Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[BOOTLOADER] 2nd-bootloader for Custom ROMs on KFireHD 8.9 [05/27 CM11/TWRP 2.7.x.x]

OP Hashcode

13th February 2013, 03:01 PM   |  #61  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 98
 
610 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3dpott3r

Honest answer.

Idk..

lol... I'm a noob at this and am lucky I haven't bricked any of my devices yet. I have successfully rooted and flashed ROMs on a Nexus 7, HTC amaze 4g, t989 s2, and t999 s3.... But this kindle is giving me a hard time.

For today I will quit while I'm ahead, with it rooted and running GO launcher.

Any suggestions on how to edit the paths? Yes, I realize that's a dumb question but I have never played around in command prompts until now.

Thanks

SGH T989 Cyanogen Mod 10.1

you need to be in the directory that the recovery img is in..
use CD to change directory, for example CD C:\Users\Aaron\Downloads

=)
The Following User Says Thank You to aaron.a For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2013, 07:07 AM   |  #62  
t3dpott3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 144
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Ok... So with your guys help i was able to find the correct directory. All seemed like it was going good until the reboot.... which never got passed the orange "kindle fire" screen? I am able to get it back into fastboot mode, but im unsure what to do after that? I have repeated the steps and re-flashed the recovery img. but still nothing? Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

14th February 2013, 07:24 AM   |  #63  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 2,428
 
4,020 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Re: [BOOTLOADER] Install 2nd-bootloader for Custom ROMs on KFireHD 8.9
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3dpott3r

Ok... So with your guys help i was able to find the correct directory. All seemed like it was going good until the reboot.... which never got passed the orange "kindle fire" screen? I am able to get it back into fastboot mode, but im unsure what to do after that? I have repeated the steps and re-flashed the recovery img. but still nothing? Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Have you checked your MD5s?
14th February 2013, 07:36 AM   |  #64  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3dpott3r

Ok... So with your guys help i was able to find the correct directory. All seemed like it was going good until the reboot.... which never got passed the orange "kindle fire" screen? I am able to get it back into fastboot mode, but im unsure what to do after that? I have repeated the steps and re-flashed the recovery img. but still nothing? Any ideas?

did you install the stack file?


adb push stack /data/local/tmp/
adb shell su -c "dd if=/data/local/tmp/stack of=/dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.1/by-name/system bs=6519488 seek=1"
14th February 2013, 07:45 AM   |  #65  
t3dpott3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 144
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Re: [BOOTLOADER] Install 2nd-bootloader for Custom ROMs on KFireHD 8.9
Quote:
Originally Posted by arda99

did you install the stack file?


adb push stack /data/local/tmp/
adb shell su -c "dd if=/data/local/tmp/stack of=/dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.1/by-name/system bs=6519488 seek=1"

I thought I did.... I went through the whole thing step by step. Let's say for a second i didn't though? What can I do to fix this if anything

SGH T989 Cyanogen Mod 10.1

---------- Post added at 10:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:43 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by soupmagnet

Have you checked your MD5s?

What's that? And how can I check it.... Sorry I'm really learning as I go here

SGH T989 Cyanogen Mod 10.1
14th February 2013, 08:06 AM   |  #66  
soupmagnet's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 2,428
 
4,020 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Re: [BOOTLOADER] Install 2nd-bootloader for Custom ROMs on KFireHD 8.9
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3dpott3r

What's that? And how can I check it.... Sorry I'm really learning as I go here

Code:
md5sum /path/to/file
Compare it to what is listed by goo.im when you download that file
The Following User Says Thank You to soupmagnet For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2013, 08:14 AM   |  #67  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3dpott3r

I thought I did.... I went through the whole thing step by step. Let's say for a second i didn't though? What can I do to fix this if anything

for this

adb push stack /data/local/tmp/

command to work you need to run it within the same directory as the "stack" file. per your previous posts I highly doubt you missed it and failed to put it on the phone.
The Following User Says Thank You to arda99 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2013, 08:19 AM   |  #68  
t3dpott3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 144
 
369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Re: [BOOTLOADER] Install 2nd-bootloader for Custom ROMs on KFireHD 8.9
Quote:
Originally Posted by arda99

for this

adb push stack /data/local/tmp/

command to work you need to run it within the same directory as the "stack" file. per your previous posts I highly doubt you missed it and failed to put it on the phone.







Quote:
Originally Posted by soupmagnet

Code:
md5sum /path/to/file
Compare it to what is listed by goo.im when you download that file

I will be trying both of these tomorrow and let you know how it goes :thumbup:

Thanks guys!



SGH T989 Cyanogen Mod 10.1
15th February 2013, 05:35 AM   |  #69  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
When I run "adb shell su -c "dd if=/dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.1/by-name/boot of=/sdcard/stock-boot.img" It appears /system/bin/sh: su: not found . How could I solve this problem? Thankyou !
15th February 2013, 06:33 AM   |  #70  
Born2BeMild's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Re: [BOOTLOADER] Install 2nd-bootloader for Custom ROMs on KFireHD 8.9
Looks like you're lacking root access.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes