FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[How-To] Port Your TW ROM to All Major US Carriers

3,775 posts
Thanks Meter: 10,597
 
By upndwn4par, Recognized Developer / Forum Moderator on 17th January 2013, 06:51 PM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This guide has already been used twice (and possibly four times) to break xda rules. I will not enable that.

Sorry everyone. Thread closed.
Last edited by upndwn4par; 26th April 2013 at 12:36 PM.
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to upndwn4par For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
13th February 2013, 05:56 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Dallas, Tx
Thanks Meter: 535
 
Donate to Me
More
I have flashed ATT TW AND AOSP roms for my Tmobile out of the box and it works. I then change the build.prop with root explorer.
14th February 2013, 05:20 PM |#3  
hednik's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 709
 
Donate to Me
More
Going to give this a try this weekend. It's a dumb question but could I use this to say port a Sprint ROM to my AT&T phone ? Just a straight port over but just changing the things you list here ?
14th February 2013, 06:20 PM |#4  
upndwn4par's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Forum Moderator
New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 10,597
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hednik

Going to give this a try this weekend. It's a dumb question but could I use this to say port a Sprint ROM to my AT&T phone ? Just a straight port over but just changing the things you list here ?

I can't say for sure, but it should work just fine.

Though I must admit, Sprint is the worst choice you could make for your first port attempt. You could have problems with both libs and kernels.

And I still haven't figured out how to get MMS working on my Sprint port.
The Following User Says Thank You to upndwn4par For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2013, 06:52 PM |#5  
hednik's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 709
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [How-To] Port Your TW ROM to All Major US Carriers
Quote:
Originally Posted by upndwn4par

I can't say for sure, but it should work just fine.

Though I must admit, Sprint is the worst choice you could make for your first port attempt. You could have problems with both libs and kernels.

And I still haven't figured out how to get MMS working on my Sprint port.

hrmmm Verizon doesnt seem like a good port either and most tmo are fairly compatible already. I'll keep searching I guess

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
14th February 2013, 07:12 PM |#6  
upndwn4par's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Forum Moderator
New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 10,597
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hednik

hrmmm Verizon doesnt seem like a good port either and most tmo are fairly compatible already. I'll keep searching I guess

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app

I think Verizon would be a good choice.
The Following User Says Thank You to upndwn4par For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 05:03 AM |#7  
Anonymously_Unknown's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kingston
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Is there any way of porting anything from the international i9300 to the AT&T i747 using a similar method as found in the original post?
I understand the processor and radio differences.
15th February 2013, 05:23 AM |#8  
hednik's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 709
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [How-To] Port Your TW ROM to All Major US Carriers
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonymously_Unknown

Is there any way of porting anything from the international i9300 to the AT&T i747 using a similar method as found in the original post?
I understand the processor and radio differences.

There is going to be a lot more than is listed here for that... I doubt its really possible. Kind like you can't easily port a i777 ROM to a skyrocket

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
15th February 2013, 02:08 PM |#9  
upndwn4par's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Forum Moderator
New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 10,597
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonymously_Unknown

Is there any way of porting anything from the international i9300 to the AT&T i747 using a similar method as found in the original post?
I understand the processor and radio differences.

It will take much more than what is listed in the OP. I am not sure I have ever seen a ROM ported from Europe to the US (or the other way around).

As you mentioned, the processor and radios are different, but so are the system partitions. Anything is possible, but I think that would be a huge amount of work.

If you try this please be very careful. Many, many users have bricked their devices flashing a ROM from across the pond.
15th February 2013, 02:23 PM |#10  
Anonymously_Unknown's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kingston
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by upndwn4par

If you try this please be very careful.

I wasn't going to try it. I had just wanted to get 4.1.2 without the AT&T bloatware and someone else's build that has additional features that I don't need.
6th March 2013, 12:01 AM |#11  
voltage526's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Hey all, I was hoping to get some assistance on an issue that myself and stratatak7 have been having. We're trying to port the Intergalactic ROM over to VZW. Following this guide, I was able to get it to boot and everything is functional including calling and texts, but we cannot get any mobile data. We've gone as far as replacing the kernel with a vzw kernel and replacing the modules in Intergalactic with modules from a vzw rom but mobile data refuses to work. I would be grateful for any suggestions because it seems that we are at a loss. Thanks

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
porting guide, sgs3 porting guide, touchwiz porting guide
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes