013, 06:00 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Re: Barometer?
Galaxy nexus has one.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda premium
19th February 2013, 04:24 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Having a problem getting a direct embedded picture. And the stupid browser is so old.... sorry.
Anyways, the screenshot is of temple run. Notice the "Pressure" entry -- misreported, or is it a barometer reading? Weirdness.


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes