Post Reply

[DEV] GSM phone calls on Nexus 7 3G

OP kRt_uK

25th January 2013, 01:03 PM   |  #271  
phonic's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 411
 
1,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Everyone needs to STFU and stop posting stupid questions and "I don't know if this can help and I have no idea what I'm doing, but I wanted to suggest doing something that's already been done before" type comments. Here's a general rule of thumb: if you don't know if something can help, odds are it won't and no one cares about it.

This is a DEVELOPMENT thread for DEVELOPERS. If you aren't a DEVELOPER then stop posting and go to the general voice thread here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1958686 and annoy people there with your useless comments.

The mods have warned people time and time again and have cleaned up this thread over and over. They're getting tired of it and I wouldn't be surprised if they just went ahead and locked it once and for all. And I'm certainly tired of seeing new posts to the thread come up, hoping it might be something beneficial, only to see it's some idiot who doesn't understand how to follow the damn rules. Enough is enough.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to phonic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2013, 07:48 AM   |  #272  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Please... someone can tell me the exact model of modem inside the nexus 7? I want to try to flash modem from other devices

---------- Post added at 08:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:01 AM ----------

I don't know if i found the hot water... But installing this app

http://m.dark-angel-sin.store.aptoid...849/SIM%20Card

I get : Sim State: NETWORK LOCKED

Now i'll try the same app on other android device..
The Following User Says Thank You to Theheads For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2013, 07:42 PM   |  #273  
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 481
 
3,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Re: [DEV] GSM phone calls on Nexus 7 3G
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theheads

Please... someone can tell me the exact model of modem inside the nexus 7? I want to try to flash modem from other devices

---------- Post added at 08:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:01 AM ----------

I don't know if i found the hot water... But installing this app

http://m.dark-angel-sin.store.aptoid...849/SIM%20Card

I get : Sim State: NETWORK LOCKED

Now i'll try the same app on other android device..

If you don't know what you're doing, you could lose your IMEI completely like another more experienced user here did. Just face it... Average end users like you and I are NOT going to be able to contribute anything useful to this effort, because everything has been tried.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to cmstlist For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th January 2013, 07:47 PM   |  #274  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Outside Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 453
 
710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
^^^^

This is precisely why I didn't post the radio. Of course that would require you guys to actually read all the posts in this thread that lead us to this impasse.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Synman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2013, 06:50 AM   |  #275  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Outside Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 453
 
710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
Updating the first post with current status / efforts thus far would be very helpful.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Synman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd February 2013, 11:44 PM   |  #276  
Diamondback's Avatar
Developer Committee / Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 6,397
 
4,430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondback

Okay that's enough now. This is a dev thread. It's about development and not about money.
If you want to make bounty thread please do so in the general forum, but not here!

Thread cleaned.

......
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Diamondback For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2013, 02:11 PM   |  #277  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Outside Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 453
 
710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
Waking this thread back up. I got a tip from my "MyGalaxy" on my blog for GwT and got to thinking....

http://ruedigergad.com/2013/01/28/pl...7-with-3gumts/

Code:
+    if (g_str_has_prefix (command, "D*")) {
+        mm_dbg ("Found dial command D*...: %s", command);
+        mm_dbg ("Applying Nexus 7 specific workaround.");
+        g_byte_array_append (buf, (const guint8 *) "AT+CGDATA=\"PPP\"\r", 16);
+    } else {
Will be checking out librilxgold at some point soon. Looks like the key is replacing ATD. We should also be able to test this fairly easily with a command line redirect.

ruedigergad also mentions disabling a pin code on his SIM for another device.... not sure if this is necessary for us... possibly depends on the SIM card being used... mine for example works fine on a UMTS phone.

Also am not familiar with Plasma Active so I have no idea to what extent they're using the N73G modem.
Last edited by Synman; 16th February 2013 at 03:28 PM. Reason: checked out plasma active
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Synman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2013, 06:19 PM   |  #278  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
that only seem to replace standard ATD command for data with something specific for this modem chip. But if I am not mistaken, we are talking simple voice dial. I would not hold high hope for this. This one looks like purely for data.
16th February 2013, 11:31 PM   |  #279  
Synman's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Outside Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 453
 
710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
Re: [DEV] GSM phone calls on Nexus 7 3G
Yeah, it would drop anything after the D

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
26th February 2013, 07:08 PM   |  #280  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Asus FonePad
Does anyone have access to the new Asus Fonepad? Maybe we can dump the ROM/modem from there and see if it can fit the Nexus 7?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 7 3G Android Development by ThreadRank