Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more
Post Reply

Rooting JB OTA from OS X (no flash counter)

OP alecsharp

21st January 2013, 06:33 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
ok so after some work arounds i think i got it all set up. heimdall seems to be running on terminal. How safe is this ?
23rd January 2013, 10:32 PM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxqbnxx

ok so after some work arounds i think i got it all set up. heimdall seems to be running on terminal. How safe is this ?

Well, considering what heimdall does, it's an inherently risky venture whether or not you have a GUI on it. The GUI lets you limit the amount of damage you can potentially do, of course, whereas the CLI is not as restrictive.

As far as those commands: I've run them on a couple of phones to successful ends. YMMV, of course.
24th January 2013, 04:00 AM   |  #13  
beto0216's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson
Thanks Meter: 10
 
134 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
im stuck i donwload the heimdall and the md5 file

but im stuck here

Copy 'libusb-1.0.0.dylib' to the /opt/local/lib directory on your Mac
Copy the file called 'heimdall' into /usr/local/bin <-- after you copy it over, in a terminal do: sudo chmod 644 /usr/local/bin/heimdall to make sure you can run it.

i dont have those folders

maybe im over looking this but can someone write a simpler tutorial?
no pun intended! maybe its just me, ive been googling how to root my s3 on a mac for so long!
2nd February 2013, 06:40 PM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Did you try this from the command line or Finder? If in Finder, did you try searching for those directory names?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beto0216

im stuck i donwload the heimdall and the md5 file

but im stuck here

Copy 'libusb-1.0.0.dylib' to the /opt/local/lib directory on your Mac
Copy the file called 'heimdall' into /usr/local/bin <-- after you copy it over, in a terminal do: sudo chmod 644 /usr/local/bin/heimdall to make sure you can run it.

i dont have those folders

maybe im over looking this but can someone write a simpler tutorial?
no pun intended! maybe its just me, ive been googling how to root my s3 on a mac for so long!

6th February 2013, 04:33 AM   |  #15  
Junior Member
Flag Fort Lauderdale, FL
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
OK... I had problems then I fixed them and then I found some more problems.

Here is what I receive:

Code:
$ heimdall flash --primary-boot boot.img --cache cache.img.ext4 --system system.img.ext4
Heimdall v1.4 RC1

Copyright (c) 2010-2012, Benjamin Dobell, Glass Echidna
http : // www glassechidna com au /

This software is provided free of charge. Copying and redistribution is
encouraged.

If you appreciate this software and you would like to support future
development please consider donating:
http : // www glassechidna com au / donate /

Initialising connection...
Detecting device...
Claiming interface...
ERROR: Claiming interface failed!
I didn't have any Kies kext's loaded as this is what I get:

Code:
$ kextstat | grep -v apple
Index Refs Address            Size       Wired      Name (Version) <Linked Against>
  126    2 0xffffff7f81e95000 0x36000    0x36000    org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxDrv (4.1.18) <7 5 4 3 1>
  128    0 0xffffff7f81ed3000 0x5000     0x5000     org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxNetFlt (4.1.18) <126 7 5 4 3 1>
  129    0 0xffffff7f81ed8000 0x6000     0x6000     org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxNetAdp (4.1.18) <126 5 4 1>
My process:
1. Phone -> Download Mode
2. Open Terminal
3. CD to the folder with all of the system files to be flashed
4. Run, verbatim, exactly what you said to run in OP

Any ideas?
7th February 2013, 04:45 AM   |  #16  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Hi, basically that interface is busy and occupied by another process. Did you try unloading the Kies kexts anyway?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhlax95

OK... I had problems then I fixed them and then I found some more problems.

Here is what I receive:

Code:
$ heimdall flash --primary-boot boot.img --cache cache.img.ext4 --system system.img.ext4
Heimdall v1.4 RC1

Copyright (c) 2010-2012, Benjamin Dobell, Glass Echidna
http : // www glassechidna com au /

This software is provided free of charge. Copying and redistribution is
encouraged.

If you appreciate this software and you would like to support future
development please consider donating:
http : // www glassechidna com au / donate /

Initialising connection...
Detecting device...
Claiming interface...
ERROR: Claiming interface failed!
I didn't have any Kies kext's loaded as this is what I get:

Code:
$ kextstat | grep -v apple
Index Refs Address            Size       Wired      Name (Version) <Linked Against>
  126    2 0xffffff7f81e95000 0x36000    0x36000    org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxDrv (4.1.18) <7 5 4 3 1>
  128    0 0xffffff7f81ed3000 0x5000     0x5000     org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxNetFlt (4.1.18) <126 7 5 4 3 1>
  129    0 0xffffff7f81ed8000 0x6000     0x6000     org.virtualbox.kext.VBoxNetAdp (4.1.18) <126 5 4 1>
My process:
1. Phone -> Download Mode
2. Open Terminal
3. CD to the folder with all of the system files to be flashed
4. Run, verbatim, exactly what you said to run in OP

Any ideas?

15th February 2013, 05:31 AM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Flag san diego
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alecsharp

Did you try this from the command line or Finder? If in Finder, did you try searching for those directory names?

I'm having the same problem.... i cant find any of those folders, and nothing comes up searching for each individual one in the finder. I then tried to type in the adress to the command line and it said directory could not be found. What am i missing here?
16th February 2013, 03:01 AM   |  #18  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
OSX Developer tools
Quote:
Originally Posted by fred8785

I'm having the same problem.... i cant find any of those folders, and nothing comes up searching for each individual one in the finder. I then tried to type in the adress to the command line and it said directory could not be found. What am i missing here?

Do you have XCode installed?
16th February 2013, 05:38 PM   |  #19  
Junior Member
Flag san diego
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alecsharp

Do you have XCode installed?

i do.....
16th February 2013, 06:17 PM   |  #20  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fred8785

i do.....

Thanks for verifying. Do you use homebrew at all? If not, can you install it and then run:

Code:
brew install libusb
That should create /usr/local/bin and /usr/local/lib directories. Use /usr/local/lib instead of /opt/local/lib at that point.

The Following User Says Thank You to alecsharp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S III General by ThreadRank