5,594,805 Members 37,190 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Rooting JB OTA from OS X (no flash counter)

Tip us?
 
xxqbnxx
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 179
Join Date: Aug 2010
ok so after some work arounds i think i got it all set up. heimdall seems to be running on terminal. How safe is this ?
 
alecsharp
Old
#12  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxqbnxx View Post
ok so after some work arounds i think i got it all set up. heimdall seems to be running on terminal. How safe is this ?
Well, considering what heimdall does, it's an inherently risky venture whether or not you have a GUI on it. The GUI lets you limit the amount of damage you can potentially do, of course, whereas the CLI is not as restrictive.

As far as those commands: I've run them on a couple of phones to successful ends. YMMV, of course.
 
beto0216
Old
#13  
beto0216's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 133
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tucson

 
DONATE TO ME
im stuck i donwload the heimdall and the md5 file

but im stuck here

Copy 'libusb-1.0.0.dylib' to the /opt/local/lib directory on your Mac
Copy the file called 'heimdall' into /usr/local/bin <-- after you copy it over, in a terminal do: sudo chmod 644 /usr/local/bin/heimdall to make sure you can run it.

i dont have those folders

maybe im over looking this but can someone write a simpler tutorial?
no pun intended! maybe its just me, ive been googling how to root my s3 on a mac for so long!
 
alecsharp
Old
#14  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2012
Did you try this from the command line or Finder? If in Finder, did you try searching for those directory names?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beto0216 View Post
im stuck i donwload the heimdall and the md5 file

but im stuck here

Copy 'libusb-1.0.0.dylib' to the /opt/local/lib directory on your Mac
Copy the file called 'heimdall' into /usr/local/bin <-- after you copy it over, in a terminal do: sudo chmod 644 /usr/local/bin/heimdall to make sure you can run it.

i dont have those folders

maybe im over looking this but can someone write a simpler tutorial?
no pun intended! maybe its just me, ive been googling how to root my s3 on a mac for so long!
 
jhlax95
Old
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
OK... I had problems then I fixed them and then I found some more problems.

Here is what I receive:

Code:
$ heimdall flash --primary-boot boot.img --cache cache.img.ext4 --system system.img.ext4
Heimdall v1.4 RC1

Copyright (c) 2010-2012, Benjamin Dobell, Glass Echidna
http : // www glassechidna com au /

This software is provided free of charge. Copying and redistribution is
encouraged.

If you appreciate this software and you would like to support future
development please consider donating:
http : // www glassechidna com au / donate /

Initialising connection...
Detecting device...
Claiming interface...
ERROR: Claiming interface failed!
I didn't have any Kies kext's loaded as this is what I get:

Code:
$ kextstat | grep -v apple
Index Refs Address            Size       Wired      Name (Version) <Linked Against>
  126    2 0xffffff7f81e95000 0x36000    0x36000    org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxDrv (4.1.18) <7 5 4 3 1>
  128    0 0xffffff7f81ed3000 0x5000     0x5000     org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxNetFlt (4.1.18) <126 7 5 4 3 1>
  129    0 0xffffff7f81ed8000 0x6000     0x6000     org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxNetAdp (4.1.18) <126 5 4 1>
My process:
1. Phone -> Download Mode
2. Open Terminal
3. CD to the folder with all of the system files to be flashed
4. Run, verbatim, exactly what you said to run in OP

Any ideas?
 
alecsharp
Old
#16  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2012
Hi, basically that interface is busy and occupied by another process. Did you try unloading the Kies kexts anyway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhlax95 View Post
OK... I had problems then I fixed them and then I found some more problems.

Here is what I receive:

Code:
$ heimdall flash --primary-boot boot.img --cache cache.img.ext4 --system system.img.ext4
Heimdall v1.4 RC1

Copyright (c) 2010-2012, Benjamin Dobell, Glass Echidna
http : // www glassechidna com au /

This software is provided free of charge. Copying and redistribution is
encouraged.

If you appreciate this software and you would like to support future
development please consider donating:
http : // www glassechidna com au / donate /

Initialising connection...
Detecting device...
Claiming interface...
ERROR: Claiming interface failed!
I didn't have any Kies kext's loaded as this is what I get:

Code:
$ kextstat | grep -v apple
Index Refs Address            Size       Wired      Name (Version) <Linked Against>
  126    2 0xffffff7f81e95000 0x36000    0x36000    org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxDrv (4.1.18) <7 5 4 3 1>
  128    0 0xffffff7f81ed3000 0x5000     0x5000     org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxNetFlt (4.1.18) <126 7 5 4 3 1>
  129    0 0xffffff7f81ed8000 0x6000     0x6000     org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxNetAdp (4.1.18) <126 5 4 1>
My process:
1. Phone -> Download Mode
2. Open Terminal
3. CD to the folder with all of the system files to be flashed
4. Run, verbatim, exactly what you said to run in OP

Any ideas?
 
fred8785
Old
#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: san diego
Quote:
Originally Posted by alecsharp View Post
Did you try this from the command line or Finder? If in Finder, did you try searching for those directory names?
I'm having the same problem.... i cant find any of those folders, and nothing comes up searching for each individual one in the finder. I then tried to type in the adress to the command line and it said directory could not be found. What am i missing here?
 
alecsharp
Old
#18  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default OSX Developer tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by fred8785 View Post
I'm having the same problem.... i cant find any of those folders, and nothing comes up searching for each individual one in the finder. I then tried to type in the adress to the command line and it said directory could not be found. What am i missing here?
Do you have XCode installed?
 
fred8785
Old
#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: san diego
Quote:
Originally Posted by alecsharp View Post
Do you have XCode installed?
i do.....
 
alecsharp
Old
#20  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fred8785 View Post
i do.....
Thanks for verifying. Do you use homebrew at all? If not, can you install it and then run:

Code:
brew install libusb
That should create /usr/local/bin and /usr/local/lib directories. Use /usr/local/lib instead of /opt/local/lib at that point.

The Following User Says Thank You to alecsharp For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more