Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Bricked my galaxy s3 while editing the build.prop Please Help!

OP crammer04

19th October 2012, 06:46 PM   |  #11  
OP Junior Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 0
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
thanks but..
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibanezbass

Permissions probably got reset. Resetting to factory will not change the build.prop. Either re-install the rom or...

Do this. This will reset permissions to the correct value without affecting your data. This is easy once you get the hang of it. I do not know if I'm allowed to post up the adb file or I would.

I'm going to run through a quick setup of the Android SDK so that you can use adb if you choose to go this route. The SDK will be useful all though rooted phone usage, so I suggest you download it and use it. ADB is a very powerful tool. First, Google Android SDK. The first result should be the official site for the Google developer section. Just open that top link and the page should have a huge button that says "Download the SDK for (Windows or Mac or whatever)". Click it. Mac users.. Yours does not actually setup. You need to find the SDK Manager app within that zipped download and run it. Windows users... Run the setup. When it's done it will open the SDK manager. Both Users... Check the box next to the "Android SDK Platform-tools". Bottom Right, Install x Packages. Make sure you take note of the SDK path displayed at the top of the manager. EG. C:\Users\Josh\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk. Mac users: Yours will be in the downloaded folder that you extracted. All Users: Navigate to that folder via terminal (mac) or cmd.exe (windows). Windows: cd C:\Users\Josh\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk ... Mac: cd /Users/josh/Downloads/android-sdk/ ... Then navigate to the platform-tools folder that is within the SDK folder. Here is where ADB is located.

Windows instructions:
Download adb.exe, either through the Android SDK or elsewhere. Use Google.
Connect phone to computer via USB.
Boot phone into recovery.
Use cmd.exe (Use Windows key+R, and type cmd in the run window) to navigate to the folder containing adb.
E.g. "cd c:\Users\Josh\Downloads\adb"
Run "adb shell"
This should initiate a shell to the phone allowing you to run commands on the phone. If you get an error, make sure you have the drivers loaded for your phone.
Run "cd /system"
Run "chmod 644 build.prop"
Optional: Run "ls -l" and make sure that the permissions on build.prop show RW-R--R--.
Reboot phone.

Mac Instructions:
Download the adb application, either through the Android SDK or elsewhere. Use Google. Make sure you download the Mac version, not the Windows or Linux version.
Connect phone to Mac.
Reboot phone into recovery.
Open Terminal on Mac. /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app or use spotlight to find it.
Navigate to folder containing the adb app. E.g. "cd /Users/josh/Downloads/adb/"
Run "adb shell"
This should initiate a shell to the phone allowing you to run commands on the phone.
Run "cd /system"
Run "chmod 644 build.prop"
Optional: Run "ls -l" and make sure that the permissions on build.prop show RW-R--R--.
Reboot phone.

So the problem with this route was that for some reason the device was not being recognized by adb, i dont know why, i thought it was a driver issue but once i fixed the phone, i was able to get adb access, so i guess that boot error was preventing it from getting recognized (which i didnt understand because my friend screwed up like me the next day and was able to adb.) but finally fixed it a few days later after trying many things and the fix for some reason was a simple process with odin, i think this article shows what i did, i dont remember exactly tho - http://smartphonefix.blogspot.com/20...-SGH-I747.html
4th November 2012, 07:24 AM   |  #12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibanezbass

Permissions probably got reset. Resetting to factory will not change the build.prop. Either re-install the rom or...

Do this. This will reset permissions to the correct value without affecting your data. This is easy once you get the hang of it. I do not know if I'm allowed to post up the adb file or I would.

I'm going to run through a quick setup of the Android SDK so that you can use adb if you choose to go this route. The SDK will be useful all though rooted phone usage, so I suggest you download it and use it. ADB is a very powerful tool. First, Google Android SDK. The first result should be the official site for the Google developer section. Just open that top link and the page should have a huge button that says "Download the SDK for (Windows or Mac or whatever)". Click it. Mac users.. Yours does not actually setup. You need to find the SDK Manager app within that zipped download and run it. Windows users... Run the setup. When it's done it will open the SDK manager. Both Users... Check the box next to the "Android SDK Platform-tools". Bottom Right, Install x Packages. Make sure you take note of the SDK path displayed at the top of the manager. EG. C:\Users\Josh\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk. Mac users: Yours will be in the downloaded folder that you extracted. All Users: Navigate to that folder via terminal (mac) or cmd.exe (windows). Windows: cd C:\Users\Josh\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk ... Mac: cd /Users/josh/Downloads/android-sdk/ ... Then navigate to the platform-tools folder that is within the SDK folder. Here is where ADB is located.

Windows instructions:
Download adb.exe, either through the Android SDK or elsewhere. Use Google.
Connect phone to computer via USB.
Boot phone into recovery.
Use cmd.exe (Use Windows key+R, and type cmd in the run window) to navigate to the folder containing adb.
E.g. "cd c:\Users\Josh\Downloads\adb"
Run "adb shell"
This should initiate a shell to the phone allowing you to run commands on the phone. If you get an error, make sure you have the drivers loaded for your phone.
Run "cd /system"
Run "chmod 644 build.prop"
Optional: Run "ls -l" and make sure that the permissions on build.prop show RW-R--R--.
Reboot phone.

Mac Instructions:
Download the adb application, either through the Android SDK or elsewhere. Use Google. Make sure you download the Mac version, not the Windows or Linux version.
Connect phone to Mac.
Reboot phone into recovery.
Open Terminal on Mac. /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app or use spotlight to find it.
Navigate to folder containing the adb app. E.g. "cd /Users/josh/Downloads/adb/"
Run "adb shell"
This should initiate a shell to the phone allowing you to run commands on the phone.
Run "cd /system"
Run "chmod 644 build.prop"
Optional: Run "ls -l" and make sure that the permissions on build.prop show RW-R--R--.
Reboot phone.


Okay, I got the adb shell to run, but I run into this snag:

"Unable to chmod build.prop: Operation not permitted"

Anyone know what this means?
4th November 2012, 09:15 AM   |  #13  
lordmorphous's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clermont, FL
Thanks Meter: 397
 
1,243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
prior to running that command, type su then hit enter
4th November 2012, 09:22 AM   |  #14  
stratatak7's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Swappa Representative
Flag Blacksburg, VA
Thanks Meter: 2,516
 
1,559 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
If I made a CWM flashable unedited build.prop from a stock SGS3 rom would that help anyone? It just seems easier than all those ADB commands assuming you can still access recovery.
4th November 2012, 09:27 AM   |  #15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stratatak7

If I made a CWM flashable unedited build.prop from a stock SGS3 rom would that help anyone? It just seems easier than all those ADB commands assuming you can still access recovery.

I'm sure that'll probably helpful to a lot of people. Unfortunately, I'm using the stock recovery so it probably wouldn't help me...
4th November 2012, 09:36 AM   |  #16  
stratatak7's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Swappa Representative
Flag Blacksburg, VA
Thanks Meter: 2,516
 
1,559 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyrictenor1

I'm sure that'll probably helpful to a lot of people. Unfortunately, I'm using the stock recovery so it probably wouldn't help me...

If you're not comfortable with ADB: You should try to flash recovery (recommended TWRP but at this point take anything you can get) from ODIN. I know I've seen it around here somewhere. Once you do that, then flash the attached file.

This will flash in CWM/TWRP etc. I haven't tested it, so send me a PM if it doesn't work and I'll fix it up.

Edit: I've located the proper recovery file for you to flash. It's cwm, but you flash this with ODIN. Download it from here http://k0nane.info/rom/ecm/CWM-Recov...GS3-v5.tar.md5 . ODIN will increase your flash counter, but Chainfire's Triangle Away app takes care of that like it never happened. Odin can be found in the development thread. If you want to automate this process even further just download the qcom toolkit which walks you through the process of installing recovery. I hope this helps.

Lastly, here's the latest TWRP image file with ADB instructions. Short, sweet and simple. http://teamw.in/project/twrp2/104
Attached Files
File Type: zip build.prop CWM Flashable.zip - [Click for QR Code] (145.3 KB, 148 views)
Last edited by stratatak7; 4th November 2012 at 10:00 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to stratatak7 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 06:48 AM   |  #17  
xxsicknessxx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 85
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by crammer04

I have a major problem but i think there is a way to fix it, i just cant figure it out. i was adding google wallet on my rooted s3 and when reverting the build.prop file to its original form, i just copied and pasted the backup and renamed it to the original build.prop to replace the new one using root explorer. my phone does not boot up now i get the samsung startup screen and it shuts off. i could get into cwm recovery mode. any way to fix the build.prop without being able to fully boot the phone? i am on a mac but i could have access to a pc tomorrow if i need.

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________

If you got no back up give us your phone information one of us can send you one I have aTT D2att you
?
Its all in my sig get mobile odin bellow, get the tar for which ever recovery you got. I got all three. CWM, CWM Touch and TWRP for d2att (only) if different phone then use other ones.
Thats my build prop im D2att SG3 ok so just make sure. But you can grab mobile odin bellow and fix it.
_________________________________________
Just get mobile odin HERE
and flash your reocvery there CWM, TWRP, CWM TOUCH... all of them latest all in my sig bro

Here is all drop box to get any of the recoverys --------------------> Recoverys Drop Box
Get mobile odin Here along with the s3 kernal extension its all in here -----------------------> Mobile Odin
If you get hardware id missing error install these old samsung dricers this is a bonus, don't update it ----------------> Hardware ID samsung driver fix
__________________________________________________ ________
S3 build prop here --------------> here
Mobile odin is simple if download zip in my drop box just install it (or get it form market) download the driver you need (in my drop box) or go mobile odin thread and find it if your on a different phone. Rest is simple just load what your going to flash click the OPEN FILE option in mobile odin click tar and run it.
__________________________________________________ _______
Get android comander. You can mod build prop easy with it its nice GUI for installing programs or uninstalling or backups or moving files around. awesome try out here --------------------------------> ANDROID COMANDER

need anything else?

---------- Post added at 09:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:20 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by lyrictenor1

Okay, I got the adb shell to run, but I run into this snag:

"Unable to chmod build.prop: Operation not permitted"

Anyone know what this means?


Tiy need to remount system Read Write i don't think its a SU problem it could be but normaly you already got su i forget comand in adv its mount system -r i beleive. I dunno I run a script that mounts it for me let me check it out real fast


---------- Post added at 09:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:42 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by crammer04

So the problem with this route was that for some reason the device was not being recognized by adb, i dont know why, i thought it was a driver issue but once i fixed the phone, i was able to get adb access, so i guess that boot error was preventing it from getting recognized (which i didnt understand because my friend screwed up like me the next day and was able to adb.) but finally fixed it a few days later after trying many things and the fix for some reason was a simple process with odin, i think this article shows what i did, i dont remember exactly tho - http://smartphonefix.blogspot.com/20...-SGH-I747.html

Just so you no a common problem when doing commands you forget to do it just trying help didn't know fixed


#!/system/bin/sh
busybox mount -o remount,rw /system
Last edited by xxsicknessxx; 15th February 2013 at 06:40 AM.
17th March 2013, 02:25 AM   |  #18  
Account currently disabled
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 18
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Re: [Q] Bricked my galaxy s3 while editing the build.prop Please Help!
My build.prop got messed up while trying to install Google Wallet on my rooted sg3 and my phone became soft bricked. I had to reinstall the stock jellybean ROM with root that I had been running before this happened, through Odin. Solved my problem. Never got wallet to work though.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using xda app-developers app
27th June 2013, 02:23 AM   |  #19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Would this work on S3 T-Mobile T-999?
Quote:
Originally Posted by stratatak7

If you're not comfortable with ADB: You should try to flash recovery (recommended TWRP but at this point take anything you can get) from ODIN. I know I've seen it around here somewhere. Once you do that, then flash the attached file.

This will flash in CWM/TWRP etc. I haven't tested it, so send me a PM if it doesn't work and I'll fix it up.

Edit: I've located the proper recovery file for you to flash. It's cwm, but you flash this with ODIN. Download it from here http://k0nane.info/rom/ecm/CWM-Recov...GS3-v5.tar.md5 . ODIN will increase your flash counter, but Chainfire's Triangle Away app takes care of that like it never happened. Odin can be found in the development thread. If you want to automate this process even further just download the qcom toolkit which walks you through the process of installing recovery. I hope this helps.

Lastly, here's the latest TWRP image file with ADB instructions. Short, sweet and simple. http://teamw.in/project/twrp2/104

I am having the same problem.... as the person above... Will this .Tar file below work for S3 T-Mobile T-999? Can you make one for that phone?

Thanks for your help!!
27th June 2013, 06:14 AM   |  #20  
stratatak7's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Swappa Representative
Flag Blacksburg, VA
Thanks Meter: 2,516
 
1,559 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boosoth1st

I am having the same problem.... as the person above... Will this .Tar file below work for S3 T-Mobile T-999? Can you make one for that phone?

Thanks for your help!!

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1746682

Try downloading the toolkit from there. It should contain the necessary T-Mobile files. If you are having an issue, please PM me. Make sure you flash the right one! Be careful and read the whole thread.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes