5,599,135 Members 33,951 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Bricked my galaxy s3 while editing the build.prop Please Help!

Tip us?
 
crammer04
Old
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brooklyn
Default thanks but..

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibanezbass View Post
Permissions probably got reset. Resetting to factory will not change the build.prop. Either re-install the rom or...

Do this. This will reset permissions to the correct value without affecting your data. This is easy once you get the hang of it. I do not know if I'm allowed to post up the adb file or I would.

I'm going to run through a quick setup of the Android SDK so that you can use adb if you choose to go this route. The SDK will be useful all though rooted phone usage, so I suggest you download it and use it. ADB is a very powerful tool. First, Google Android SDK. The first result should be the official site for the Google developer section. Just open that top link and the page should have a huge button that says "Download the SDK for (Windows or Mac or whatever)". Click it. Mac users.. Yours does not actually setup. You need to find the SDK Manager app within that zipped download and run it. Windows users... Run the setup. When it's done it will open the SDK manager. Both Users... Check the box next to the "Android SDK Platform-tools". Bottom Right, Install x Packages. Make sure you take note of the SDK path displayed at the top of the manager. EG. C:\Users\Josh\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk. Mac users: Yours will be in the downloaded folder that you extracted. All Users: Navigate to that folder via terminal (mac) or cmd.exe (windows). Windows: cd C:\Users\Josh\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk ... Mac: cd /Users/josh/Downloads/android-sdk/ ... Then navigate to the platform-tools folder that is within the SDK folder. Here is where ADB is located.

Windows instructions:
Download adb.exe, either through the Android SDK or elsewhere. Use Google.
Connect phone to computer via USB.
Boot phone into recovery.
Use cmd.exe (Use Windows key+R, and type cmd in the run window) to navigate to the folder containing adb.
E.g. "cd c:\Users\Josh\Downloads\adb"
Run "adb shell"
This should initiate a shell to the phone allowing you to run commands on the phone. If you get an error, make sure you have the drivers loaded for your phone.
Run "cd /system"
Run "chmod 644 build.prop"
Optional: Run "ls -l" and make sure that the permissions on build.prop show RW-R--R--.
Reboot phone.

Mac Instructions:
Download the adb application, either through the Android SDK or elsewhere. Use Google. Make sure you download the Mac version, not the Windows or Linux version.
Connect phone to Mac.
Reboot phone into recovery.
Open Terminal on Mac. /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app or use spotlight to find it.
Navigate to folder containing the adb app. E.g. "cd /Users/josh/Downloads/adb/"
Run "adb shell"
This should initiate a shell to the phone allowing you to run commands on the phone.
Run "cd /system"
Run "chmod 644 build.prop"
Optional: Run "ls -l" and make sure that the permissions on build.prop show RW-R--R--.
Reboot phone.
So the problem with this route was that for some reason the device was not being recognized by adb, i dont know why, i thought it was a driver issue but once i fixed the phone, i was able to get adb access, so i guess that boot error was preventing it from getting recognized (which i didnt understand because my friend screwed up like me the next day and was able to adb.) but finally fixed it a few days later after trying many things and the fix for some reason was a simple process with odin, i think this article shows what i did, i dont remember exactly tho - http://smartphonefix.blogspot.com/20...-SGH-I747.html
 
lyrictenor1
Old
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 78
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibanezbass View Post
Permissions probably got reset. Resetting to factory will not change the build.prop. Either re-install the rom or...

Do this. This will reset permissions to the correct value without affecting your data. This is easy once you get the hang of it. I do not know if I'm allowed to post up the adb file or I would.

I'm going to run through a quick setup of the Android SDK so that you can use adb if you choose to go this route. The SDK will be useful all though rooted phone usage, so I suggest you download it and use it. ADB is a very powerful tool. First, Google Android SDK. The first result should be the official site for the Google developer section. Just open that top link and the page should have a huge button that says "Download the SDK for (Windows or Mac or whatever)". Click it. Mac users.. Yours does not actually setup. You need to find the SDK Manager app within that zipped download and run it. Windows users... Run the setup. When it's done it will open the SDK manager. Both Users... Check the box next to the "Android SDK Platform-tools". Bottom Right, Install x Packages. Make sure you take note of the SDK path displayed at the top of the manager. EG. C:\Users\Josh\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk. Mac users: Yours will be in the downloaded folder that you extracted. All Users: Navigate to that folder via terminal (mac) or cmd.exe (windows). Windows: cd C:\Users\Josh\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk ... Mac: cd /Users/josh/Downloads/android-sdk/ ... Then navigate to the platform-tools folder that is within the SDK folder. Here is where ADB is located.

Windows instructions:
Download adb.exe, either through the Android SDK or elsewhere. Use Google.
Connect phone to computer via USB.
Boot phone into recovery.
Use cmd.exe (Use Windows key+R, and type cmd in the run window) to navigate to the folder containing adb.
E.g. "cd c:\Users\Josh\Downloads\adb"
Run "adb shell"
This should initiate a shell to the phone allowing you to run commands on the phone. If you get an error, make sure you have the drivers loaded for your phone.
Run "cd /system"
Run "chmod 644 build.prop"
Optional: Run "ls -l" and make sure that the permissions on build.prop show RW-R--R--.
Reboot phone.

Mac Instructions:
Download the adb application, either through the Android SDK or elsewhere. Use Google. Make sure you download the Mac version, not the Windows or Linux version.
Connect phone to Mac.
Reboot phone into recovery.
Open Terminal on Mac. /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app or use spotlight to find it.
Navigate to folder containing the adb app. E.g. "cd /Users/josh/Downloads/adb/"
Run "adb shell"
This should initiate a shell to the phone allowing you to run commands on the phone.
Run "cd /system"
Run "chmod 644 build.prop"
Optional: Run "ls -l" and make sure that the permissions on build.prop show RW-R--R--.
Reboot phone.

Okay, I got the adb shell to run, but I run into this snag:

"Unable to chmod build.prop: Operation not permitted"

Anyone know what this means?
 
lordmorphous
Old
#13  
lordmorphous's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 377
Posts: 1,178
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Clermont, FL
prior to running that command, type su then hit enter
Sent from my Samsung Galaxy SIII on AT&T having lost my IMEI only once....so far...
 
stratatak7
Old
#14  
stratatak7's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Swappa Representative
Thanks Meter 2463
Posts: 1,540
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Blacksburg, VA

 
DONATE TO ME
If I made a CWM flashable unedited build.prop from a stock SGS3 rom would that help anyone? It just seems easier than all those ADB commands assuming you can still access recovery.

 
lyrictenor1
Old
#15  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 78
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stratatak7 View Post
If I made a CWM flashable unedited build.prop from a stock SGS3 rom would that help anyone? It just seems easier than all those ADB commands assuming you can still access recovery.
I'm sure that'll probably helpful to a lot of people. Unfortunately, I'm using the stock recovery so it probably wouldn't help me...
 
stratatak7
Old
(Last edited by stratatak7; 4th November 2012 at 09:00 AM.)
#16  
stratatak7's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Swappa Representative
Thanks Meter 2463
Posts: 1,540
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Blacksburg, VA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyrictenor1 View Post
I'm sure that'll probably helpful to a lot of people. Unfortunately, I'm using the stock recovery so it probably wouldn't help me...
If you're not comfortable with ADB: You should try to flash recovery (recommended TWRP but at this point take anything you can get) from ODIN. I know I've seen it around here somewhere. Once you do that, then flash the attached file.

This will flash in CWM/TWRP etc. I haven't tested it, so send me a PM if it doesn't work and I'll fix it up.

Edit: I've located the proper recovery file for you to flash. It's cwm, but you flash this with ODIN. Download it from here http://k0nane.info/rom/ecm/CWM-Recov...GS3-v5.tar.md5 . ODIN will increase your flash counter, but Chainfire's Triangle Away app takes care of that like it never happened. Odin can be found in the development thread. If you want to automate this process even further just download the qcom toolkit which walks you through the process of installing recovery. I hope this helps.

Lastly, here's the latest TWRP image file with ADB instructions. Short, sweet and simple. http://teamw.in/project/twrp2/104
Attached Files
File Type: zip build.prop CWM Flashable.zip - [Click for QR Code] (145.3 KB, 126 views)

The Following User Says Thank You to stratatak7 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xxsicknessxx
Old
(Last edited by xxsicknessxx; 15th February 2013 at 05:40 AM.)
#17  
xxsicknessxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 686
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by crammer04 View Post
I have a major problem but i think there is a way to fix it, i just cant figure it out. i was adding google wallet on my rooted s3 and when reverting the build.prop file to its original form, i just copied and pasted the backup and renamed it to the original build.prop to replace the new one using root explorer. my phone does not boot up now i get the samsung startup screen and it shuts off. i could get into cwm recovery mode. any way to fix the build.prop without being able to fully boot the phone? i am on a mac but i could have access to a pc tomorrow if i need.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________

If you got no back up give us your phone information one of us can send you one I have aTT D2att you
?
Its all in my sig get mobile odin bellow, get the tar for which ever recovery you got. I got all three. CWM, CWM Touch and TWRP for d2att (only) if different phone then use other ones.
Thats my build prop im D2att SG3 ok so just make sure. But you can grab mobile odin bellow and fix it.
_________________________________________
Just get mobile odin HERE
and flash your reocvery there CWM, TWRP, CWM TOUCH... all of them latest all in my sig bro

Here is all drop box to get any of the recoverys --------------------> Recoverys Drop Box
Get mobile odin Here along with the s3 kernal extension its all in here -----------------------> Mobile Odin
If you get hardware id missing error install these old samsung dricers this is a bonus, don't update it ----------------> Hardware ID samsung driver fix
__________________________________________________ ________
S3 build prop here --------------> here
Mobile odin is simple if download zip in my drop box just install it (or get it form market) download the driver you need (in my drop box) or go mobile odin thread and find it if your on a different phone. Rest is simple just load what your going to flash click the OPEN FILE option in mobile odin click tar and run it.
__________________________________________________ _______
Get android comander. You can mod build prop easy with it its nice GUI for installing programs or uninstalling or backups or moving files around. awesome try out here --------------------------------> ANDROID COMANDER

need anything else?

---------- Post added at 09:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:20 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by lyrictenor1 View Post
Okay, I got the adb shell to run, but I run into this snag:

"Unable to chmod build.prop: Operation not permitted"

Anyone know what this means?

Tiy need to remount system Read Write i don't think its a SU problem it could be but normaly you already got su i forget comand in adv its mount system -r i beleive. I dunno I run a script that mounts it for me let me check it out real fast


---------- Post added at 09:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:42 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by crammer04 View Post
So the problem with this route was that for some reason the device was not being recognized by adb, i dont know why, i thought it was a driver issue but once i fixed the phone, i was able to get adb access, so i guess that boot error was preventing it from getting recognized (which i didnt understand because my friend screwed up like me the next day and was able to adb.) but finally fixed it a few days later after trying many things and the fix for some reason was a simple process with odin, i think this article shows what i did, i dont remember exactly tho - http://smartphonefix.blogspot.com/20...-SGH-I747.html
Just so you no a common problem when doing commands you forget to do it just trying help didn't know fixed


#!/system/bin/sh
busybox mount -o remount,rw /system
Samsung Galaxy S III - I747(rooted)
Rom - Rootbox (nightlys)
Recovery -TWRP
________________________________________

[APP] Rom/Recovery Flashing from phone -------> MobilODIN<--
[Driver|FIX] for the Hardware ID ERROR? Samsung Drivers <--- [don't update]
[TOOL ]Get 32 / 64bit windows ADB--------> Android Comander <--
http://mcsearcher.files.wordpress.co...tightjeans.gif
 
DXP2
Old
#18  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 138
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Columbus
Default Re: [Q] Bricked my galaxy s3 while editing the build.prop Please Help!

My build.prop got messed up while trying to install Google Wallet on my rooted sg3 and my phone became soft bricked. I had to reinstall the stock jellybean ROM with root that I had been running before this happened, through Odin. Solved my problem. Never got wallet to work though.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using xda app-developers app
 
Boosoth1st
Old
#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default Would this work on S3 T-Mobile T-999?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stratatak7 View Post
If you're not comfortable with ADB: You should try to flash recovery (recommended TWRP but at this point take anything you can get) from ODIN. I know I've seen it around here somewhere. Once you do that, then flash the attached file.

This will flash in CWM/TWRP etc. I haven't tested it, so send me a PM if it doesn't work and I'll fix it up.

Edit: I've located the proper recovery file for you to flash. It's cwm, but you flash this with ODIN. Download it from here http://k0nane.info/rom/ecm/CWM-Recov...GS3-v5.tar.md5 . ODIN will increase your flash counter, but Chainfire's Triangle Away app takes care of that like it never happened. Odin can be found in the development thread. If you want to automate this process even further just download the qcom toolkit which walks you through the process of installing recovery. I hope this helps.

Lastly, here's the latest TWRP image file with ADB instructions. Short, sweet and simple. http://teamw.in/project/twrp2/104
I am having the same problem.... as the person above... Will this .Tar file below work for S3 T-Mobile T-999? Can you make one for that phone?

Thanks for your help!!
 
stratatak7
Old
#20  
stratatak7's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Swappa Representative
Thanks Meter 2463
Posts: 1,540
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Blacksburg, VA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boosoth1st View Post
I am having the same problem.... as the person above... Will this .Tar file below work for S3 T-Mobile T-999? Can you make one for that phone?

Thanks for your help!!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1746682

Try downloading the toolkit from there. It should contain the necessary T-Mobile files. If you are having an issue, please PM me. Make sure you flash the right one! Be careful and read the whole thread.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...