Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,091 Members 53,087 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[DEV] GSM phone calls on Nexus 7 3G

Tip us?
 
phonic
Old
#271  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 411
Posts: 1,129
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Everyone needs to STFU and stop posting stupid questions and "I don't know if this can help and I have no idea what I'm doing, but I wanted to suggest doing something that's already been done before" type comments. Here's a general rule of thumb: if you don't know if something can help, odds are it won't and no one cares about it.

This is a DEVELOPMENT thread for DEVELOPERS. If you aren't a DEVELOPER then stop posting and go to the general voice thread here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1958686 and annoy people there with your useless comments.

The mods have warned people time and time again and have cleaned up this thread over and over. They're getting tired of it and I wouldn't be surprised if they just went ahead and locked it once and for all. And I'm certainly tired of seeing new posts to the thread come up, hoping it might be something beneficial, only to see it's some idiot who doesn't understand how to follow the damn rules. Enough is enough.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to phonic For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Theheads
Old
#272  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 20
Join Date: Sep 2007
Please... someone can tell me the exact model of modem inside the nexus 7? I want to try to flash modem from other devices

---------- Post added at 08:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:01 AM ----------

I don't know if i found the hot water... But installing this app

http://m.dark-angel-sin.store.aptoid...849/SIM%20Card

I get : Sim State: NETWORK LOCKED

Now i'll try the same app on other android device..
The Following User Says Thank You to Theheads For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cmstlist
Old
#273  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 481
Posts: 3,122
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver
Default Re: [DEV] GSM phone calls on Nexus 7 3G

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theheads View Post
Please... someone can tell me the exact model of modem inside the nexus 7? I want to try to flash modem from other devices

---------- Post added at 08:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:01 AM ----------

I don't know if i found the hot water... But installing this app

http://m.dark-angel-sin.store.aptoid...849/SIM%20Card

I get : Sim State: NETWORK LOCKED

Now i'll try the same app on other android device..
If you don't know what you're doing, you could lose your IMEI completely like another more experienced user here did. Just face it... Average end users like you and I are NOT going to be able to contribute anything useful to this effort, because everything has been tried.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to cmstlist For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Synman
Old
#274  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 453
Posts: 710
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Outside Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
^^^^

This is precisely why I didn't post the radio. Of course that would require you guys to actually read all the posts in this thread that lead us to this impasse.
AR.Pro - Poke Back - Adaptive Tuner --<>-- G-Tablet, Xoom, Galaxy Tab 10.1, Streak 7 4G, MID PD10 3G, Galaxy GT-I9100, & GT-I9250
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Synman For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Synman
Old
#275  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 453
Posts: 710
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Outside Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Updating the first post with current status / efforts thus far would be very helpful.
AR.Pro - Poke Back - Adaptive Tuner --<>-- G-Tablet, Xoom, Galaxy Tab 10.1, Streak 7 4G, MID PD10 3G, Galaxy GT-I9100, & GT-I9250
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Synman For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Diamondback
Old
#276  
Diamondback's Avatar
Developer Committee / Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6,337
Posts: 4,382
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondback View Post
Okay that's enough now. This is a dev thread. It's about development and not about money.
If you want to make bounty thread please do so in the general forum, but not here!

Thread cleaned.
......

Contact the Developer Committee with any questions or concerns regarding
the Recognized Developer program.
Mention my name with @Diamondback in any post to easily get my attention.
Please use BB Codes to format your posts.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Diamondback For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Synman
Old
(Last edited by Synman; 16th February 2013 at 03:28 PM.) Reason: checked out plasma active
#277  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 453
Posts: 710
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Outside Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Waking this thread back up. I got a tip from my "MyGalaxy" on my blog for GwT and got to thinking....

http://ruedigergad.com/2013/01/28/pl...7-with-3gumts/

Code:
+    if (g_str_has_prefix (command, "D*")) {
+        mm_dbg ("Found dial command D*...: %s", command);
+        mm_dbg ("Applying Nexus 7 specific workaround.");
+        g_byte_array_append (buf, (const guint8 *) "AT+CGDATA=\"PPP\"\r", 16);
+    } else {
Will be checking out librilxgold at some point soon. Looks like the key is replacing ATD. We should also be able to test this fairly easily with a command line redirect.

ruedigergad also mentions disabling a pin code on his SIM for another device.... not sure if this is necessary for us... possibly depends on the SIM card being used... mine for example works fine on a UMTS phone.

Also am not familiar with Plasma Active so I have no idea to what extent they're using the N73G modem.
AR.Pro - Poke Back - Adaptive Tuner --<>-- G-Tablet, Xoom, Galaxy Tab 10.1, Streak 7 4G, MID PD10 3G, Galaxy GT-I9100, & GT-I9250
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Synman For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chimpanzeexda
Old
#278  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 31
Join Date: Dec 2011
that only seem to replace standard ATD command for data with something specific for this modem chip. But if I am not mistaken, we are talking simple voice dial. I would not hold high hope for this. This one looks like purely for data.
 
Synman
Old
#279  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 453
Posts: 710
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Outside Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [DEV] GSM phone calls on Nexus 7 3G

Yeah, it would drop anything after the D

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
AR.Pro - Poke Back - Adaptive Tuner --<>-- G-Tablet, Xoom, Galaxy Tab 10.1, Streak 7 4G, MID PD10 3G, Galaxy GT-I9100, & GT-I9250
 
aditseng
Old
#280  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Asus FonePad

Does anyone have access to the new Asus Fonepad? Maybe we can dump the ROM/modem from there and see if it can fit the Nexus 7?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes