Post Reply

[ROM] AOKP 4.4.4 (Kitkat) Task650 (9.10.2014) (Unified)

15th February 2013, 06:13 PM   |  #22971  
Woody's Avatar
Moderator & RC/RT Committees - Particle Physics Gives me a Hadron
Flag Immersed in Dark Matter
Thanks Meter: 9,091
 
6,763 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Re: [ROM] AOKP(Jellybean 4.2.1 )Task650 (2.10.2013) (AT&T)
I agree. After last night in here and Liquids release yesterday, we could all use a breather. If only at least until Happy Hour today when all the trolls come out to play for the weekend.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Woody For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 08:20 PM   |  #22972  
minuteZERO's Avatar
Member
Flag Kelowna
Thanks Meter: 20
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by niabi

just to keep on the WiFi Issues, here is not only 1 but 2 logcats, one after loosing wifi, and the other one after reboot (with wifi working) I will add that this happens everwhere I go, in a restaurant, in my office, in my house, and in a friends house, so the router is not the cause.

for me forgetting the network and re-adding it does not work, nor does turning wifi off and on, I have to do a full reboot.

hope this will help figuring this out, and if not, well, we will have to live with it I guess.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/18408569/logcats.zip

I will add again that this ROM was installed on top of the stock ROM, after a FULL wipe, including system.


FYI: wifi login seems to start at line 363 with this:

02-15 10:54:01.515 D/ConnectivityService(643): ConnectivityChange for WIFI: DISCONNECTED/DISCONNECTED
02-15 10:54:01.525 D/ConnectivityService(643): Attempting to switch to mobile
02-15 10:54:01.525 D/ConnectivityService(643): Attempting to switch to BLUETOOTH_TETHER
02-15 10:54:01.555 D/ConnectivityService(643): resetConnections(wlan0, 3)
02-15 10:54:01.585 I/ActivityManager(643): Start proc com.fjsoft.myphoneexplorer.client for broadcast com.fjsoft.myphoneexplorer.client/.BroadcastListener: pid=6376 uid=10090 gids={50090, 3003, 1015, 3002, 1028}
02-15 10:54:01.695 D/ConnectivityService(643): ConnectivityChange for WIFI: DISCONNECTED/DISCONNECTED
02-15 10:54:01.695 D/ConnectivityService(643): Attempting to switch to mobile
02-15 10:54:01.695 D/ConnectivityService(643): Attempting to switch to BLUETOOTH_TETHER
02-15 10:54:01.695 D/ConnectivityService(643): resetConnections(wlan0, 3)
02-15 10:54:01.766 I/ActivityManager(643): No longer want com.google.android.apps.maps:FriendService (pid 4622): empty #17
02-15 10:54:01.826 D/ConnectivityService(643): handleInetConditionChange: no active default network - ignore
02-15 10:54:03.637 D/ConnectivityService(643): ConnectivityChange for mobile: CONNECTED/CONNECTED
02-15 10:54:04.649 D/ConnectivityService(643): NetTransition Wakelock for WifiStateMachine released by timeout
02-15 10:54:06.731 W/ActivityManager(643): Permission Denial: Accessing service ComponentInfo{com.android.vending/com.google.android.finsky.services.LicensingServic e} from pid=2397, uid=10100 requires com.android.vending.CHECK_LICENSE
02-15 10:54:07.211 D/ConnectivityService(643): handleInetConditionHoldEnd: net=0, condition=100, published condition=0
02-15 10:54:07.301 I/ActivityManager(643): Start proc com.google.android.talk for broadcast com.google.android.talk/.ConnectionStateOnlineReceiver: pid=6445 uid=10064 gids={50064, 3003, 1015, 1006, 1028, 3002}
02-15 10:54:07.452 I/ActivityManager(643): No longer want com.hbwares.wordfeud.free (pid 5147): empty #17
02-15 10:54:12.014 W/ThrottleService(643): unable to find stats for iface rmnet0
02-15 10:55:31.984 I/PowerManagerService(643): Waking up from sleep...
02-15 10:55:32.094 I/WindowManager(643): Lock screen displayed!


and a little lower it says:

02-15 11:18:04.984 E/DhcpStateMachine(7230): DHCP failed on wlan0: Timed out waiting for dhcpcd to start
02-15 11:18:05.214 E/WifiStateMachine(7230): IP configuration failed
02-15 11:18:05.214 E/WifiStateMachine(7230): Failed 10 times, Disabling 0

edit: I will post a full log, if it happens again, after having wifi, since it seems its random, I don't know when this will happen or if it will.

Shot in the dark, but do you happen to keep your bluetooth on all the time? Mine is always off and I haven't seen this issue. Just a thought.
15th February 2013, 08:30 PM   |  #22973  
helushune's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 69
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by minuteZERO

Shot in the dark, but do you happen to keep your bluetooth on all the time? Mine is always off and I haven't seen this issue. Just a thought.

I get it and I never turn Bluetooth on. Rebooting the phone isn't that big of a deal so I've never bothered to investigate the issue further.

Anyway, judging by the logcat, dhcpcd is crashing or failing to start for some unknown reason. I'll look in to it a bit more when it happens to me again. I actually did have this problem once before on the HTC Inspire when I built a kernel with IPv6 support. I don't think that's the issue here though.

EDIT:
It's clearly something with dhcpcd. Of course now that I'm trying to get it to happen so I can poke at it with a stick it refuses to break. After doing some research, it appears Android likes to do things a little bit differently and it's possible it's passing the wrong arguments to dhcpcd or isn't setting the permissions on the script correctly. Unfortunately, it doesn't look like dhcpcd likes to be verbose to the system log (or whatever logcat is reading) so it makes troubleshooting this a bit more difficult. It could also be an issue with ARP which is interesting.
As a side note, holy smokes the dhcpcd included in AOKP is ancient!
Last edited by helushune; 15th February 2013 at 09:01 PM.
15th February 2013, 08:35 PM   |  #22974  
Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Has anyone noticed a memory usage increase on this rom over period of time?

I started with full wipe.

Selected Nova launcher. No widgets. Data off. Only Chronus on lock screen.
(Speaking of Chrouns... wasn't Cyanogen mod forced to change this name since someone trademarked it already?
Just saying... don't want Task to get unwanted mail ... )

No user apps started.

Press and hold button to get memory bar.

After reboot starting at about 390 memory wise...

Do nothing but check frequently... memory usage increasing steadily...

In less than 15 min jumped to 480.

Check running apps:
Settings : 42MB
Google services : 13 MB
Google play store : 8.1 MB
Android Keyboard : 4.8 MB

Apps screen shows 430 MB used recent apps window sits at 497 after only 20 min of up time...

Lock the screen. No dayream running. Screen blank.

Wait... After 2 hours (luck would have it that I had no calls and no notifications during this time):
almost 700MB used . No user apps running in background, same memory space used by system apps.

Ok... maybe it's something that I'm doing... reboot, try again... patiently wait...

Same...do note that data was off during this entire test.

Ideas? Why the constant - slow but steady RAM usage increase with nothing running in the background?
Why such a difference between RAM usage on recent apps screen when compared to settings -> apps ruining screen?

Also, I'm currently having about half a gig free on internal SD card... it's kinda low but I'm not sure if this is related... (tons free on external one)

One more question: Why is RAM not adding up? I have 2 gig but used + free adds up to only shy over gig and a half...
15th February 2013, 08:38 PM   |  #22975  
task650's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Portland, Oregon
Thanks Meter: 47,842
 
21,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by duke4c

Has anyone noticed a memory usage increase on this rom over period of time?

I started with full wipe.

Selected Nova launcher. No widgets. Data off. Only Chronus on lock screen.
(Speaking of Chrouns... wasn't Cyanogen mod forced to change this name since someone trademarked it already?
Just saying... don't want Task to get unwanted mail ... )

No user apps started.

Press and hold button to get memory bar.

After reboot starting at about 390 memory wise...

Do nothing but check frequently... memory usage increasing steadily...

In less than 15 min jumped to 480.

Check running apps:
Settings : 42MB
Google services : 13 MB
Google play store : 8.1 MB
Android Keyboard : 4.8 MB

Apps screen shows 430 MB used recent apps window sits at 497 after only 20 min of up time...

Lock the screen. No dayream running. Screen blank.

Wait... After 2 hours (luck would have it that I had no calls and no notifications during this time):
almost 700MB used . No user apps running in background, same memory space used by system apps.

Ok... maybe it's something that I'm doing... reboot, try again... patiently wait...

Same...do note that data was off during this entire test.

Ideas? Why the constant - slow but steady RAM usage increase with nothing running in the background?
Why such a difference between RAM usage on recent apps screen when compared to settings -> apps ruining screen?

Also, I'm currently having about half a gig free on internal SD card... it's kinda low but I'm not sure if this is related... (tons free on external one)

One more question: Why is RAM not adding up? I have 2 gig but used + free adds up to only shy over gig and a half...

It's because you didn't search or you would know that the RAM Bar status doesn't work properly and report correctly. This is even noted on the official AOKP site. Please use the search function first next time. Thanks.
15th February 2013, 08:39 PM   |  #22976  
helushune's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 69
 
351 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by duke4c

Has anyone noticed a memory usage increase on this rom over period of time?
...
Ideas? Why the constant - slow but steady RAM usage increase with nothing running in the background?

This is how any modern operating system works and Linux is no exception.
The Following User Says Thank You to helushune For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 08:47 PM   |  #22977  
Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by task650

It's because you didn't search or you would know that the RAM Bar status doesn't work properly and report correctly. This is even noted on the official AOKP site. Please use the search function first next time. Thanks.

<insert Homer Simpson "dough" picture here>

Sorry to bother you Task...
15th February 2013, 08:52 PM   |  #22978  
CrackerTeg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag I am Z. Learn it, love it.
Thanks Meter: 1,069
 
2,253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Re: [ROM] AOKP(Jellybean 4.2.1 )Task650 (2.10.2013) (AT&T)
Quote:
Originally Posted by duke4c

<insert Homer Simpson "dough" picture here>

Sorry to bother you Task...

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CrackerTeg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 09:57 PM   |  #22979  
task650's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Portland, Oregon
Thanks Meter: 47,842
 
21,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
My computer finally came back from getting it RMA'd. Looks like I can probably try to get you guys a 4.2.2 build tonight (or maybe in the morning).
The Following 73 Users Say Thank You to task650 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 09:59 PM   |  #22980  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by task650

no. They work all the time.

I use a photo for wallpaper and the notification/navbars are not transparent. If I choose a live wallpaper they are.

Meant this for Q&A, sorry.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android open kang project, butthole, jelly bean :), kitkat, suck it, use report button instead of flaming, user support thread in q&a for all the questions
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes