FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[KERNEL] M-Kernel [MOVED]

3,265 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,156
 
By Metallice, Recognized Contributor on 14th October 2012, 08:01 PM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
15th February 2013, 01:34 AM |#3941  
itzallgood707's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Re: [KERNEL][3G+WIFI][4.2.2] M-Kernel - a37
Quote:
Originally Posted by N@th_OC

Strange, it worked for me. I flash it and know i have the 4.18 bootloader.

Which ROM are you using?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
 
 
15th February 2013, 01:40 AM |#3942  
Metallice's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 5,156
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [KERNEL][3G+WIFI][4.2.2] M-Kernel - a37
Just use fastboot... less likely to break your device... fewer errors... easier IMO...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Metallice For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 01:55 AM |#3943  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Re: [KERNEL][3G+WIFI][4.2.2] M-Kernel - a37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metallice

Just use fastboot... less likely to break your device... fewer errors... easier IMO...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

Is the bootloader updated when flashing the OTA zip? I flashed it with fastboot

Sent from my Xperia S using xda app-developers app
15th February 2013, 01:59 AM |#3944  
xfrancis14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
Re: [KERNEL][3G+WIFI][4.2.2] M-Kernel - a37
Quote:
Originally Posted by element800

Is the bootloader updated when flashing the OTA zip? I flashed it with fastboot

Sent from my Xperia S using xda app-developers app

Check your bootloader status by booting into bootloader

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
The Following User Says Thank You to xfrancis14 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 03:00 AM |#3945  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 212
 
More
Thanks for the 4.2.2 kernel. Just updated to the PA nightly. Downloading now.
The Following User Says Thank You to davisac For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 03:53 AM |#3946  
tdizzle404's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Georgia
Thanks Meter: 1,101
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [KERNEL][3G+WIFI][4.2.2] M-Kernel - a37
Quote:
Originally Posted by davisac

Thanks for the 4.2.2 kernel. Just updated to the PA nightly. Downloading now.

How's it running? I'm about to so the same I just got off work and was glad to see all these 4.2.2 updates this is awesome! Thanks m

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
15th February 2013, 04:00 AM |#3947  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 212
 
More
Re: [KERNEL][3G+WIFI][4.2.2] M-Kernel - a37
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdizzle404

How's it running? I'm about to so the same I just got off work and was glad to see all these 4.2.2 updates this is awesome! Thanks m

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app

Feels about the same as a36

I've only used it about half hr but no problems or anything.

Sent from my Nexus 7
The Following User Says Thank You to davisac For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 05:18 AM |#3948  
Member
West Allis, WI
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Re: [KERNEL][3G+WIFI][4.2.2] M-Kernel - a37
Quote:
Originally Posted by piupiu piu

How about real test (no screen off and wi - fi on) turn off your tablet when you don't use it. I got 10 hours of pure work (1.3 - 2 cores). What is your results?

I will give that a try, but I like being able to wake it up and get right to work on it. I guess the 30 seconds to boot up wouldn't hurt to try. Will update on my findings with a37 after I update, both idling and turning on/off

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda app-developers app
15th February 2013, 05:41 AM |#3949  
"D"'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag L.E.
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
@Metallice


a37 works fine with Stock 4.2.2

Thanks +1


regards "D"
15th February 2013, 08:34 AM |#3950  
Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
WiFi issues with a36 and a37
@Metallice

A few days ago I posted a message explaining that I was having WiFi issues with a36. I am afraid that a37 suffers from the same problems. This time, however, I think I know more about what's happening, though only you might know what's causing this behavior.

Both at home and at the office I have multiple WiFi Access Points. Now, when I connect to the network with a35, the device connects to the strongest AP and it stays connected to it. It will roam to another AP only if I move around and it finds another AP with a significantly stronger signal.

In short, with a35 everything works as expected.

With a36 and a37, the device is switching AP for no reason every few seconds (20 - 30 secs). It does not matter if I am sitting a few feet from an AP: it will anyway switch to another AP, then again to a different one and so on. From time to time it happens that the device tries to switch to an almost-too-far Access Point. At that point it maybe manages to perform the switch-over but it will immediately drop the connection. Then after a few seconds it will reconnect to another AP and so forth...

This behavior is completely reproducible. I can flash a36/a37 and it will immediately start jumping between APs. I go back to a35 and it's all fine. I tried already several times. I am therefore pretty much confident that it is not "something left over from other kernels" as someone suggested.

Some change between a35 and a36 seems to have broken AP roaming.
15th February 2013, 09:32 AM |#3951  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
Re: [KERNEL][3G+WIFI][4.2.2] M-Kernel - a37
Just tried a37 (coming from stock). Ran into a problem that tablet would not charge. Battery monitor showed that it saw the connection to the charger, but it was discharging instead of charging. Tried powering off and two other N7 chargers with same results. Flashed to a35 and charging now works.

Just my two cents.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes