FORUMS

Droid Turbo Lollipop OTA, 2015 Moto G Leaked – XDA TV

Android Lollipop for the Droid Turbo has been released. That and much more … more

EVLeaks Shows Off Possible BlackBerry Android Phone

It wasn’t too long ago that we received reports of BlackBerry planning to use … more

Mysterious GG1 Google Device Stops by FCC. Glass v2?

As the year progresses, we draw further away from Google’s annual I/O … more

Material and Material Dark Hit Samsung’s Theme Store

The latest version of Touchwiz, launched alongside the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge, … more

[DEV] GSM phone calls on Nexus 7 3G

87 posts
Thanks Meter: 98
 
By kRt_uK, Member on 2nd December 2012, 12:28 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
25th January 2013, 01:03 PM |#271  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 412
 
Donate to Me
More
Everyone needs to STFU and stop posting stupid questions and "I don't know if this can help and I have no idea what I'm doing, but I wanted to suggest doing something that's already been done before" type comments. Here's a general rule of thumb: if you don't know if something can help, odds are it won't and no one cares about it.

This is a DEVELOPMENT thread for DEVELOPERS. If you aren't a DEVELOPER then stop posting and go to the general voice thread here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1958686 and annoy people there with your useless comments.

The mods have warned people time and time again and have cleaned up this thread over and over. They're getting tired of it and I wouldn't be surprised if they just went ahead and locked it once and for all. And I'm certainly tired of seeing new posts to the thread come up, hoping it might be something beneficial, only to see it's some idiot who doesn't understand how to follow the damn rules. Enough is enough.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to phonic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
27th January 2013, 07:48 AM |#272  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Please... someone can tell me the exact model of modem inside the nexus 7? I want to try to flash modem from other devices

---------- Post added at 08:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:01 AM ----------

I don't know if i found the hot water... But installing this app

http://m.dark-angel-sin.store.aptoid...849/SIM%20Card

I get : Sim State: NETWORK LOCKED

Now i'll try the same app on other android device..
The Following User Says Thank You to Theheads For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2013, 07:42 PM |#273  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 514
 
More
Re: [DEV] GSM phone calls on Nexus 7 3G
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theheads

Please... someone can tell me the exact model of modem inside the nexus 7? I want to try to flash modem from other devices

---------- Post added at 08:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:01 AM ----------

I don't know if i found the hot water... But installing this app

http://m.dark-angel-sin.store.aptoid...849/SIM%20Card

I get : Sim State: NETWORK LOCKED

Now i'll try the same app on other android device..

If you don't know what you're doing, you could lose your IMEI completely like another more experienced user here did. Just face it... Average end users like you and I are NOT going to be able to contribute anything useful to this effort, because everything has been tried.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to cmstlist For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2013, 07:47 PM |#274  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Outside Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 510
 
Donate to Me
More
^^^^

This is precisely why I didn't post the radio. Of course that would require you guys to actually read all the posts in this thread that lead us to this impasse.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Synman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2013, 06:50 AM |#275  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Outside Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 510
 
Donate to Me
More
Updating the first post with current status / efforts thus far would be very helpful.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Synman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd February 2013, 11:44 PM |#276  
Diamondback's Avatar
Recognized Developer / XDA Portal Team
Thanks Meter: 6,516
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondback

Okay that's enough now. This is a dev thread. It's about development and not about money.
If you want to make bounty thread please do so in the general forum, but not here!

Thread cleaned.

......
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Diamondback For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2013, 02:11 PM |#277  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Outside Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 510
 
Donate to Me
More
Waking this thread back up. I got a tip from my "MyGalaxy" on my blog for GwT and got to thinking....

http://ruedigergad.com/2013/01/28/pl...7-with-3gumts/

Code:
+    if (g_str_has_prefix (command, "D*")) {
+        mm_dbg ("Found dial command D*...: %s", command);
+        mm_dbg ("Applying Nexus 7 specific workaround.");
+        g_byte_array_append (buf, (const guint8 *) "AT+CGDATA=\"PPP\"\r", 16);
+    } else {
Will be checking out librilxgold at some point soon. Looks like the key is replacing ATD. We should also be able to test this fairly easily with a command line redirect.

ruedigergad also mentions disabling a pin code on his SIM for another device.... not sure if this is necessary for us... possibly depends on the SIM card being used... mine for example works fine on a UMTS phone.

Also am not familiar with Plasma Active so I have no idea to what extent they're using the N73G modem.
Last edited by Synman; 16th February 2013 at 03:28 PM. Reason: checked out plasma active
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Synman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2013, 06:19 PM |#278  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
that only seem to replace standard ATD command for data with something specific for this modem chip. But if I am not mistaken, we are talking simple voice dial. I would not hold high hope for this. This one looks like purely for data.
16th February 2013, 11:31 PM |#279  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Outside Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 510
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [DEV] GSM phone calls on Nexus 7 3G
Yeah, it would drop anything after the D

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
26th February 2013, 07:08 PM |#280  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Asus FonePad
Does anyone have access to the new Asus Fonepad? Maybe we can dump the ROM/modem from there and see if it can fit the Nexus 7?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes