Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOW TO] Get Mozilla Firefox OS working on i777

OP nuuits

10th February 2013, 06:34 AM   |  #1  
nuuits's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 419
 
714 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
YOU WILL NEED:
The B2G nandroid
Siyah JB
The b2g_i777_keyfix.zip file attached below (created/modded by myself)

1. Hook up your i777 to your PC and put it into USB storage mode (if it doesn't do that automatically)
2. un-7zip the B2G nandroid and place the b2g-0602 folder in the /clockworkmod/backup/ folder on your external SD (create the backup folder if necessary)
3. Place the two zips at the root of your SD card for easiness later on
4. Boot to CWM and install the Siyah Kernel JB zip
5. Reboot recovery
6. Follow the steps in the thread with the B2G nandroid download, although they may not work for you.
6(a). If those steps do not work, attempt to clone your current ROM to the second ROM under dual booting options OR create a nandroid backup of your current ROM (so you can easily go back to it)
6(b). After that, restore nandroid b2g-0602 from backup (this will wipe the first ROM so be careful)
7. Reboot recovery
8. flash b2g_i777_keyfix.zip to make the volume rocker work as the home key (as the capacitive keys do not work as is)

Q&A
HOW WILL I CHANGE MY VOLUME LEVELS?
You can change your volume levels from settings

IS THIS NICE AND PERFECT?
Nope, not at all. If anything this is a step down from Android currently. The DPI is screwed up, navigation is odd because of inability to use capacitive keys, lack of Google sync, and this overall isn't a daily driver.

SO WHY WOULD I WANT TO USE THIS?
I don't know? Why don't you tell me?

WHAT DOESN'T WORK?
Everything that is listed as not working in the i9100 thread, calls probably don't work, camera doesn't work, and probably many other things

WHAT DOES WORK?
SMS for sure works, WIFI works, data might work

SPECIAL THANKS TO EVERYONE WHO HAS WORKED ON PORTING THIS OPERATING SYSTEM TO THE I9100!
Attached Files
File Type: zip b2g_i777_keyfix.zip - [Click for QR Code] (146.8 KB, 92 views)
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to nuuits For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2013, 06:50 AM   |  #2  
nuuits's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 419
 
714 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Why not reserve a post for stuff and things.

Screenshots can be found here!

Quote:

Please read this! I would not recommend flashing anything not meant for our device in heimdall or Odin. Please stick to the nandroid, where you can easily go back to recovery.

Last edited by nuuits; 10th February 2013 at 06:34 PM.
10th February 2013, 01:29 PM   |  #3  
Phalanx7621's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delaware
Thanks Meter: 2,047
 
4,452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Re: [HOW TO] Get Mozilla Firefox OS working on i777
You should add screen shots thanks for posting this, I'll try it.
The Following User Says Thank You to Phalanx7621 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2013, 04:26 PM   |  #4  
nuuits's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 419
 
714 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phalanx7621

You should add screen shots thanks for posting this, I'll try it.

Sadly I do not know how to take screenshots in Firefox OS! I can, however, link to a thread with screenshots of Firefox OS at a similar DPI and whatnot... thanks for the suggestion!

Yeah, it's pretty interesting to say the least. Not good enough to be a daily driver (or even close), but it still works okay (no random reboots, etc.)
16th February 2013, 09:23 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
where is the download for this os? like the os download itself? is it on the website?
Last edited by yj121; 16th February 2013 at 09:51 PM. Reason: how do i delete this? i have solved my issue
17th February 2013, 03:10 AM   |  #6  
nuuits's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 419
 
714 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yj121

where is the download for this os? like the os download itself? is it on the website?

Well on the website there are build instructions for this, but really no downloads (unless you count what I believe is a desktop VM image).
Basically Mozilla uses Github and lets you pull things from their Github (via terminal) to build for your desired device.
19th February 2013, 05:27 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 179
 
901 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Re: [HOW TO] Get Mozilla Firefox OS working on i777
Quote:
Originally Posted by estabien

Well on the website there are build instructions for this, but really no downloads (unless you count what I believe is a desktop VM image).
Basically Mozilla uses Github and lets you pull things from their Github (via terminal) to build for your desired device.

That's sounds very alpha to me.
I'm really curious about it but I think I'll wait till It gets beta looks.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda app-developers app
22nd February 2013, 12:48 AM   |  #8  
voldomart13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RatusNatus

That's sounds very alpha to me.
I'm really curious about it but I think I'll wait till It gets beta looks.

Sent from my SGH-I777 using xda app-developers app

I agree. Very very alpha. I am unable to build anything lol. Maybe someone can build just an alpha to mess around with?
5th March 2013, 03:47 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag tremont
Thanks Meter: 54
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Could someone try to build from source?I tried several times but i keep gitting errors when config starts.
11th March 2013, 01:25 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag tremont
Thanks Meter: 54
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
More
Re: [HOW TO] Get Mozilla Firefox OS working on i777
Anyone still interested in this?

Sent from my MB886 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes